Visiting Belarus without a visa: 5 days for citizens of 80 countries
Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Year of Science in Belarus
Travel

Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | Travel | Military History Tourism | Great Patriotic War monuments

Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus

In various parts of Belarus, which lost every third citizen in 1941-1945, symbolical memorial complexes have been created and monuments have been erected to highlight events of the most tragic and devastating war that the much-suffered land has seen.

At present there are about 9,000 monuments and graves dating back to the Great Patriotic War in Belarus. They are part of military history tours but most importantly they represent sacred places where people come to honor the fallen and remember the value of peace

Victory Monument in Minsk

Victory Monument in MinskVictory Square, Minsk

The architectural and sculptural complex Minsk Hero City

The architectural and sculptural complex Minsk Hero CityThe stela Minsk Hero City was erected in 1985 in honor of the 40th anniversary of the Great Patriotic War. It is now part of the magnificent compound of the Great Patriotic War History Museum. In 1974 Minsk was honored with the title of hero city for the courage and bravery its residents demonstrated during the Nazi occupation that lasted for 1,100 days and nights. On top of the 45-meter obelisk is a Hero Star. At the bottom visitors can see an engraved text that describes the acquisition of the honorable title by the city. Standing with fanfares raised high, the symbolical figure of the Motherland is part of the compound. Nowadays majestic military parades and processions on the day of the key national holiday Independence Day take place near the stela Minsk Hero City.

Pobeditelei Avenue, Minsk

The state memorial complex Khatyn

KhatynLogoisk District, Minsk Oblast

The memorial complex Dalva

The memorial complex DalvaLogoisk District, Minsk Oblast

The memorial complex Glory Mound

The memorial complex Glory MoundSmolevichi District, Minsk Oblast

The historical and cultural complex Stalin’s Line

The historical and cultural complex Stalin’s LineMinsk District

The memorial complex Brest Hero Fortress

Brest Hero FortressBrest

The memorial complex in honor of liberators of Pinsk

The memorial complex in honor of liberators of PinskA communal grave is at the center of the memorial dedicated to the heroes, who liberated the city of Pinsk. Remains of 244 soldiers are in that grave. Close to it is a monument to the armored boat BK-92 and a symbolical sign erected in the place where the Dnieper flotilla landed. The famous reconstructed Molchanov’s Pillbox is nearby. In 1944 it was the command post of Major Georgy Molchanov, who commanded the 1323rd rifle regiment. It is the place where the first message about Pinsk’s liberation came from. The interior of the legendary command post has been recreated and now features plans of military operations, maps, a soldier memory journal. After reconstruction the memorial will get an open-air military hardware museum.

Pinsk, Brest Oblast

The memorial complex Buinichi Field

Buinichi FieldMogilev

The memorial complex Dugout

The memorial complex DugoutThe huge partisan dugout made of concrete and a stela with a commemorative inscription were installed in the first kilometer of the Mogilev-Chausy motorway in 1982. It was the place of the Western Front command post in the early days of the Great Patriotic War. On 1 July 1941 the place saw the first conference on protecting the Dnieper River Line and creating underground resistance units behind enemy’s lines. The heroic defense of Mogilev began several days later. Soviet Union marshals K. Voroshilov and B. Shaposhnikov took part in the conference. Several days later the heroic defense of Mogilev began. The 172nd rifle division (General M. Romanov) and the 110th rifle division (Colonel V. Khlebtsev) of the 61st rifle corps of the 13th army, other Red Army units, who were moving from the west, and people’s militia, who rose up to protect the native city, kept the Nazi at bay there for 23 days and nights.

Mogilev District

In Memory of Burned Villages, Mogilev Oblast

In Memory of Burned VillagesThe memorial complex in the village of Borki, Kirovsk District, pays tribute to the memory of the villages burned down by the Nazis during the Great Patriotic War. There were hundreds of villages in Belarus who shared the tragic fate of Khatyn. The stories of many of them made part of the famous documentary book Out of the Fire by Belarusian writers Yanka Bryl, Ales Adamovich and Vladimir Kolesnik who recorded the stories of more than 300 eyewitnesses of those events...  The bloody list includes the village of Borki which was burned down by the Nazis together with its residents on 15 June 1942. A wall of memory, six panels with the names of the destroyed villages, bells and a chapel in honor of the Icon of the Mother of God The Seeking of the Lost were built here decades later.

