Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
3rd Minsk International Christmas Singing Competition
Travel

Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | Travel | Things to do | Ruzhany Castle

Ruzhany Castle

Ruzhany Castle
Ruzhany Castle

The palace complex in Ruzhany is one of the unique places in Belarus. For centuries this magnificent architectural ensemble, nicknamed the Belarusian Versailles, was owned by the mighty Sapieha dynasty.

History of Ruzhany Castle

Ruzhany. Drawing by Napoleon Orda, the 19th centuryThe first written record of Ruzhany (today’s Pruzhany District in Brest Oblast) dates back to the late 15th century. It is known that before 1552 it had belonged to the Tyshkevichs. Back then, Ruzhany was famous for its cloth, carpets, decorated belts and pottery. The town played host to big fairs.

In 1598 the Ruzhany estate was bought by Lew Sapieha, the famous magnate and politician, the chancellor and one of the authors of the unique code of laws, the Statute of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. He ordered a major construction of the estate in the early 17th century. A castle with three towers soon appeared in Ruzhany which combined the traits of a defensive fortress and a ceremonial palace.

Lew SapiehaIn the 17th century Ruzhany Castle was a hub of political life in the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. A lot of important issues of the state’s development were discussed here. The castle also hosted state receptions for kings and ambassadors.

One of the founders of the dynasty, Jan Sapieha, hosted King of the Rzeczpospolita Sigismund the Old. Other Kings, Sigismund III Vasa and Wladyslaw IV Vasa also visited this place.

The state treasury of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania, the arsenal, state documents, the archive of the Sapieha family, food supplies and casks with wine were kept in the huge two-storied cellars of the castle.

In H2 of the 17th century the castle was plundered and left in half-decay because of feuds between local Polish gentry and the Great Northern War.

A model of Ruzhany PalaceIn the 1770s Ruzhany’s owner Aleksander Sapieha rebuilt the residence. Thanks to Saxon architect Jan Samuel Becker the impregnable castle turned into an elegant palace which boasted gardens, parks and greenhouses.

Combining two architectural styles, baroque and classicism, the castle was equal in beauty to the famous Versailles. The restoration works finished in 1786.

Ruzhany in the early 20th centuryThe pride of Ruzhany Castle was its rich library, a picture gallery and one of the best theaters in Europe. Some 60 artists and 40 musicians played in its troupe, and many performances were staged in French. King Stanislaw August Poniatowski came here several times to watch the theater’s plays.

After the 1831 rebellion the Ruzhany residence was confiscated and the Sapieha family members had to move to another estate. A merchant leased the castle and set up a weaving factory here which was operational until the 20th century.

During the First World War the complex was ruined again but it was the Second World War which inflicted the worst damage on the castle. Only the main building and the eastern one, the entry gate and several outbuildings survived.

Ruzhany Palace today

Ruzhany Palace todayIn the summer of 2008 restoration and excavation works began at the site of this ancient residence of the Sapieha family.

To date, the reconstruction of the entrance and some outbuildings has been finished. Today Ruzhany Castle is partially open for tourists.

The museum Palace Complex of the Sapieha Family is open in the eastern outbuilding where one can see authentic items and elements of the interior. One of the halls is dedicated to the Sapieha dynasty, while the gallery hosts expositions of Belarusian artists.

Festival Ruzhanskaya BramaIn line with the state program Castles of Belarus designed to run in 2013-2018, there are plans to restore the Eastern, or the so-called Theater Building. Guest rooms, a restaurant and a horse riding arena may be opened here, too.

Since 2011 the yearly festival Ruzhanskaya Brama has been held in the castle. Its guests can get familiar with the history of the residence, enjoy excursions, historical re-enactments and artists’ performances and also visit a folk crafts fair.

How to get to Ruzhany and where to stay

RuzhanyRuzhany can be reached from Minsk by car. A great deal of the route will be covered by motorway M1 (part of the European route E30). Then leave this motorway to road P44 which leads to Ruzhany.

