Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Bells of St Sophia Cathedral festival in Polotsk

Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | Travel | Military History Tourism

Military History Tourism in Belarus

Reconstruction of Mogilev defense on Buinichi Field
Reconstruction of Mogilev defense on Buinichi Field

Located in the very heart of Europe, Belarus has seen the greatest wars in the global history. Today visitors can see places of famous battles and great tragedies of the past, can honor the memory of the fallen of many nations, and can participate in historical festivals and historical recreation projects.

For those, who take a close interest in military history, Belarus is one of the most important countries of the world. Many times the country was an arena of armed warfare and the place where armies led by leaders of European and Asian states clashed.

In Belarus there are still castles and temples that held the line in the face of enemies during the Middle Ages. Our lands saw battles against the Swedes during the Great Northern War. In 1812 Napoleon’s army suffered a crushing defeat on the banks of the Belarusian river Berezina.

In the early 20th century Belarus was the place of fierce fighting during World War One. Mogilev even hosted the headquarters of the commander in chief of the Russian army – Russia’s last emperor Nicholas II.

There is no doubt that the most tragic pages of Belarus’ history were written during the Great Patriotic War that took lives of every third Belarusian.

Memory of the war lives on in the legendary Brest Hero Fortress, the Buinichi Field Memorial in Mogilev, in Orsha’s outskirts that heard the first volleys of the famous MLRS Katyusha, in Stalin’s Line and many other places that bear witness of the dreadful events…

The history of the war can be learned from the internationally recognized Khatyn Memorial and hundreds of other Belarusian villages that the Nazi burnt down together with the villagers, the blood-filled death camps Trostenets, Krasnyi Bereg, and Ozarichi, multiple ghettos that were set up all over the country…

Visitors are encouraged to take a tour of the world’s first museum of the history of the Great Patriotic War. It was established in Minsk back in 1942 and moved into new premises on the occasion of the 70th anniversary of Belarus’ liberation.

In tribute to the memory of the heroes the Belarusians have built many obelisks and memorials, put tanks and guns used in the Great Patriotic War on stone pedestals, created unique museum exhibitions, and take care of the mass and individual graves of soldiers and civilians.

Every year festive events, meetings with war veterans and memorial evenings are held on the Victory Day on 9 May and on the memorable days of the liberation of Belarusian towns and villages during the Bagration offensive, one of the largest operations in the history of mankind.

On Belarus Independence Day on 3 July, when the Belarusian capital city was liberated from the Nazi invaders, Minsk conducts a grand military parade and a festive procession.

Pobeditelei Avenue hosts a show of the equipment and armament used during the Great Patriotic War, a march of soldiers wearing the Red Army uniforms, “partisans” and "civilians" wearing the period clothes of the 1940s, and, of course, a parade features modern weapons of the Belarusian army.

Belarus has developed interesting historical routes dedicated to the major wars and famous battles, the heroic feats and the tragedies which we cannot forget...


Medieval Battles

The Great Northern War

The Patriotic War of 1812

The First World War

The Great Patriotic War  

5th All-Belarusian People’s Congress
Draft program for Belarus’ social and economic development for 2016-2020
Belarus parliament elections 2016
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Redenomination in Belarus: new money
Toll roads in Belarus

Официальный сайт Республики Беларусь
III Минский международный Рождественский конкурс вокалистов
Туризм

Календарь событий в Беларуси
Достопримечательности Беларуси
Всемирное наследие ЮНЕСКО в Беларуси
Белорусские санатории и курорты
Сувениры из Беларуси

| Главная | Туризм | Военно-исторический туризм

Военно-исторический туризм в Беларуси

Реконструкция обороны Могилева на Буйничском поле
Реконструкция обороны Могилева на Буйничском поле

Находясь в самом центре Европы, Беларусь вошла в хроники крупнейших войн мировой истории. Сегодня здесь можно побывать в местах знаменитых сражений и великих трагедий разных времен, почтить память погибших многих национальностей, принять участие в исторических фестивалях и реконструкциях.

Для всех, кого увлекает военная история, Беларусь стала одной из самых значимых стран мира. Очень часто она была ареной боевых действий, местом, где встречались войска правителей государств Европы и Азии.

В Беларуси сохранились замки и храмы, державшие оборону перед врагами в Средневековье. На нашей земле происходили сражения со шведами в годы Северной войны, в 1812-м на берегах белорусской Березины была окончательно разгромлена армия Наполеона.

В начале ХХ века здесь разворачивались жестокие бои Первой мировой войны, а в Барановичах и Могилеве находилась Ставка Верховного главнокомандующего армии – последнего российского императора Николая II.

И, безусловно, самые трагические страницы в истории Беларуси связаны с Великой Отечественной войной, унесшей жизни каждого третьего жителя нашей страны.

О ней напоминают легендарная Брестская крепость, героическое Буйничское поле в Могилеве, окрестности Орши, где звучали первые залпы знаменитой "Катюши", "Линия Сталина" и множество других мест, ставших свидетелями страшных событий…

Об этой войне "рассказывают" печально известная на весь мир Хатынь и еще сотни сожженных вместе с людьми деревень, кровавые лагеря смерти Тростенец, Красный Берег, Озаричи, множество гетто, существовавших по всей стране…

Ей посвящен первый в мире музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, основанный в Минске еще в 1942 году и получивший новое здание-символ к 70-летию освобождения Беларуси.

Во многих городах и деревнях нашей страны установлены обелиски и мемориалы в память о героях, победные танки и орудия времен Великой Отечественной войны, созданы уникальные музейные экспозиции, почитаются братские и одиночные могилы погибших солдат и мирных жителей.

Каждый год в День Победы 9 мая и в памятные дни освобождения белорусских городов и деревень в ходе наступательной операции "Багратион" – одной из крупнейших в истории человечества – проводятся праздничные шествия, встречи и вечера памяти.

В День Независимости Беларуси 3 июля – а это исторический День освобождения белорусской столицы от немецко-фашистских захватчиков – в Минске проходят грандиозный военный парад и яркое театрализованное шествие.

На проспекте Победителей в ретро-колоннах можно увидеть настоящую технику и вооружение времен Великой Отечественной войны, "солдат" в оригинальной форме и "партизан", "мирных жителей" 1940-х годов. И конечно, на параде представлено современное вооружение белорусской армии.

Сегодня в Беларуси разработаны интересные исторические маршруты, посвященные крупнейшим войнам и знаменитым сражениям на ее территории, героическим судьбам людей и трагедиям, о которых нельзя забыть…

 

Средневековые битвы

Северная война

Отечественная война 1812 года

Первая мировая война

Великая Отечественная война

V Всебелорусское народное собрание
Программа социально-экономического развития Республики Беларусь на 2016 — 2020 годы (ПРОЕКТ)
Парламентские выборы 2016 года в Беларуси
Памятники Великой Отечественной войны в Беларуси
Деноминация в Беларуси: новые деньги
Платные дороги в Беларуси