Village of Borki, Kirovsk District, Mogilev Oblast

Memorial of military glory Ludchitsy Height

Memorial of military glory Ludchitsy HeightBykhov District, Mogilev Oblast

Memorial in honor of the soldiers of the 1st  Belarusian Front and partisans

Memorial in honor of the soldiers of the 1st  Belarusian Front and partisansThe memorial complex in Sychkovo is dedicated to the soldiers and partisans who in June 1944 took part in the decisive stage of the Bagration liberation operation. A 40,000-strong German army group Center was destroyed in the Bobruisk cauldron. In 1967, the locals immortalized the feat of the heroes-liberators in the Mound of Glory, with the capsules containing soil from 70 mass graves buried inside of it. The 18-meter pedestal is crowned with the sculpture of the two soldiers, the stelas with the statues of 6 heroes of the Soviet Union: Ivan Oryol, Nikolai Kolodko, Alexander Chernysh, Mikhail Seleznev, Ivan Maslovsky and Nikolai Izyumov. Later the memorial was completed with the Gate of Fame and 13 commemorative plaques in tribute to the heroes of the Soviet Union who died liberating the Mogilev land.

Bobruisk District, Mogilev Oblast

Memorial complex Victory Square in Vitebsk

Victory Square in VitebskVitebsk

Memorial complex Katyusha (For Our Soviet Motherland!)

Memorial complex KatyushaA large statue of the legendary weapon – combat rocket launcher BM-13 which the Soviet soldiers called Katyusha was installed on the banks of the Dnieper in Orsha. Its design and a firestorm effect remained a mystery for the Germans for years. It was in Orsha that on 14 July 1941 first Katyusha battery went in action: the experimental battery of seven machines under the command of Captain Flyorov bombarded the enemy’s trains at a railway station and positions at the river crossing. The memorial consists of 6 "mortar launchers" made of concrete. In the center of the pedestal there is an exact copy of Katyusha made in 1941. At the entrance to the complex there is a black cube with a commemorative inscription on the first use of the famous rocket launcher.

Mogilevskaya Street, Orsha

Memorial complex Condemnation of Fascism

Memorial complex Condemnation of FascismCondemnation of Fascism Memorial is dedicated to the tragedy of Dokshitsy District which saw more than 20,000 people killed and 97 villages razed to the ground during the Great Patriotic War. The village of Shunevka and 66 of its residents had their last day on 22 May 1943: all adults were burned alive in a shed and defenseless children were thrown into the well to die. The memory of the innocent lives is immortalized in the monument featuring the frame of a well, inside of which there is a "broken" kite made of bronze with the engraved children's names. In the center of the memorial there is the Gate of Sorrow with the desperate mother lifting her hands to the sky. Over it there are three bells; one of them is broken to symbolize the eternal memory of the dead. On the ground where the houses once stood, there are 22 house foundations with the steps and "frozen flame" bearing the names of the owners...

Shunevka, Dokshitsy District, Vitebsk Oblast 

Breakthrough Memorial

Breakthrough MemorialAn impressive war memorial was created at the place of the legendary breakthrough  of the Nazi blockade by the partisans of the Polotsk-Lepel zone, one of the biggest partisan zones in the occupied Belarus. The real partisan republic with its headquarters in Ushachi was set up in autumn 1942. In spring 1944 the Nazi Germany used 60,000 punishers, aviation, tanks and artillery against 17,000 partisans. On the tragic night of 4-5 May partisans destroyed the enemy and liberated 16,000 civilians… Hundreds of dead soldiers were buried in the mass grave named Breakthrough, with even more names perpetuated on its plaques. The memorial opens with a bronze map of defense. An arrow-shaped road goes past huge boulders pointing to the direction of the main attack. A fearless soldier "runs" on it with an automatic rifle in his hands. Nearby there are 16 oaks, a symbol of fortitude of 16 partisan brigades.

Paperino village, Ushachi District, Vitebsk Oblast

Mound of Glory Memorial in Gomel

Mound of Glory Memorial in GomelGomel’s Mound of Glory was set up in 1967 to honor the feat of the soldiers and partisans who fell in the Great Patriotic War. At the foot of the memorial there are capsules with soil from more than 200 places of Belarus, Russia and Ukraine that witnessed the biggest war battles. Soil was also brought from the glorious hero cities such as Moscow, Kiev, Leningrad, Odessa and Belarus’ main citadel, Brest Fortress. The memorial also keeps the message for the future generations, the time capsule, which is to be opened in 2017 ahead of the 100th anniversary of the October Revolution and the 50th anniversary of the memorial. In 2013 the Eternal Flame was opened at the Mound of Glory as part of the large-scale reconstruction for the 70th anniversary of the liberation of Gomel.

Gomel

Bagration Operation Memorial

Bagration Operation MemorialThe world’s first memorial to commemorate one of the biggest military operations in the human history was unveiled in Svetlogorsk District to mark the 70th anniversary of Belarus’ liberation from the Nazis. The large-scale offensive that lasted for more than two months was launched near the village of Rakovichi, at the 71st kilometer of the Bobruisk-Mozyr highway, on 23 June 1944. In the result of the operation, named after commander, Hero of the Patriotic War of 1812 Piotr Bagration, the Red Army liberated Belarus, partially liberated the Baltic states and Poland, and almost completely destroyed the German Army Group Centre…The 7-meter bas-relief features the figures of four commanders who took part in the operation...