It is also possible to come to Ruzhany by bus (a four hours’ trip from Minsk) or by train (the Ivatsevichi direction).

There is one small hotel in Ruzhany but it will probably be more reasonable to come here for one day.

Sights near Ruzhany Palace

Apart from the palace there are other sights in Ruzhany which are worth visiting:

The Roman Catholic Church of the Holy Trinity

            • The Roman Catholic Church of the Holy Trinity built 400 years ago as an ancestral church of the Sapieha family
            • The Church of St. Peter and Paul, a monument of architecture of the 17th century
            • A Basilian monastery
            • A synagogue built in the Baroque style (18th century)
            • An 18th century tavern
            • The chapel of St. Casimir built in the 18th century

Another sight is the Ruzhany furniture factory built in 1944. Their specialty is the production of theater seats installed in many halls in Belarus and Russia.

An estate-turned-museum of Tadeusz Kosciuszko and Kossovo Castle will be interesting for tourists, too. The legend says that long ago there was an underground tunnel here which linked the castles of Ruzhany and Kossovo. It would take one hour to get from one castle to the other.

The Pruzhansky Palatsyk museumOne of the Belarusian health resorts Ruzhansky is situated in the forestland Ruzhanskaya Pushcha on the bank of the lake Papernya. 

The Pruzhansky Palatsyk museum is open in Pruzhany, too. This is Belarus’ only restored modern style 19th-century estate. The town operates the Ice Arena and a contemporary Water Palace with a water park.

5th All-Belarusian People’s Congress
Draft program for Belarus’ social and economic development for 2016-2020
Belarus parliament elections 2016
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Redenomination in Belarus: new money
Toll roads in Belarus

Официальный сайт Республики Беларусь
ХХI День белорусской письменности в Заславле
Туризм

Календарь событий в Беларуси     Август 2014

Новости партнеров


| Главная | Туризм | Что стоит посмотреть | Ружанский замок

Ружанский замок

Дворец Сапегов в Ружанах
Дворец Сапегов в Ружанах

Дворцовый комплекс в Ружанах – один из уникальных уголков Беларуси. На протяжении столетий красивейший архитектурный ансамбль, который называют белорусским Версалем, принадлежал могущественной династии Сапегов. 

История Ружанского замка

Ружаны, рисунок Наполеона Орды, XIX век.Местечко Ружаны (сегодня Пружанский район, Брестская область) впервые упоминается в письменных источниках в конце XV века. Известно, что до 1552 года оно принадлежало роду Тышкевичей. В те времена Ружаны славились производством сукна и ковров, художественных поясов, керамики. Здесь же проходили большие ярмарки.

В 1598 году имение Ружаны купил знаменитый магнат и политический деятель, канцлер, один из авторов уникального свода законов – Статута Великого княжества ЛитовскогоЛев Сапега. Именно по его приказу в начале XVII века здесь началось грандиозное строительство. В Ружанах появился замок с тремя башнями, сочетающий в себе черты оборонительной крепости и парадного дворца.

Лев СапегаВ XVII веке Ружанский замок был значимым центром политической жизни Великого княжества Литовского. Здесь решались многие государственные вопросы, проходили приемы послов и королей.

Один из родоначальников династии  Ян Сапега принимал в Ружанах короля Речи Посполитой Сигизмунда Старого. Бывали здесь король Жигимонт III Ваза, королевич Владислав (Владислав IV Ваза).

В огромных двухэтажных подвалах замка хранились государственная казна Великого княжества Литовского, арсенал, государственные документы и архив рода Сапегов, запасы продовольствия и бочки с вином.

Во второй половине XVII века дворец пережил не лучшие времена, был разграблен и полуразрушен. Причиной стали междоусобицы среди местной шляхты и Северная война.

Макет резиденции в РужанахВ 1770-е годы владелец Ружан канцлер Александр Сапега вновь отстроил резиденцию. Благодаря саксонскому архитектору Яну Самуэлю Беккеру неприступный замок превратился в утонченный дворец с садами, парками, оранжереями.

