Visiting Belarus without a visa: 5 days for citizens of 80 countries
Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Year of Science in Belarus
Travel

Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
500 Years of Belarusian Book Printing
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | Travel | Things to do | Places of interest | Vitebsk Oblast

Vitebsk Oblast Landmarks

Vitebsk

VitebskA legend has it that Vitebsk was founded by Princess Olga on the banks of the Western Dvina River and the Vitba River in 947. Centuries later it was destined to become the world’s treasury of talents: Vitebsk was the birthplace of outstanding artists Marc Chagall, Kazimir Malevich, Ossip Zadkine, Ivan Puni, philosophers Nikolay Lossky and Mikhail Bakhtin… Today Vitebsk is Belarus’ biggest cultural hub that hosts the unique festival of arts Slavonic Bazaar. The city’s major landmarks include the City Hall Square, Holy Resurrection Church, Governor’s Palace, Holy Assumption Cathedral and the famous Kirov Bridge across the Western Dvina River.

Vitebsk prides itself on Belarus’ biggest tram system that is over 110 years old.

Marc Chagall Museum

Marc Chagall MuseumThe most famous native of Vitebsk, Marc Chagall, is one of the most remarkable representatives of the global avant-garde movement of the 20th century. The famous artist created paintings and illustrations to poetry by Andre Breton, Blaise Cendrars, Guillaume Apollinaire, decorations to the Aleko ballet by Leonide Massine and the Firebird by George Balanchine, and interior of the Opera Garnier in Paris, as well as sculptures, ceramics, graphics… Being far away from Vitebsk, the painter never forgot his home town, its roofs, churches and people. By the way, people are depicted in every single painting by Marc Chagall. The Marc Chagall Museum in Vitebsk boasts one of the world’s biggest collections of the artist – over 300 original graphic works and reproductions of his most famous paintings.

Where11 Pokrovskaya Street, Vitebsk Opening hours11.00-18.30.

Closed on Monday, Tuesday from 1 October till 1 March; Closed on Monday from 1 March to 1 October

Besides the museum, Vitebsk has the Marc Chagall Art Center (2 Putna Street) that hosts exhibitions of the artist’s graphic works and traditional Chagall Readings bringing together researchers studying the life and works of the Belarusian genius.

Ilya Repin Museum in Zdravnevo

Ilya Repin Museum in ZdravnevoThe museum of the great Itinerary artist Ilya Repin is located in the suburbs of Vitebsk. In 1892 he sold one of his most famous paintings - Cossacks of Saporog Are Drafting a Manifesto - to Alexander III and bought the Sofiyevka manor house that was renamed to its older name Zdravnevo. It was there that he created over 40 paintings (Autumn Bouquet, Belarusian, The Duel, Moon Night, In The Sun), numerous schizzos and sketches… These works, as well as photos, books and letters are on display in the museum of the restored estate. Among the most valuable exhibits are images of the Christ and the Mother of God with Baby Jesus painted for the iconostatis of the Sloboda church near which the artist’s father was buried. A linden alley planted by Repin survives in Zdravneno.

The museum often hosts soirees, exhibitions and plain-air sessions of contemporary painters.

Where16km to the north of Vitebsk in the direction of Ruba

Polotsk

PolotskOne of the oldest cities in Eastern Europe was first mentioned in chronicles, the Tale Of Bygone Years, in 862. Polotsk was a major trading center, and was on the way of the major trade route From the Varangians to the Greeks. The town is the "cradle" of the Belarusian statehood and culture, the capital of the first principality, home to the famous Slav educators Euphrosyne of Polotsk, Francysk Skaryna, Simeon of Polotsk. The most ancient town of Belarus cherishes its cultural heritage, including the majestic churches and Orthodox sanctities, like the restored Cross of Euphrosyne of Polotsk.

According to scientists, Polotsk is the geographical center of Europe. There is a memorial sign there and everyone can get a certificate about their stay at this special place.

WhereVitebsk Oblast

St. Sophia Cathedral

St. Sophia CathedralHagia Sofia, one of the oldest Orthodox churches in Europe and the first stone temple in Belarus, is included in the UNESCO World Heritage tentative list. Built in 1044-1066 by order of Duke Vseslav the Wizard, it embodied the independent and powerful Principality of Polotsk. The cathedral was built after its "big sisters" in Kiev and Novgorod, which were modeled on the Cathedral in Constantinople, and was the fourth St. Sofia church in the world. In the middle of the 18th century it underwent significant changes and was rebuilt in the unique Vilno Baroque architecture style.

In the cathedral you can see the ancient frescoes and a copy of Leonardo da Vinci's famous work "Last Supper", listen to masterpieces of Belarusian and foreign organ music, visit the Museum of the Cathedral Architecture History.