According to the plan, the memorial will also include a museum dedicated to the first phase of the Bagration Operation, an exhibition of hardware and armament, and also fragments of dikes.

Rakovichi village, Svetlogorsk District, Gomel Oblast

Loyev Memorial

Loyev MemorialThe war memorial in Loyev commemorates one of the biggest battles of the Great Patriotic War – the operation to cross the Dnieper in October 1943. An 18-meter obelisk, a reduced copy of the Victory Memorial in Minsk, was erected in the center of the town in 1966. Following the reconstruction for the 70th anniversary of the Great Victory the central square was transformed into a memorial ensemble. To each side of the Alley of Glory there is an open-air exposition entitled the Museum of the Battle of the Dnieper that displays the samples of the military hardware that took part in the battle. Hundreds of names were perpetuated on the memorial plaques. 323 soldiers were awarded the title of the Hero of the Soviet Union for incredible bravery in the battles for Loyev, a unique fact in the history of the Great Patriotic War.

Loyev, Gomel Oblast

Memory Memorial

Memory MemorialDobrush, Gomel Oblast

War Memorial to the Soldiers of the Belarusian Border District

War Memorial to the Soldiers of the Belarusian Border DistrictThe memorial in Grodno downtown was unveiled in 2004 to commemorate the Soviet soldiers who heroically defended the borders of the country from the very first days of the Great Patriotic War. The monument depicts a bronze sculpture of three soldiers that cover the border with their bodies, clasping weapons in their hands. On the back of the monument there are boundary pillars, the symbols of 15 Soviet Union member republics. The sign reads “To the soldiers of the Belarusian Border District, killed but not defeated” and is the leitmotif of the sculptural composition. The memorial is decorated with granite slabs that symbolize the mass graves of the courageous soldiers that were the first to face the enemy on 21 June 1941.

Grodno

Memorials at former death camps and ghettos

Trostenets Memorial

TrostenetsTrostenets was the largest Nazi extermination camp on the territory of the Soviet Union and the fourth largest in Europe following the infamous Auschwitz, Majdanek, and Treblinka. According to the official data, around 206,500 people were killed in the "death factory" in the neighborhood of Minsk. There is also evidence that the actual number of victims is much higher. Trostenets comprised several places of mass killings: the labor camp near the village of Maly Trostenets, Blagovshchina urochishche where mass executions were carried out, and Shashkovka urochishche where bodies were burnt in a huge pit oven… The foundation of a large memorial complex, the symbol of the memory of the victims of the Nazi atrocities was laid on the site of the former concentration camp in anticipation of the 70th anniversary of the Great Victory.

The Nazi death camp was used for killing civilians and prisoners of war, prisoners of the Minsk ghetto, members of the underground and partisan movements, and Jews brought from Poland, Austria, Germany, Czechoslovakia, and other European countries…

Pit memorial to Holocaust victims

Pit memorial to Holocaust victimsThe Pit, a memorial located in Minsk, is a painful reminder of the Nazi inhumanity and a symbol of the eternal sorrow for the genocide victims. One of the largest European ghettos for the Jews was established in the occupied Belarusian capital during the Great Patriotic War. Over 100,000 people were murdered there by late October 1943. The atrocity of 2 March 1942 when the Nazi executed more than 5,000 Jews including 200 orphans from a boarding school together with their teachers and medical staff was one of the multitude of atrocities that took place there. Thousands of corpses of those who were killed in the Minsk ghetto were dumped into the pit that today is marked with an impressive memorial. In the center of the memorial there is a black marble obelisk erected in 1947. The stairs lead to the deep pit form the Last Journey sculpture that features 27 bronze figures moving down the stairs like faceless ghosts…

The Alley of the Righteous Among Nations near the Pit commemorates the Belarusian people who saved Jews while jeopardizing their own lives. All in all, on the territory of Belarus there were over 100 ghettos for the Jews from Germany, Poland, Austria, and other countries…

Melnikaite Street, Minsk

Memorial in the village of Krasny Bereg commemorating child victims of the Great Patriotic War

Memorial in the village of Krasny Bereg Village of Krasny Bereg, Zhlobin District, Gomel Region

Ozarichi Memorial Complex

Ozarichi Memorial Complex…A heinous death camp existed for only two weeks, but within this short span the Nazis killed 20,000 people. the death camp was created in March 1944, upon the order of Adolf Hitler near the village of Ozarichi in Belarusian Polesye to torture prisoners and weaken the approaching Red Army. People suffering from spotted fever and other infectious diseases which could quickly contaminate local residents and Soviet soldiers were brought to this land of marshes. There were no buildings on the territory of the Ozarichi death zone: women, children and elderly people were kept outdoors; the territory around the death camp was mined. The liberators of the horrible death camp saved more than 30,000 prisoners, more than a half of who were children. The memorial made of three white walls symbolizing Ozarichi death camps with the portraits and names of prisoners was unveiled in 1965.
 
