Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Belarus’ Independence Day
About Belarus

Belarus Events Calendar
5th All-Belarusian People’s Congress
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
Belarus at the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro
| Home | About Belarus | Famous Belarusians | Marc Chagall

Marc Chagall


Marc Chagall is one of the most famous natives of Belarus. A talented artist, a brilliant representative of the 20th century avant-garde, he conquered the world with his unique style and special outlook on life.

Marc Chagall’s Bio

Marc Chagall was born in Vitebsk, 6 July 1887, in a family of small merchant Khatskl (Zakhar) Chagall and became the eldest of nine children. Years later he always celebrated his birthday on 7 July.

On turning 19, with the blessing of his mother Feige-Ite, Marc enrolled in the school of famous Vitebsk artist Yehuda Pen who recognized his talent and invited the young man to study free of charge. A few months later, the artist went to St. Petersburg to study.

For several years the young Chagall attended the Drawing School of the Society for the Encouragement of the Arts (then directed by Nicholas Roerich), later the Zvantseva School of Drawing and Painting where his mentors were the famous Leon Bakst and Mstislav Dobuzhinsky.

In 1910 Chagall continued his studies in Paris: he attended classes at the free academies of fine arts, attended all kinds of exhibitions and galleries, learned about the new styles in art: Cubism, Futurism, orphism… and developed his own unique style.

In June 1914 Berlin hosted Marc Chagall’s first exhibition which brought together almost all paintings and drawings written in Paris. It was a success and Chagall became famous.

Before the First World War in 1914 Marc Chagall returned to his native Vitebsk and on 25 July 1915 celebrated a wedding with Bella Rosenfeld, a woman who became his greatest love and inspiration for life.

After the revolution in 1917 Marc Chagall was appointed Commissioner for Art in Vitebsk Province. He founded a people's art school. The school teachers included Mstislav Dobuzhinsky, Ivan Puni, Ksenia Boguslavskaya, Vera Ermolaeva, El Lissitzky, Kazimir Malevich.

During this period he painted his famous Over The Town, The Wedding, The Promendae. The work in the school became a disappointment for Chagall due to creative differences with his colleagues.

In 1920, the artist went to Moscow where he designed costumes and decorations for the Jewish Chamber Theater. Later he again moved to Berlin and Paris where he reunited with his old friends and made new ones: Pablo Picasso, Henri Matisse, and Pierre Bonnard…

At the start of the Second World War Marc Chagall and his family moved to the United States. He was planning to go back to France in a short while but his wife Bella died suddenly in 1944. After a long hiatus he painted pictures The Wedding Candles and Around Her to commemorate his love.

Marc Chagall returned to Europe in 1948. In the post-war years his artwork turned biblical. Many etchings to French Bible publications, paintings, engravings, stained glass and espaliers made up the artist’s Biblical Message to the world, for which he opened a museum in Nice in 1973. The French government recognized this collection as an official national museum.

In 1953 the artist met Valentina Brodskaya, his second wife.

In 1977 Marc Chagall received the French Grand Cross of the Legion of Honor. An intravitam exhibition of his works was organized in Louvre to mark the 90th birthday of the artist. Contrary to all the rules, the paintings of the living master were displayed in this famous museum.    

Marc Chagall died in 1985 in the city of Saint-Paul-de-Vence, south-east of France.

Marc Chagall: Paintings and Art Heritage

Marc Chagall’s artworks impress with their diversity and do not lend themselves to strict classification. The author’s style, blending expression and unconventional artistic manner, was influenced by cubism, fauvism, and orphism. One can see the artist’s worldview and religious commitment in his works.