Where1 Zamkovaya Street, Polotsk

Miory

MioryThe town on the banks of the scenic Lake Myorskoye has been known from 1514 as the Mereya property of voivoda Ivan Sapiega, and then the famous Sviatopolk-Mirsky family. The modern-day Miory is a cozy town with the architecture of the 18th -19th centuries, and a beautiful 500-meter pier. The main landmark of the town is the neo-Gothic Roman Catholic Church of the Assumption of the Virgin Mary (Assumption Church) built in 1907, with rare icons and sculptures of the 19th  century. Other remarkable landmarks are the modern-day sculpture compositions: Europe's only monument to the unborn child (1991), a sculpture of the mother of God with Baby Jesus (1998), the monument to Pope John Paul II.

Where238km from Minsk and 190km away from Vitebsk, Vitebsk Oblast

Belarus’ smallest town, Disna, is located in Miory District. This place got the Magdeburg rights and its Rook coat of arms in 1569. Here is the middle of the famous Western Dvina River, which the Disna River flows into.

Yelnya Landscape Reserve

Yelnya Landscape ReserveSome of Europe’s biggest high-moor bogs and glacial lakes are situated in the Belarusian Poozerye. The natural area with unique flora and fauna has an international conservation status: an important bird area (since 1981), Ramsar Site (2002), the important botanic garden (2005). A special pride of the reserve is a more than 9,000-year-old Yelnya bog that stretches about 20,000 hectares. In Autumn these places turn into a real “bird paradise”: the bog is home to more than 4,000 grey cranes and 10,000 geese. The land gives the biggest yields of cranberry.

Bird viewing, bog and eco-walks, unusual dishes and drinks made from cranberry are just a few things to see and do at the annual environmental festival Cranes and Cranberries of Miory District.

WhereMiory District, Vitebsk Oblast

Braslav

BraslavThe town of Braslav, first mentioned in chronicles in 1065, lies in the very heart of Belarus’ lake disrtict: 30 lakes can be found within a radius of 30km. The town itself is surrounded by lakes. The biggest “pearl” of the area is Drivyaty, the fifth largest lake in Belarus. You can admire this natural beauty from the ancient hillfort Castle Mountain in Braslav downtown. The town which emblem bears a Christian symbol, the Eye of Providence, is also famous for its sanctuaries. Among them is the magnificent Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (late 19th century), with its wonderworking Braslav Icon of the Mother of God – the Queen of Lakes, the patroness of the land.

Where240km from Vitebsk

The town’s new landmark seen from afar is big letters making up the name of the town BRASLAU and the image of the emblem on a hill near Lake Drivyaty. The sign with night illumination is 15 meters long.

Braslav is a center stage of numerous events: every year the town hosts the medieval festival Bryachislav’s Sword, the international cultural festival Braslav Summer Lightnings, the music and sailing festival VIVA BRASLAV, the music festival Living Sky of Braslav.

Braslav Lakes National Park

Braslav Lakes National ParkMore than ten types of terrain shaped by the ancient glacier in the Belarusian lake district are among the most amazing landmarks of the region. Big and small lakes with unusual banks, winding rivers, numerous islands (there were fortresses and a monastery on some of them in ancient times), glacial hills (eskers and kames) created a favorable environment for flora and fauna. Established in 1995, Braslav Lakes National Park with the total area of about 70,000 hectares is home to more than 1,900 plant species and 312 species of vertebrate animals. This is the habitat of a lot of birds, including such rare species as bittern, black stork, white crane.

Braslav Lakes National Park offers exciting ecological routes and a safari park, as well as tours for hunters and anglers. In summer tourists are invited to take a cruise ship tour on Drivyaty Lake. More information about the park is available here.

WhereThe national park administrative center is located in the town of Braslav

Trinity Church in Vidzy

Trinity Church in VidzyThe Church of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (Trinity Church) in the village of Vidzy is Belarus’ second largest Roman Catholic church after the church in Budslav. It is one of the highest churches in the country as its spires are 59 meters high. It is a bit smaller than the famous Roman Catholic church in Gervyaty (61 meters high). Bernardine monks established the first Catholic parish in Vidzy in 1481. The new Neo-Gothic church made of red brick was built in Vidzy in 1914. It was badly damaged during World War I. Artillery shells were built in the walls of the church to commemorate those tragic events

In 2014 the church in Vidzy celebrated its centennial anniversary. The church with soaring spires and pointed arches, sophisticated window lattice and colorful stained-glass windows is one of the most elegant buildings in the country.