The museum of memory of the Ozarichi death zone victims was opened in 2004. It features unique materials such as the memories and voice recordings of eyewitnesses, documents, photographs, correspondence with former prisoners and liberators…
 
Kalinkovichi District, Gomel Oblast

Memorial complex Lupolovo Prison Camp

Memorial complex Lupolovo Prison CampA prison camp for Soviet soldiers was set up by the Nazis in the Lupolovo suburb of Mogilev in August 1941. Prisoners were starved, interrogated and severely tortured. Every day up to 250 people died behind the energized barbed-wire fence. About 80,000 people died in the prison camp, and only 389 names of victims are known. One of the prisoners was General Mikhail Romanov, commander of the famous 172nd rifle division which heroically defended the city of Mogilev in July 1941. The first monument commemorating the victims of the prison camp was erected in 1948. The memorial complex was unveiled in 1984 in honor of the 40th anniversary of the liberation of Mogilev.

On the site of the former Lupolovo concentration camp there is also a mass grave of the soldiers of the 238th and 369th rifle divisions of the 2nd Belarusian Front which took part in the liberation of Mogilev in June 1944.
 
Mogilev

War museums

All historical and regional museums in Belarus have halls and expositions dedicated to the Great Patriotic War. Every district in the country keeps the memory of those terrible years by collecting priceless rarities, military chronicles of towns and villages, tragedies of shattered lives, stories about the heroic deeds of people who made their contribution to the long-awaited Victory
 
Rare exhibits are displayed in school museums where several generations of people have been collecting the evidence of the troubled years, memories of soldiers, partisans and underground fighters, prisoners of concentration camps and local residents for decades…
 
During the trip to Belarus you can see numerous local expositions and unique military collections.
 
The main storage of rarities is the world’s first Museum of the Great Patriotic War History which was founded in Minsk. In the run-up to the 70th anniversary of Belarus’ liberation from Nazi invaders the museum was opened in a new building and became an interactive historical complex. Today the Belarusian museum has one of the biggest collections of World War Two exhibits in the world.
 
Big collections of military artifacts can be seen in the following Belarusian museums:

 

MINSK and  MINSKERS: BELTA special project
Belarus and China: Top 50 pictures over 25 years
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Visiting Belarus without a visa: 5 days for citizens of 80 countries
Toll roads in Belarus

Мемориалы Великой Отечественной войны в Беларуси | Belarus.by
В Беларусь без визы: на 5 дней для граждан 80 стран
Официальный сайт Республики Беларусь
Год науки в Беларуси
Туризм

Календарь событий в Беларуси
Достопримечательности Беларуси
Всемирное наследие ЮНЕСКО в Беларуси
Белорусские санатории и курорты
Сувениры из Беларуси

| Главная | Туризм | Военно-исторический туризм | Памятники Великой Отечественной войны

Памятники Великой Отечественной войны в Беларуси

В разных уголках Беларуси, потерявшей в 1941-1945 годах каждого третьего жителя, созданы символичные мемориальные комплексы, установлены монументы, посвященные событиям самой трагической и кровопролитной войны на этой многострадальной земле.

Сегодня в стране около 9 тысяч памятников и захоронений Великой Отечественной войны. Они входят в военно-исторические маршруты и экскурсии, но главное – являются святым местом почитания погибших, вечным напоминанием о том, как бесценен мир

Монумент Победы в Минске

Монумент Победы в Минскег. Минск, площадь Победы

Архитектурно-скульптурный комплекс "Минск – город-герой"

Комплекс "Минск – город-герой"Стела "Минск – город-герой", возведенная в 1985 году в честь 40-летия Великой Победы, сегодня входит в грандиозный ансамбль Музея истории Великой Отечественной войны. В 1974 году Минск получил звание Города-героя за мужество и отвагу его жителей во время фашистской оккупации, которая продолжалась 1100 дней и ночей. Венчает 45-метровый обелиск Звезда Героя, а у подножия выгравирован текст о присвоении городу почетного звания. Дополняет ансамбль бронзовая скульптура женщины с высоко поднятыми фанфарами – символ Родины-матери. В наши дни у стелы "Минск-город-герой" проходят грандиозный военный парад и шествие в главный государственный праздник – День Независимости.