Among Chagall’s most famous paintings is I and the Village, Dedicated to My Fiance, Homage to Apollinaire, Golgotha, Paris Through the Window, Birthday, Over the Town, The Blue House, The Promenade, Loneliness, White Crucifixion, Wedding Candles, Exodus, Bridges over the Seine, War…

True to his style, Marc Chagall experimented with various techniques and genres throughout his life. His creative heritage includes book illustrations, graphics, scenography, mosaics, stained glass, espaliers, sculpture and ceramics…

Book illustration became one of the most fruitful areas of work for Marc Chagall. Many well-known writers such as Andre Breton, Andre Malraux, Blaise Cendrars and Guillaume Apollinaire considered him an embodiment of a literary painter that turned poetic lines into fantastic images.

Original works by Marc Chagall decorate the world’s biggest theaters. In 1964, the artist painted the ceiling of the Paris Opera House, Palais Garnier. In 1966 he created murals “The Triumph of Music” and “The Sources of Music” for the Metropolitan Opera in New York.

Marc Chagall was one of the first artists to use easel painting for creating theater sets. In the 1940-1950s, he jointly with Leon Bakst designed the sets for the legendary Sergei Diaghilev's Russian Seasons, the ballets Aleko, The Firebird, Daphnis et Chloe…  

In the early 1960s, the world-famous artist took an interest in monumental art and interior design. Marc Chagall designed mosaics and tapestries for the parliament building in Jerusalem, the stained-glass windows for a synagogue and the Hadassah Medical Center. After that he received numerous orders to decorate Roman Catholic and Lutheran churches as well as synagogues all over Europe, America and Israel.

The artist also left his imprint in literature. His poems, essays, and memoirs were published in the Jewish language and translated into Hebrew, Russian, Belarusian, English, and French during his lifetime. Marc Chagall’s autobiography My Life earned the world's recognition.   

Films and Theatrical Productions About Marc Chagall   

The film Chagall - Malevich directed by Alexander Mitta was premiered in 2014. It depicts the relationship between two artistic geniuses who lived and worked in the Belarusian city of Vitebsk in the 1918-1920s.

The national film studio Belarusfilm is working on an animated film about Marc Chagall based on his autobiography My Life. The film will show the main events of the artist’s life during the Vitebsk period and tell his thoughts, feelings, and vision of the world with the help of paintings.

The city of Vitebsk celebrated the 100th anniversary of the wedding of Marc Chagall and Bella Rosenfeld with a cultural project “Wedding Extravaganza – Lovers Over the Town”. A symbolic Jewish wedding ceremony was conducted near the House of Marc Chagall in summer 2015.

The production Chagall…Chagall… which won the main prize at the international festival in Edinburgh in 2000 returned to the stage of the Yakub Kolas National Academic Drama Theater in Vitebsk.

Exhibitions in Belarus

The first exhibition of paintings by Marc Chagall was held in Belarus in 1997 on the initiative of the artist’s granddaughters Bella Meyer and Meret Meyer Graber who came up with the idea to celebrate the anniversaries of Marc Chagall's birth with new interesting projects every year.

In 1997-2005 Belarus hosted exhibitions dedicated to different periods of art work of the artist: “Marc Chagall. Works of the Mediterranean Period”, “Marc Chagall. Dedicated to Paris”, “Marc Chagall. Landscape Art”, “Marc Chagall and the Stage”, “Marc Chagall. Color in the Black and White”.

In 2012-2013 the National Art Museum of Belarus hosted the exhibition “Marc Chagall: Life and Love” from the collections of the Israel Museum in Jerusalem.

As part of the international project Marc Chagall’s works connected with the world literature, namely drawings, illustrations to the pastoral novel Daphnis and Chloe, Nikolai Gogol’s novel Dead Souls, Jean de La Fontaine’s Fables, the artist’s autobiography My Life and the books of his muse Bella Rosenfeld The Burning Lights, First Encounter and My Notebooks, were brought to Belarus.

Marc Chagall’s Family

The only daughter of Marc Chagall and Bella Rosenfeld, Ida, was a guarding angel for her father. She was even depicted as an angel in his paintings.

After the demise of Bella Rosenfeld, it was Ida who helped Marc Chagall publish Bella’s books First Encounter and The Burning Lights. She was the author of the first French translations of these books.