WhereVillage of Vidzy, Braslav District, 40km from Braslav and 260km from Vitebsk

Postavy

PostavyThe history of Postavy (1409) is connected with the famous Tyzenhaus family who had owned the place since the 18th century. Influential figure in the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, entrepreneur and philanthropist Antoni Tyzenhaus invited architect Giuseppe de Sacco to build new stone buildings in Postavy, part of which survived till today. Tyzenhaus’ factories in Postavy produced watermarked paper for government needs, sails for ships of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, belts decorated with gold embroidery having the same quality as Slutsk belts. Later another representative of the family, Konstantin Tyzenhaus, turned Postavy into the center of science. In different times the Tyzenhaus Palace housed a ballet school, the richest ornithology museum operated by the biology department of Vilnius University, and an art gallery.

At present the Tyzenhaus Palace (built in 1760) houses a hospital. There is a historical exposition dedicated to the glorious family and the history of World War I in the building’s cellars. Among other landmarks of Postavy are St. Anthony of Padua Church, St. Nicholas Church (1894), a monument to Konstantin Tyzenhaus.

St. John the Baptist Church in the village of Kamai

St. John the Baptist Church in the village of KamaiIn the village of Kamai, Postavy District, there is an unusual Catholic church, one of the three Belarusian fortified churches included in the UNESCO World Heritage tentative list. However, it considerably differs from the other two temples - the Orthodox churches in Synkovichi and Murovanka. The Kamai church was built as a fortress and put up defense during the war against Sweden when its walls were damaged by cannonballs. Besides, the temple erected in 1603-1606 is one of the few Belarusian churches that have never closed down. Its central altar features a wonder-working icon of the Mother of God with Child (17th century).

WherePostavy District

Glubokoye

GlubokoyeThe town of Glubokoye with more than 600 years of history is called the “cherry capital” of Belarus. The first orchards were planted here by plant breeder Boleslav Lapyr who brought young trees from different countries and bred new winter-hardy varieties. The residents of the town have recently replanted the cherry orchard with 1,414 trees and founded a unique cherry festival. The architectural landmarks of Glubokoye include two temples facing each other: the Trinity Church and the Cathedral of the Nativity of the Blessed Virgin Mary (the former Carmelite church built in 1639-1654) that has the icon of the Mother of God from the Holy Mount Athos. It is interesting that the town has five lakes within its borders.

The most famous sites of Glubokoye are the bronze sculpture of a cherry tree, the monument to Baron Munchhausen, and the park dedicated to the famous people born in Glubokoye, including artist Yazep Drozdovich, founder of the Belarusian theater Ignat Buinitsky, aircraft designer Pavel Sukhoi, writer Vatslav Lastovsky, and the “father” of the modern Hebrew language Eliezer Ben-Yehuda.

Where160 km to the north of Minsk       

St. Anne Church in the village of Mosar

St. Anne Church in the village of MosarThe village of Mosar, known to exist from 1514, flourished in the times of the noble family of the Brzostowskis. The spouses Robert and Anna built a magnificent palace and St. Anna Church in the 17th century. The church has survived up to the present day. When Catholic priest Josas Bulka came to Mosar in 1989, he breathed a new life into the village. He transformed the swampy surroundings into a marvelous arboretum with religious sculptures, fountains, and flowerbeds. The landmarks of the Belarusian Versailles (this is how Mosar is often called) include the famous work by Michelangelo Buonarroti The Lamentation of Christ from St. Peter's Basilica in Vatican, the highest Catholic cross in Belarus (23m), a 5-meter statue of Christ

Priest Bulka founded the first and the only anti-alcohol museum in Belarus in a former bell-chamber. An ethnographic exposition was set up in the old barn of Mosar.

WhereMosar village, Glubokoye District, Vitebsk Oblast

Lepel

 Historians still argue about the origin of the name of the town: the Belarusian words “lepei” (better) or “lyapits” (“to shape” because the local potters were famed for their prowess), the ancient Baltic word “lepele”, which means yellow water lilies (those are truly abundant in the water reservoirs of the land) or the word “lipa” (lime tree). The ancient town was founded in the 18th century on the bank of Lepelskoye Lake thanks to Chancellor of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania Lew Sapieha. The monument to the great political figure was erected opposite to the Catholic church of Saint Kazimierz. Lew Sapieha founded the Catholic parish and the temple in 1602 while the new building was erected in 1857-1876. Other places of interest in Lepel include the wooden church of Saint Paraskevi of Iconium, a chapel dated by 1900, a synagogue and an ancient stone house.

In the central park on the bank of Lepelskoye Lake you can find a bronze sculpture of Tsmok, a captivating dragon character of Belarusian myths, the ruler of lakes and swamps. By the way, Lepel is the first Belarusian town to become a member of the European Association of Folklore Groups.