г. Минск, проспект Победителей

Государственный мемориальный комплекс "Хатынь"

Мемориальный комплекс "Хатынь"Минская область, Логойский район

Мемориальный комплекс "Дальва"

Мемориальный комплекс "Дальва"Минская область, Логойский район

Мемориальный комплекс "Курган Славы"

Мемориальный комплекс "Курган Славы"Минская область, Смолевичский район

Историко-культурный комплекс "Линия Сталина"

Историко-культурный комплекс "Линия Сталина"   Минский район

Мемориальный комплекс "Бресткая крепость-герой"

Мемориальный комплекс "Бресткая крепость-герой"
г. Брест

Мемориальный комплекс освободителям Пинска

Мемориальный комплекс освободителям ПинскаВ сердце мемориала, посвященного героям-освободителям Пинскабратская могила, где покоится прах 244 солдат, памятник бронекатеру БК-92 и символичный знак, установленный на месте высадки десанта Днепровской флотилии. Рядом восстановлен знаменитый "Дот Молчанова": в 1944 году здесь размещался командный пункт майора Георгия Молчанова, который командовал 1323-м стрелковым полком. Именно отсюда пришло первое сообщение об освобождении Пинска. В наши дни воссоздан интерьер легендарного штаба, а в экспозиции можно увидеть планы военных операций, карты, журнал памяти солдат… После реконструкции в мемориальном комплексе появился музей военной техники под открытым небом.

Брестская область, г. Пинск

Мемориальный комплекс "Буйничское поле"

Мемориальный комплекс "Буйничское поле"г. Могилев

Мемориальный комплекс "Землянка"

Мемориальный комплекс "Землянка"

Огромная партизанская "землянка" из бетона, а также стела с памятной надписью появились в 1982 году на 1-м километре шоссе Могилев – Чаусы. В этих местах в начале Великой Отечественной войны находился штаб Западного фронта. Здесь 1 июля 1941-го с участием маршалов Советского Союза К.Ворошилова и Б.Шапошникова состоялось первое совещание по защите Днепровского рубежа и созданию подпольных отрядов в тылу врага. А спустя несколько суток началась героическая оборона Могилева, на подступах которого 23 дня и ночи стояли 172-я (генерал М.Романов) и 110-я (полковник В.Хлебцев) стрелковые дивизии 61-го стрелкового корпуса 13-й армии, другие подразделения Красной Армии, продвигающиеся с запада, и народные ополченцы, вставшие на защиту родного города. 

Могилевский район

Мемориальный комплекс "Памяти сожженных деревень Могилевской области"

Стена памяти сожженных деревень Могилевской областиМемориальный ансамбль в деревне Борки Кировского района хранит память о сожженных в годы Великой Отечественной войны селениях Могилевщины. Так сложилось, что мест, разделивших судьбу печально известной на весь мир Хатыни, в Беларуси – сотни. Трагические истории многих из них легли в основу знаменитой документальной книги "Я з вогненнай вёскi" белорусских авторов Алеся Адамовича, Янки Брыля и Владимира Колесника, которые записали для потомков правдивый рассказ более чем 300 свидетелей тех дней… В кровавом списке и деревня Борки, которую 15 июня 1942 года каратели сожгли вместе с жителями. Спустя десятилетия здесь возведены Стена памяти и шесть плит с названиями уничтоженных деревень, колокола и часовня в честь иконы Божией Матери "Взыскание погибших".

Могилевская область, Кировский район, д. Борки

Мемориал воинской славы "Лудчицкая высота"

Мемориал воинской славы "Лудчицкая высота"

Могилевская область, Быховский район

Мемориальный комплекс в честь воинов 1-го Белорусского фронта и партизан

Мемориальный комплекс в честь воинов 1-го Белорусского фронта и партизан

Мемориальный комплекс в Сычково посвящен солдатам и партизанам, которые в июне 1944-го участвовали в решающем этапе освободительной операции "Багратион". В "Бобруйском котле" была разгромлена 40-тысячная немецкая группировка армий "Центр". В 1967 году местные жители увековечили подвиг героев-освободителей в Кургане Славы, внутри которого заложены капсулы с землей из 70 братских могил. На 18-метровом постаменте возвышается скульптурная композиция двух солдат, а рядом – 6 стел с изваяниями погибших Героев Советского Союза: Ивана Орла, Николая Колодко, Александра Черныша, Михаила Селезнева, Ивана Масловского и Николая Изюмова. В наше время мемориал дополнили Ворота Славы и 13 памятных досок в честь Героев Советского Союза, погибших при освобождении края.

Могилевская область, Бобруйский район, д. Сычково

Мемориальный комплекс "Площадь Победы" в Витебске

   Мемориальный комплекс "Площадь Победы" в Витебске

г. Витебск

Мемориальный комплекс "Катюша" ("За нашу советскую родину!")