Ida wrote the biography and books about the Marc Chagall’s art, organized his exhibitions and was the most sincere friend of her father.

Ida and her husband Franz Meyer have three children Piet, Meret and Bella.

David McNeil, an illegitimate son of Marc Chagall and Virginia Haggard McNeil, is a musician and writer.

Interesting Facts

In 2015 the first chocolate replica of Marc Chagall’s painting The Lovers was created at the Museum of Chocolate in Vitebsk on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of Marc Chagall’s wedding.

The logo of the international festival Slavonic Bazaar in Vitebsk includes a famous cornflower drawn by Marc Chagall. It has turned into a popular brand, a symbol of the artist’s native city and the entire country.

Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Souvenirs from Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts

Официальный сайт Республики Беларусь
III Минский международный Рождественский конкурс вокалистов
О Беларуси

Календарь событий в Беларуси
Достопримечательности Беларуси
Всемирное наследие ЮНЕСКО в Беларуси
Белорусские санатории и курорты
Сувениры из Беларуси

| Главная | О Беларуси | Известные белорусы | Марк Шагал

Марк Шагал


Марк Шагал – один из самых знаменитых уроженцев Беларуси, талантливый живописец и график, яркий представитель художественного авангарда ХХ века, покоривший мир своим неповторимым стилем и особенным взглядом на жизнь…

Биография Марка Шагала

Марк Шагал родился в Витебске 6 июля 1887 года в семье мелкого торговца Хацкеля (Захара) Шагала и стал старшим из девяти детей. Спустя годы сам мастер всегда отмечал свой день рождения 7 июля.

В 19 лет по благословению матери Фейги-Иты Марк поступил в школу известного витебского живописца Юделя Пэна, который разглядел яркий талант и предложил юноше заниматься бесплатно. А спустя несколько месяцев будущий художник уехал учиться в Санкт-Петербург.

Несколько лет молодой Шагал занимался в Рисовальной школе Общества поощрения художеств под руководством Николая Рериха, затем –  в частной школе Елены Званцевой, где его наставниками были знаменитые Леон Бакст и Мстислав Добужинский.

В 1910 году Шагал продолжил обучение в Париже: посещал классы в свободных академиях художеств, осматривал всевозможные выставки и галереи, осваивал новые направления в искусстве – кубизм, футуризм, орфизм… И при этом создавал свой собственный, не похожий на других стиль.

В июне 1914 года в Берлине состоялась первая выставка Марка Шагала, которая объединила почти все написанные в Париже картины и рисунки. После ее успеха о Шагале узнали многие.

На пороге Первой мировой войны в 1914 году Марк Шагал вернулся в родной Витебск, а 25 июля 1915-го здесь состоялась свадьба с Беллой Розенфельд – женщиной, ставшей его величайшей любовью и вдохновением на всю жизнь.

После революции Марк Шагал в 1917 году был назначен комиссаром по искусству в Витебской губернии. В любимом городе он основал Народное художественное училище, где преподавали Мстислав Добужинский, Иван Пуни, Ксения Богуславская, Вера Ермолаева, Эль Лисицкий, Казимир Малевич.

В этот период на родине были написаны знаменитые полотна "Над городом", "Венчание", "Прогулка"… И все же работа в училище стала для Шагала разочарованием из-за творческих разногласий с коллегами.

В 1920 году художник уехал в Москву, где занимался оформлением костюмов и декораций в Еврейском камерном театре. Потом в его жизни опять были Берлин и Париж, где Шагал сошелся со старыми друзьями и приобрел новых – Пабло Пикассо, Анри Матисса, Пьера Боннара…

В начале Второй мировой войны Марк Шагал с семьей переехал в США и вскоре собирался вернуться во Францию, но в 1944 году внезапно умерла Белла. После долгого перерыва в память о возлюбленной он написал картины "Свадебные огни" и "Рядом с ней".