Where155km from Minsk and 110km from Vitebsk, Vitebsk Oblast

Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve

Berezinsky Biosphere ReserveBelarus’ oldest protected territory — Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve — was established in 1925. The unique ecosystems attract thousands of tourists. In 1979 the biosphere reserve became part of UNESCO’s world network of biosphere reserves. In 2005 it was included into the international ecological network, in 2010 into the Ramsar Convention on Wetlands of International Importance, especially as Waterfowl Habitat. The biosphere reserve occupies over 80,000 hectares and comprises various types of forests, swamps, flood meadows, lakes and rivers. It is home to over 2,000 varieties of plants (78 in the Red Book of Belarus), dozens of varieties of mammals and hundreds of varieties of birds. Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve is Belarus’ only place and probably the only place in Europe where you can see bisons, bears, lynxes, wolves, and elks at once.

A project, which is unique for Belarus, is being implemented in the biosphere reserve. Houses made of wooden beams covered with reed roofs will be floated on pontoons onto Plavno Lake. The interior will be finished using eco-friendly materials. The houses will be powered to easily glide across the lake.

WhereThe administrative capital of Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve is the village of Domzheritsy, Lepel District

Orsha

OrshaThe town on the bank of the Dnieper River and the Orshitsa River was first mentioned in chronicles in 1067. Archeologists found unique chain armor with ancient Slavonic inscriptions at the place of an ancient settlement. The places of interest in Orsha include the Saint Ilya Church, the Kuteinsky Holy Theophany Monastery,  the Saint Joseph Catholic Church, and certainly the magnificent compound of the Jesuit collegium that was built in the 17th century upon the instruction of Lew Sapieha. An ethnographic museum dedicated to the life of Belarusians in the 19th century has been opened in the building of an ancient water mill not far from it. The legendary multiple-launch rocket system Katyusha was first tested in combat near Orsha on 14 July 1941. A memorial complex now reminds about events of the Great Patriotic War.

The Orsha land has a long history of growing flax, which has become a symbol of Belarus, with the image now part of the national emblem. Apart from that, Orsha is sometimes called the cucumber capital of the country. Every year a cucumber festival is held there, with a monument to the famous vegetable erected in the central square of the town.

Where225km from Minsk

Vladimir Korotkevich Museum in Orsha

Vladimir Korotkevich Museum in OrshaA talented writer, playwright and scenarist, publicist and translator, a representative of the old noble family and a passionate history lover, Vladimir Korotkevich is unique in the Belarusian literature. His books are among the most beloved and widely read by many generations. The biographical museum in his hometown of Orsha was opened in 2000 in a building which has a symbolic meaning. It is an architectural specimen of the 19th-20th centuries. Starting from 1925 it was used as a maternity hospital where the writer was born on 26 November 1930. Today the museum runs a number of thematic exhibitions: A Portrait of the Writer and the Man displaying a part of the study from the author’s apartment in Minsk, a hall of the literary heritage comprising a research center and a library, and an art gallery. The collection comprises a great number of items: personal belongings and manuscripts and his original drawings. Here the visitors can watch the famous movies made on the basis of Vladimir Korotkevich’s novels and scenarios, listen to the records with his voice and also the songs with his poems as the lyrics.

Where26 Lenina Street, Orsha, Vitebsk Oblast

Opening hours Working hours: 10.00-18.00. Closed on Monday

MINSK and  MINSKERS: BELTA special project
Belarus and China: Top 50 pictures over 25 years
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Visiting Belarus without a visa: 5 days for citizens of 80 countries
Toll roads in Belarus

Достопримечательности Витебской области
В Беларусь без визы: на 5 дней для граждан 80 стран
Официальный сайт Республики Беларусь
Год науки в Беларуси
Туризм

Календарь событий в Беларуси
Достопримечательности Беларуси
500 лет истории белорусского книгопечатания
Всемирное наследие ЮНЕСКО в Беларуси
Белорусские санатории и курорты
Сувениры из Беларуси

| Главная | Туризм | Что стоит посмотреть | Достопримечательности Беларуси | Витебская область

Достопримечательности Витебской области

Витебск

ВитебскПо легенде, город у берегов Западной Двины и Витьбы основала в 947 году княгиня Ольга. Столетия спустя ему суждено было стать мировой сокровищницей талантов: в Витебске жили и творили выдающиеся художники Марк Шагал, Казимир Малевич, Осип Цадкин, Иван Пуни, философы Николай Лосский и Михаил Бахтин… И сегодня город является крупнейшим культурным центром Беларуси, столицей уникального фестиваля искусств "Славянский базар". Среди главных достопримечательностей Витебска – ансамбль Ратушной площади, Воскресенская церковь, губернаторский дворец, Свято-Успенский кафедральный собор и знаменитый Кировский мост через Западную Двину.