Мемориальный комплекс "Катюша" в Орше

На берегу Днепра в Орше возвышается монумент легендарному орудию Победы – боевой машине реактивной артиллерии БМ-13, которую советские воины назвали "Катюшей". Ее устройство и ошеломительный эффект огненного смерча долгие годы оставались для немцев тайной. И именно в Орше 14 июля 1941-го прозвучали первые боевые залпы "Катюши": экспериментальная батарея из семи машин под командованием капитана И.Флёрова нанесла удары по эшелонам врага на железнодорожной станции и позициям у речной переправы. Мемориал объединяет 6 устремленных ввысь "минометных пусковых установок" из бетона, а в центре на пьедестале установлена точная копия "Катюши" образца 1941 года. У входа в комплекс – черный куб с памятной надписью о первом ударе знаменитого орудия.

Витебская область, г. Орша, ул. Могилевская

Мемориальный комплекс "Проклятие фашизму"

Мемориальный комплекс "Проклятие фашизму"

Мемориал "Проклятие фашизму" посвящен трагедии Докшицкого района, где в годы Великой Отечественной войны погибли более 20 тысяч человек, а 97 деревень были стерты с лица Земли. Для Шуневки и 66 ее жителей последний день настал 22 мая 1943-го: всех взрослых каратели заживо сожгли в сарае, а беззащитных детей бросили умирать в колодец. Памятью о жестоко отнятых юных жизнях стал "сруб колодца", внутри которого – "сломанный" воздушный змей из бронзы с выгравированными детскими именами. В центре мемориала – высокие "Ворота печали", где женщина-мать отчаянно возносит руки к небу. Над ней – три колокола, один из которых расколот и не звонит как символ вечной памяти о погибших. На земле, где когда-то стояли дома, сейчас лишь 22 фундамента со ступенями и "застывшим пламенем", хранящим имена хозяев…

 Витебская область, Докшицкий район, д. Шуневка

Мемориальный комплекс "Прорыв"Мемориальный комплекс "Прорыв"

Впечатляющий комплекс создан на месте легендарного прорыва фашистской блокады партизанами Полоцко-Лепельской зоны – одной из крупнейших в оккупированной Беларуси. Настоящая партизанская республика с центром в Ушачах существовала с осени 1942 года, а весной 1944-го немцы бросили против 17 тысяч партизан 60 тысяч карателей, авиацию, танки, артиллерию. И все же трагической ночью с 4 на 5 мая партизаны разгромили врага, выведя из окружения 16 тысяч мирных жителей… В братской могиле "Прорыва" похоронены сотни воинов, еще больше имен увековечены на плитах. Мемориал открывает бронзовая карта обороны, а далее дорога-стрела проходит между огромных глыб, указывая направление главной атаки, где с автоматом в руках "бежит" бесстрашный воин. Рядом – 16 дубов как символ стойкости 16 партизанских бригад.

Витебская область, Ушачский район, д. Паперино

Мемориальный комплекс "Курган Славы" в Гомеле

Мемориальный комплекс "Курган Славы" в Гомеле

Гомельский "Курган Славы" создан в 1967 году в честь подвига воинов и партизан, погибших на фронтах Великой Отечественной войны. У подножия мемориала заложены капсулы с землей из более чем 200 мест Беларуси, России и Украины, где проходили крупнейшие военные сражения, в том числе из прославленных городов-героев: Москвы, Киева, Ленинграда, Одессы и главной цитадели Беларуси – Брестской крепости. Внутри памятника находится послание будущим поколениям – капсула времени, которую необходимо вскрыть в 2017 году в честь 100-летия Октябрьской революции и полувекового юбилея комплекса. В 2013 году в ходе масштабной реконструкции к 70-летию освобождения Гомеля у Кургана Славы появился Вечный огонь.

г. Гомель

Мемориальный комплекс, посвященный операции "Багратион"

Мемориальный комплекс, посвященный операции "Багратион"К 70-летию освобождения Беларуси от немецко-фашистских захватчиков в Светлогорском районе был основан первый в мире мемориальный комплекс, посвященный одной из величайших военных операций в истории человечества. Именно здесь, у деревни Раковичи на 71-м километре шоссе Бобруйск – Мозырь, 23 июня 1944 года началось масштабное наступление советских войск, которое продлилось более двух месяцев. В результате oперации, получившей кодовое название в честь героя Отечественной войны 1812 года полководца Петра Багратиона, были освобождены Беларусь, частично территории Прибалтики и Польши, а главное, нанесен сокрушительный удар по  группе немецких армий "Центр", который окончательно ослабил Германию. …Первым объектом комплекса стал 7-метровый мемориал-барельеф, в центре которого – фигуры четырех полководцев, обеспечивших успех операции...