Сочетая сразу два архитектурных стиля – барокко и классицизм – по красоте он не уступал знаменитому Версалю. Восстановительные работы завершились в 1786 году.

Ружанский дворец в начале ХХ векаГордостью Ружанского дворца были богатейшие библиотека и картинная галерея, один из лучших в Европе театров. В его труппе играли 60 артистов и 40 музыкантов, а многие спектакли ставились на французском языке. Зрителем здесь не раз бывал король Станислав Август Понятовский.

После восстания 1831 года Ружанские владения были конфискованы, а Сапеги перебрались в другое имение. Купец-арендатор организовал в покоях дворца ткацкую фабрику, которая работала здесь до начала ХХ века.

В годы Первой мировой войны комплекс опять был разрушен, но наибольший урон дворцу нанесла Вторая мировая война. Сохранились главный и восточный корпуса, въездная брама и флигели.

Ружанский дворец сегодня

Ружанский дворец сегодняЛетом 2008 года в старинной резиденции Сапегов начались реставрационные работы и исторические раскопки.

К настоящему времени обновлены центральные въездные ворота – Брама, восстановлены боковые флигели. И сегодня Ружанский замок частично открыт для туристов.

В восточном флигеле работает музей "Дворцовый комплекс Сапегов", где можно увидеть аутентичные предметы и элементы интерьера. Один из залов посвящен династии Сапегов, в галерее проходят выставки белорусских художников.

Праздник "Ружанская брама"Согласно государственной программе "Замки Беларуси" в 2013-2018 годах будет проведена реставрация Восточного (Театрального) корпуса. В будущем в комплексе планируют открыть гостиничные номера, ресторан, конный манеж.

С 2011 года на территории дворца Сапегов проходит ежегодный праздник "Ружанская брама". Его гости могут познакомиться с прошлым резиденции, посетить экскурсии, увидеть исторические реконструкции и выступления артистов, побывать на ярмарке народных мастеров.

Как добраться и где остановиться

Из Минска в Ружаны можно добраться на автомобиле. Большая часть пути будет проходить по автомагистрали М1 (часть европейского маршрута E30). В Ивацевичах необходимо свернуть на трассу Р44, которая ведет в Ружаны.

Также можно приехать на автобусе (путь от Минска до Ружан займет около 4 часов) или поезде (до Ивацевич).

В городском поселке есть одна небольшая гостиница, но, возможно, удобнее приехать в Ружаны на день.

Достопримечательности вблизи Ружанского дворца

Помимо дворца, в Ружанах есть и другие места, заслуживающие внимания туристов:

Свято-Троицкий костел в Ружанах

            • Свято-Троицкий костел – построен 400 лет назад как родовой храм Сапегов
            • церковь Петра и Павла – памятник архитектуры XVII века
            • монастырь базилианов
            • барочная синагога XVIII века
            • корчма XVIII века
            • часовня Святого Казимира XVIII века

Еще одна достопримечательность городка – Ружанская мебельная фабрика, основанная в 1944 г. Один из ее знаменитых брендов – театральные кресла, которые установлены во многих залах Беларуси, России.

Недалеко от Ружан находятся Музей-усадьба Тадеуша Костюшко и Коссовский замок. Легенда рассказывает, что в давние времена существовал подземный ход, по которому за час можно было добраться из Ружанского дворца в Коссовский.

Музей "Пружанскі палацык"В лесном массиве "Ружанская пуща" на берегу живописного озера Паперня расположена одна из белорусских здравницсанаторий "Ружанский".

В районном центре Пружаны работает музей "Пружанскі палацык" – единственная в Беларуси восстановленная усадьба ХIХ века в стиле модерн. Также в городе открыты современные Водный дворец с аквапарком и Ледовая арена.

Your mail*:
Friend mail*:
Your message:
 
Фото Беларуси в Instagram
Первый Белорусско-американский инвестиционный форум
Сувениры из Беларуси
Белорусские санатории и курорты
Чемпионат мира по хоккею-2014 в Минске