Особая  гордость Витебска – самая разветвленная в Беларуси трамвайная система, которой уже более 110 лет.

Дом-музей Марка Шагала  в Витебске

Дом-музей Марка Шагала  в ВитебскеСамый известный уроженец Витебска Марк Шагал – один из ярчайших представителей мирового авангарда XX века. В наследии мастера – живописные полотна, иллюстрации к поэзии Андре Бретона, Блеза Сандрара, Гийома Аполлинера, оформление балетов "Алеко" Леонида Мясина и "Жар-птица" Джорджа Баланчина, роспись парижской Оперы Гарнье, а также скульптура, керамика, графика… Всю жизнь художник хранил трепетную любовь к родному городу: его крыши, храмы, люди есть на каждом шагаловском полотне. Витебский дом-музей представляет одну из самых богатых коллекций Шагала в мире – более 300 оригинальных графических работ и репродукции самых известных картин.

Где находитсяВитебск, улица Покровская, 11

Время работы11.00 – 18.30, выходные: с 1 октября по 1 марта – понедельник, вторник; с 1 марта по 1 октября – понедельник

Кроме дома-музея, в Витебске действует арт-центр Марка Шагала (улица Путна, 2), где проводятся выставки графических работ мастера, традиционные Шагаловские чтения, собирающие исследователей жизни и творчества гения XX века.

Музей-усадьба Ильи Репина "Здравнёво"

Музей-усадьба Ильи Репина "Здравнёво"Музей великого художника-передвижника Ильи Репина расположен в окрестностях Витебска. В 1892 году на гонорар за одну из своих известнейших картин "Запорожцы пишут письмо турецкому султану", проданную Александру III, мастер купил усадьбу Софиевка, вернув ей старое название Здравнёво. Здесь были созданы более 40 полотен ("Осенний букет", "Белорус", "Дуэль", "Лунная ночь", "На солнце"), многочисленные рисунки, этюды и эскизы… Их вместе с фотографиями, книгами и письмами можно увидеть в музее восстановленной усадьбы. Среди самых ценных экспонатов – образы Христа и Богоматери с младенцем, написанные для иконостаса Слободского храма, у стен которого похоронен отец художника. В Здравнёво сохранилась и липовая аллея, посаженная самим Репиным.

В музее-усадьбе часто проходят творческие встречи, выставки и пленэры современных живописцев.

Где находитсяВ 16 км к северу от Витебска в сторону г.п. Руба

Полоцк

ПолоцкЛетописная история одного из древнейших городов Восточной Европы начинается с первого упоминания в 862 году в "Повести временных лет". Полоцк был крупным ремесленным и торговым центром, через который проходил один из главных маршрутов великого пути "из варяг в греки". Это "колыбель" белорусского государства и культуры, столица первого княжества, родина выдающихся славянских просветителей Евфросинии Полоцкой, Франциска Скорины, Симеона Полоцкого. Самый древний город Беларуси бережно хранит свое культурное наследие – величественные храмы и православные святыни, в том числе восстановленный Крест Евфросинии Полоцкой.

По расчетам ученых, именно в Полоцке находится географический центр Европы. Здесь установлен памятный знак, и каждый гость может получить сертификат о своем пребывании в этом особом месте.

Где находитсяВитебская область

Софийский собор

Софийский соборСобор Софии Премудрости Божией – один из самых ранних православных храмов в Европе и первый каменный в Беларуси – включен в предварительный Список всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО. Возведенный в 1044 – 1066 годах по распоряжению князя Всеслава Чародея, он олицетворял независимое и могущественное Полоцкое княжество. Собор появился после своих "старших сестер" в Киеве и Новгороде, построенных по образцу собора в Константинополе, и стал четвертым в мире храмом Святой Софии. В середине XVIII века он был значительно перестроен в самобытном стиле виленского барокко.

В наши дни здесь можно увидеть старинные фрески и копию знаменитой работы Леонардо да Винчи "Тайная вечеря", послушать шедевры белорусской и зарубежной органной музыки, посетить музей истории архитектуры собора.

Где находитсяПолоцк, ул. Замковая, 1

Миоры

МиорыМестечко на берегу живописного озера Мёрское известно с 1514 года как имение Мерея, принадлежавшее воеводе Ивану Сапеге, а затем – знаменитому роду князей Святополк-Мирских. Современные Миоры – уютный город с сохранившейся архитектурой ХVIII – XIX веков, красивой набережной протяженностью около 500 метров. Главная достопримечательность города – построенный в 1907 году неоготический костел Вознесения Девы Марии (Успенский), где сохранились редкие иконы и скульптуры XIX века. Интересны и установленные в наше время композиции: единственный в Европе памятник нерожденному ребенку (1991), скульптура Матери Божией с младенцем Иисусом (1998), памятник Папе Римскому Иоанну Павлу II.