По плану, мемориальный комплекс объединит музей, посвященный первому этапу операции "Багратион", выставку боевой техники и вооружений, а также фрагменты исторических переправ.

Гомельская область, Светлогорский район, д. Раковичи
 

Мемориальный комплекс "Лоев"

Мемориальный комплекс "Лоев"

Мемориальный комплекс в Лоеве посвящен героям одного из крупнейших сражений Великой Отечественной войны – операции по форсированию Днепра в октябре 1943 года. Еще в 1966 году в центре городского поселка был установлен 18-метровый обелиск – уменьшенная копия монумента Победы в Минске. После реконструкции к 70-летию Великой Победы вся центральная площадь превратится в мемориальный ансамбль. На открытой экспозиционной площадке Музея битвы за Днепр по обе стороны от аллеи Славы установлены образцы участвующей в сражении военной техники. На мемориальных плитах увековечены сотни имен. За невероятное мужество в боях на Лоевском плацдарме 323 воина были удостоены звания Героя Советского Союза – уникальный факт в истории Великой Отечественной войны.

Гомельская область, г.п. Лоев

Мемориальный комплекс "Память"

Мемориальный комплекс "Память" в Добруше

Гомельская область, г. Добруш

Мемориальный ансамбль в честь воинов Белорусского пограничного округа

Мемориальный ансамбль в честь воинов Белорусского пограничного округа в Гродно

Мемориал, возведенный в 2004 году в центральной части Гродно, посвящен советским воинам, которые героически защищали рубежи страны с самых первых дней Великой Отечественной войны. На фоне пограничных столбов – символов 15 союзных республик – возвышается бронзовая скульптура трех воинов, которые, надежно закрывая границу своими телами и сжимая в руках оружие, проходят через огненные стены обороны. Лейтмотивом композиции стала надпись – "Погибшим, но не побежденным воинам-пограничникам Белорусского пограничного округа". Ансамбль дополняют гранитные плиты, символизирующие братские могилы тех мужественных солдат, которые 21 июня 1941 года первыми вступили в бой с врагом.

г. Гродно

Мемориальный комплекс "Шауличи"

Мемориальный комплекс "Шауличи"Мемориал "Шауличи" – еще один из крупнейших памятников Беларуси, посвященный трагедии "огненных деревень", стертых с лица Земли в годы Великой Отечественной войны. Во время карательной операции утром 7 июля 1943 года немцы расстреляли здесь 366 человек, в том числе 120 детей, и сожгли 77 домов. После этой кровавой расправы деревня Шауличи, которую называют "младшей сестрой Хатыни", не возродилась, а память о трагедии была увековечена в мемориальном комплексе. Рядом с братскими могилами убитых мирных жителей появились обелиск, скульптурная композиция "Воин и подпольщица", два скорбных креста… Во время реконструкции к 70-летию Великой Победы на месте сожженных домов установили 40 деревянных срубов-символов, гранитные плиты и памятные таблички с именами погибших. В сердце мемориала бронзовый колокол печальным звоном напоминает о сотнях загубленных жизней…

Гродненская область, Волковысский район

Мемориалы на месте лагерей смерти и гетто

Мемориальный комплекс "Тростенец"

Концепция мемориального комплекса "Тростенец"

Созданный фашистами кровавый лагерь "Тростенец" стал самым крупным на территории Советского Союза и четвертым в Европе после печально известных "Освенцима", "Майданека" и "Треблинки". По официальным данным, на "фабрике смерти" в окрестностях Минска погибли 206,5 тысячи человек, но есть свидетельства, что жертв было гораздо больше. "Тростенец" объединял несколько мест жестокой расправы: трудовой концлагерь у деревни Малый Тростенец, урочище Благовщина, где проводились массовые расстрелы, урочище Шашковка, где тела убитых жгли в огромной "яме-печи"… К 70-летию Великой Победы на территории бывшего лагеря смерти был основан грандиозный мемориальный комплекс – символ национальной и общечеловеческой памяти о жертвах нацизма.