Где находитсяВ 238 км от Минска и 190 км от Витебска

В Миорском районе расположен самый маленький город Беларуси – Дисна, еще в 1569 г. получивший Магдебургское право и свой герб "Ладью". Здесь же находится середина знаменитой реки Западной Двины, в которую впадает одноименная с городком Дисна.

Республиканский ландшафтный заказник "Ельня"

Республиканский ландшафтный заказник "Ельня"Один из самых больших в Европе массивов древних верховых болот и ледниковых озер находится в белорусском Поозерье. Природный памятник с уникальной флорой и фауной носит международный охранный статус: территории, важной для птиц (с 1981 года), Рамсарского угодья (2002), ключевой ботанической территории (2005). Особая гордость заказника – существующее уже более 9 тысячелетий болото Ельня, площадь которого составляет около 20 тысяч га. Осенью эти места превращаются в настоящий "птичий рай": на болоте останавливаются более 4 тысяч серых журавлей и 10 тысяч гусей. Здесь же собирают самые большие урожаи клюквы (бел. журавiны).

Понаблюдать за стаями птиц, пройтись по экотропе и почувствовать под ногами трясину, а также попробовать необычные блюда и напитки из клюквы можно на ежегодном  экологическом фестивале "Жураўлі і журавіны Міёрскага краю".

Где находитсяМиорский район

Браслав

БраславГород Браслав, известный в письменных источниках с 1065 года, расположен в самом сердце озерного края Беларуси: только в радиусе 30 км от него насчитывается три десятка озер, и сам город со всех сторон окружен зеркальной гладью воды. Крупнейшая из окрестных "жемчужин" – озеро Дривяты – пятое по величине в Беларуси. Увидеть эту природную красоту можно из самого центра Браслава, где сохранилось древнее городище Замковая гора. Город, на гербе которого изображен христианский символ – око Божьей опеки, славится и духовными святынями. Среди них прекрасный костел Рождества Пресвятой Девы Марии (конец ХIХ в.), где хранится чудотворная Браславская икона Божьей Матери – Королева озер, заступница и покровительница края.

Где находитсяВ 240 км от Витебска

Новой достопримечательностью города, заметной издалека, стали большие буквы названия "БРАСЛАЎ" и изображение герба на склоне у берега озера Дривяты. Надпись с ночной подсветкой растянулась на 15 метров.

Интересен Браслав и событиями: каждый год здесь проходят фестиваль средневековой культуры "Меч Брячислава", международный праздник традиционной культуры "Браславские зарницы", музыкально-спортивный фестиваль и парусная регата VIVA BRASLAV, музыкальный фестиваль "Живое небо Браслава".

Национальный парк "Браславские озёра"

Национальный парк "Браславские озёра"Древний ледник оставил в Браславском Поозерье более 10 видов рельефа, ставших одной из главных особенностей края. Большие и маленькие озера с причудливыми берегами, извилистые реки, многочисленные острова (на некоторых в древние времена стояли крепости и монастырь), ледниковые холмы (озы и камы) – все это создало условия для богатой флоры и фауны. На территории основанного в 1995 г. национального парка "Браславские озёра" площадью около 70 тысяч гектаров произрастают более 1900 видов растений и обитают 312 видов позвоночных животных. Здесь можно увидеть огромное количество птиц, среди которых встречаются и редкие пернатые: большая выпь, черный аист, белый журавль…

 На территории "Браславских озёр" для туристов проложены увлекательные экотропы и создается сафари-парк, проводятся туры для охотников и рыболовов, в летний сезон по Дривятам курсирует прогулочный теплоход. Подробнее о парке смотрите здесь.

Где находится Административный центр национального парка находится в городе Браславе

Троицкий костел в поселке Видзы

Троицкий костел в Видзах Костел Рождества Девы Марии (Троицкий) в городском поселке Видзывторой по величине католический храм Беларуси, уступающий только святыне в Будславе. Он же и один из самых высоких: шпили храма достигают 59 метров, что немногим меньше знаменитого костела-"рекордсмена" в Гервятах (61 м). Первый католический приход был основан в Видзах еще в 1481 году монахами-бернардинцами. Новый костел – в неоготическом стиле из насыщенного красного кирпича – появился здесь в 1914 году, но во время Первой мировой войны серьезно пострадал. В память о тех трагических событиях в его стены вмуровали артиллерийские снаряды.

 В 2014 году костел в Видзах отметил вековой юбилей, и по-прежнему сохраняет свое изящество: устремленные ввысь башни и стрельчатые арки, окна с ажурными переплетами и цветные витражи…

Где находится Браславский район, г.п. Видзы, 40 км от Браслава и 260 км от Витебска

Поставы

ПоставыИстория расцвета Постав (1409) связана со знаменитой династией Тизенгаузов, владевших местечком с XVIII века. Влиятельный деятель ВКЛ, промышленник и меценат Антоний Тизенгауз пригласил в Поставы архитектора Джузеппе де Сакко организовать новую каменную застройку, которая частично сохранилась до наших дней. На фабриках Тизенгауза в Поставах делали бумагу с водяными знаками для государственных нужд, паруса для флота ВКЛ, шитые золотом пояса, не уступавшие по качеству слуцким. Позже другой представитель рода – увлеченный орнитолог Константин Тизенгауз – превратил Поставы в центр науки. В разное время во дворце Тизенгаузов размещались балетная школа, богатейший орнитологический музей – база биологического факультета Виленского университета, картинная галерея.

 Сегодня во дворце Тизенгаузов (в 1760 г.) размещается больница, а в подвалах открыта историческая экспозиция, посвященная славной династии и истории Первой мировой войны. Среди других достопримечательностей Постав – костел имени святого Антония Падуанского, Свято-Николаевская церковь (1894), памятник Константину Тизенгаузу.

Костел святого Иоанна Крестителя в деревне Камаи

Костел святого Иоанна Крестителя в деревне КамаиВ деревне Камаи Поставского района возвышается необычный костел – один из трех белорусских храмов-крепостей, включенных в предварительный Список всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО. При этом он существенно отличается от двух других святынь – православных церквей в Сынковичах и Мурованке. Камайский костел, возведенный как крепость, действительно был местом обороны во время войны со шведами, о чем свидетельствуют следы от пушечных ядер в стенах. Кроме того, храм, построенный в 1603-1606 годах – один из немногих в Беларуси, который никогда не закрывался. В его центральном алтаре хранится чудотворная икона Божьей Матери с ребенком (XVII в.).

Где находится Поставский район

Глубокое

Город Глубокое Город Глубокое с более чем 600-летней историей называют "вишневой столицей" Беларуси. Первые сады здесь появились благодаря селекционеру Болеславу Лапырю, который привозил саженцы из разных стран и выводил новые зимостойкие сорта. Недавно жители возродили вишневый сад, высадив в честь даты рождения города 1414 деревьев, и основали самобытный вишневый фестиваль. Среди архитектурных жемчужин Глубокого – стоящие напротив Троицкий костел и собор Рождества Пресвятой Богородицы (бывший кармелитский костел, возведенный в 1639-1654 гг.), где хранится икона Божьей Матери со святой горы Афон. Интересно, что на территории Глубокого находится пять озер.

 В списке популярных достопримечательностей города – бронзовая скульптура вишни, памятник барону Мюнхгаузену, Сквер знаменитых уроженцев Глуботчины, среди которых художник Язеп Дроздович, основоположник белорусского театра Игнат Буйницкий, авиаконструктор Павел Сухой, писатель Вацлав Ластовский, отец современного иврита Элиэзер Бен-Йехуда.

Где находится В 160 км на север от Минска

Костел святой Анны в деревне Мосар

Костел святой Анны в деревне Мосар Процветание Мосару, известному с 1514 года, принес шляхетский род Бжестовских. По заказу семейной пары Роберта и Анны Бжестовских в конце XVIII века в имении построили роскошный дворец и костел святой Анны, который, в отличие от графской резиденции, сохранился до наших дней. Новую жизнь в Мосар вдохнул приехавший на служение в 1989 году ксендз Йозас Булька. Заболоченные окрестности он превратил в прекрасный дендрарий с религиозными скульптурами, фонтанами, клумбами. Среди достопримечательностей "белорусского Версаля", как называют Мосар – копия знаменитой работы Микеланджело Буонарроти "Оплакивание Христа" из собора Святого Петра в Ватикане, самый высокий в Беларуси католический крест (23 м), 5-метровая статуя Христа

 В бывшей звоннице ксендз Булька основал первый и единственный в Беларуси антиалкогольный музей. А в старинном амбаре Мосара открыта этнографическая экспозиция.