В "Тростенце" фашисты уничтожали мирных жителей и военнопленных, узников Минского гетто, участников подполья и партизан, евреев, вывезенных из Польши, Австрии, Германии, Чехословакии и других европейских государств…

г. Минск

Мемориал "Яма", посвященный жертвам Холокоста

Мемориал "Яма" в МинскеМемориал "Яма" в Минске – трагическое напоминание о бесчеловечности нацистов, символ вечной боли и скорби. Во время Великой Отечественной войны в оккупированной белорусской столице было создано одно из крупнейших в Европе гетто для уничтожения евреев: к концу октября 1943-го здесь истребили более 100 тысяч человек. Среди многочисленных убийств и погромов в историю вошла кровавая бойня 2 марта 1942 года, когда фашисты расстреляли более 5 тысяч евреев, в том числе 200 сирот из детского дома вместе с воспитателями и медперсоналом… Тысячи тел людей, убитых в Минском гетто, сваливали в яму, где сейчас находится впечатляющий мемориал. В его центре – памятный обелиск из черного мрамора, установленный еще в 1947 году, а к вымощенной вручную глубокой яме ведёт лестница-композиция "Последний путь": 27 бронзовых фигур, словно безликие тени, спускаются, чтобы быть убитыми…

Около "Ямы" посажена аллея Праведников народов мира, где увековечены имена белорусов, которые под страхом смерти спасали людей еврейской национальности. Всего в годы войны на территории Беларуси существовало свыше 100 гетто, куда для ликвидации привозили евреев из Германии, Польши, Австрии и других стран…

г. Минск, ул. Мельникайте

Мемориальный комплекс "Детям – жертвам войны"

Мемориальный комплекс "Детям – жертвам войны" Гомельская область, Жлобинский район, д. Красный Берег

Мемориальный комплекс "Озаричи"

Мемориальный комплекс "Озаричи"

…Жестокий лагерь смерти просуществовал всего две недели, но за это время фашисты успели истребить не менее 20 тысяч человек. В марте 1944 года его создали по приказу Гитлера в окрестностях деревни Озаричи на Полесье, чтобы не только замучить пленных, но и ослабить наступающую Красную Армию. Сюда – в край болот – свозили больных сыпным тифом и другими инфекциями, которые могли быстро распространиться среди местных жителей и советских солдат. На территории Озаричской зоны смерти, объединявшей несколько мест, не было построек: женщин, детей и стариков держали под открытым небом, а подступы к лагерю были заминированы. Из этого ужаса освободители спасли свыше 30 тысяч пленников, среди которых больше половины – дети. В 1965 году был создан мемориал, объединяющий три белые стелы – символ Озаричских лагерей – на которых изображены узники и высечены имена.

В 2004 году открылся музей памяти жертв Озаричской зоны смерти, где собраны уникальные материалы: воспоминания и записи голосов очевидцев, документы, фотографии, переписка с бывшими узниками и освободителями…

Гомельская область, Калинковичский район

Мемориальный комплекс "Луполовский лагерь военнопленных"

Мемориальный комплекс "Луполовский лагерь военнопленных"

В августе 1941 года на окраине Могилева в предместье Луполово фашисты создали лагерь для советских военнопленных. Заключенных морили голодом, подвергали допросам и жестоким пыткам: ежедневно за колючей проволокой, через которую был пропущен электрический ток, умирали до 250 человек. Всего в лагере погибли около 80 тысяч военнопленных, и только имена 389 из них известны. Одним из узников был и генерал Михаил Романов – командир знаменитой 172-й стрелковой дивизии, героически оборонявшей город в июле 1941-го. В память о погибших на месте лагеря смерти в 1948 году появился первый памятник, а в 1984-м – в честь 40-летия освобождения Могилева –  был открыт мемориальный комплекс.

На месте Луполовского концлагеря находится также братская могила воинов 238-й и 369-й стрелковых дивизий 2-го Белорусского фронта, которые участвовали в освобождении Могилева в июне 1944 года.

г. Могилев

Военные музеи

Залы и экспозиции, посвященные Великой Отечественной войне, открыты во всех историко-краеведческих музеях Беларуси. Бесценные раритеты, военные хроники городов и деревень, трагедии сломленных жизней, рассказы о подвиге людей, вносивших свой вклад в долгожданную Победу – каждый район страны хранит память о тех страшных годах…

Редкие экспонаты встречаются и в школьных музеях, где на протяжении десятилетий послевоенные поколения собирают свидетельства лихолетья, воспоминания солдат, партизан и подпольщиков, узников лагерей и мирных жителей…

Путешествуя по Беларуси, вы можете не только посетить многочисленные местные экспозиции, но и увидеть поистине уникальные военные коллекции.

Главное хранилище раритетов – первый в мире музей истории Великой Отечественной войны, который был основан именно в Минске. К 70-летию освобождения Беларуси от немецко-фашистских захватчиков музей открылся в новом здании, стал интерактивным историческим комплексом. Сегодня белорусский музей – это еще и одно из крупнейших собраний планеты, посвященных событиям Второй мировой войны.

Также масштабные военные коллекции Беларуси представляют:

Беларусь и Китай: топ-50 кадров за четверть века
Памятники Великой Отечественной войны в Беларуси
В Беларусь без визы: на 5 дней для граждан 80 стран
Платные дороги в Беларуси