Где находится Глубокский район, д. Мосар

Лепель

 Историки до сих пор не пришли к согласию, откуда происходит название Лепель: белорусских слов "лепей" (лучший) или "ляпіць" (местные гончары славились своим искусством), старобалтийского "лепеле", означающего "желтые кувшинки" (на водоемах края их действительно много) или дерева липа. Древний город был основан в ХVII веке на берегу озера Лепельское благодаря канцлеру Великого княжества Литовского Льву Сапеге. Памятник великому политическому деятелю установлен напротив костела святого Казимира. В 1602 г. этот католический приход и храм основал Сапега, а в 1857 – 1876 гг. было построено новое здание. Среди других достопримечательностей Лепеля – деревянная церковь святой Параскевы Пятницы, часовня 1900 г., здание синагоги, старинный каменный дом.

 В центральном парке на берегу Лепельского озера установлена бронзовая скульптура Цмока – удивительного персонажа белорусской мифологии, повелителя озер и болот. Кстати, Лепель стал первым городом Беларуси – членом Европейской ассоциации фольклорных групп.

Где находится В 155 км от Минска и 110 км от Витебска

Березинский биосферный заповедник

Березинский биосферный заповедникСтарейший среди охраняемых объектов Беларуси – Березинский биосферный заповедник – основан в 1925 году. Уникальные экосистемы привлекают сюда тысячи туристов. В 1979 году заповедник вошел во Всемирную сеть биосферных резерватов ЮНЕСКО, с 2005-го – включен в Международную экологическую сеть, в 2010-м – в Рамсарский список водно-болотных угодий… Заповедная территория занимает свыше 80 тысяч га и включает разнообразные типы лесов, болот, пойменных лугов, озер и рек. Здесь произрастают более 2 тысяч видов растений (78 из Красной книги Беларуси), обитают десятки видов млекопитающих и сотни – птиц. Березинский заповедник – единственное место в Беларуси и в целом Европе, где можно увидеть сразу всех представителей "европейской пятерки" – зубра, медведя, рысь, волка и лося.

 В заповеднике реализуется уникальный для Беларуси проект: на озере Плавно появятся бревенчатые плавающие дома с камышовыми крышами, закрепленные на понтонах. Внутренний декор будет выполнен из экоматериалов, а мотопривод позволит туристам легко перемещаться по водной глади.

Где находится Административный центр Березинского биосферного заповедника – д. Домжерицы, Лепельский район

Орша

ОршаПервое упоминание о городе на берегу Днепра и Оршицы относится к 1067 году. До наших дней сохранилось городище, где археологи обнаружили уникальную кольчугу с древнеславянскими надписями. Среди достопримечательностей Орши – Ильинская церковь, Кутеинский мужской Богоявленский монастырь, костел святого Иосифа и, конечно, великолепный комплекс иезуитского коллегиума, возведенного в ХVII веке по распоряжению Льва Сапеги. Недалеко в здании старинной водяной мельницы (1902 г.) работает этнографический музей "Млын", посвященный жизни белорусов ХIХ века. В окрестностях Орши 14 июля 1941 года прогремели первые залпы легендарной "Катюши", и сейчас о событиях Великой Отечественной войны свидетельствует одноименный мемориальный комплекс.

 Оршанская земля славится выращиванием льна, ставшего символом Беларуси: его изображение можно увидеть на государственном гербе.

Где находится В 225 км от Минска

Музей Владимира Короткевича в Орше

Музей Владимира Короткевича в ОршеТалантливый писатель, драматург и сценарист, публицист и переводчик, представитель старинного шляхетского рода и страстный любитель истории, Владимир Короткевич – удивительный автор в белорусской литературе, один из самых любимых и читаемых уже многими поколениями. Биографический музей в его родной Орше открылся в 2000 году в символичном здании – памятнике архитектуры ХІХ-ХХ веков: с 1925 г. здесь размещался роддом, где 26 ноября 1930 года и появился на свет будущий писатель. Сегодня в музее – несколько тематических экспозиций: "Портрет писателя и человека" с фрагментом рабочего кабинета минской квартиры Короткевича, зал литературного наследия с научно-исследовательским центром и библиотекой, художественная галерея. Коллекция объединяет сотни предметов: личные вещи и рукописи Короткевича, его оригинальные рисунки. Здесь же можно посмотреть знаменитые фильмы, снятые по романам и сценариям Владимира Короткевича, услышать записи голоса самого автора, музыкальные композиции на его стихи...

Где находится Витебская область, г. Орша, ул. Ленина, 26


Время работы 10.00-18.00, выходной – понедельник

МИНСК и МИНЧАНЕ: спецпроект БЕЛТА
Беларусь и Китай: топ-50 кадров за четверть века
Памятники Великой Отечественной войны в Беларуси
В Беларусь без визы: на 5 дней для граждан 80 стран
Платные дороги в Беларуси