В Европу Шагал вернулся в 1948 г. В послевоенное время его творчество сопровождала библейская тема. Множество офортов к изданию французской Библии, картины, гравюры, витражи и шпалеры составили "Библейское послание" художника миру, специально для которого в 1973 году в Ницце он открыл музей. Правительство Франции признало это собрание официальным национальным музеем.

В 1952 году художник познакомился с Валентиной Бродской, которая стала его второй женой.

В 1977 году Шагал удостоен высшей награды Франции – ордена Почетного легиона, а в честь 90-летия мастера в Лувре состоялась крупнейшая прижизненная выставка его работ. Вопреки всем правилам, в знаменитой сокровищнице были выставлены картины здравствующего автора.

Марк Шагал умер в 1985 году в городе Сен-Поль-де-Вансе на юго-востоке Франции.

Марк Шагал: картины и многогранное творческое наследие

Искусство Марка Шагала поражает разнообразием и не поддается строгой классификации. Авторский стиль, сочетающий экспрессию и нетрадиционную художественную манеру, формировался под влиянием кубизма, фовизма, орфизма. В полотнах мастера проявились его особое мировоззрение и религиозные взгляды.

Среди самых известных картин Шагала – "Я и деревня", "Посвящение моей невесте", "Памяти Аполлинера", "Голгофа", "Вид Парижа из окна", "День рождения", "Над городом", "Синий домик", "Прогулка", "Одиночество", "Белое распятие", "Свадебные огни", "Исход", "Мосты через Сену", "Война"…
 
Оставаясь верным своему стилю, Марк Шагал всю жизнь продолжал экспериментировать в разных техниках и жанрах. В его творческом наследии – книжные иллюстрации, графика, сценография, мозаики, витражи, шпалеры, скульптура, керамика…

Одним из самых плодотворных направлений для Шагала оказалась книжная иллюстрация. Для знаменитых писателей Андре Бретона, Андре Мальро, Блеза Сандрара и Гийома Аполлинера он стал воплощением литературного художника, который облекает поэтические строки в фантастические образы.

Оригинальные произведения Марка Шагала украшают крупнейшие театры мира. В 1964 году художник расписал плафон для зрительного зала парижской Оперы Гарнье, а в 1966-м создал панно "Триумф музыки" и "Источники музыки" для нью-йоркской "Метрополитен-опера"

Шагал одним из первых начал использовать станковую живопись в оформлении театральных декораций. В 1940-50-х годах он вместе с Леоном Бакстом работал над постановками из легендарных "Русских сезонов" Сергея Дягилева, балетами "Алеко", "Жар-птица", "Дафнис и Хлоя"…

В начале 1960-х годов уже известный всему миру живописец увлекся монументальным искусством и оформлением интерьеров. В Иерусалиме он создал мозаики и шпалеры для здания парламента, витражи для синагоги медицинского центра "Хадасса", позже – украсил множество католических и лютеранских храмов, синагог по всей Европе, Америке и Израилю.

Талантливый живописец оставил след и в литературе: поэзия, эссе и мемуары на идише ещё при жизни были опубликованы и переведены на иврит, русский, белорусский, английский и французский языки. Всемирную славу завоевала автобиографическая книга Марка Шагала "Моя жизнь".

Фильмы и театральные постановки о Марке Шагале

Фильм режиссёра Александра Митты "Шагал – Малевич", премьера которого состоялась в 2014 году, рассказывает о жизни и взаимоотношениях двух всемирных гениев, которые жили и творили в белорусском Витебске в 1918-20-х годах.

В настоящее время киностудия "Беларусьфильм" снимает анимационный фильм о Шагале на основе его книги "Моя жизнь". Лента, в которой мысли, чувства и мироощущение художника переданы с помощью его картин, расскажет о важнейших событиях из витебского периода.

Летом 2015 года в родном городе Шагала Витебске в честь 100-летия свадьбы с Беллой Розенфельд состоялась театрализованная "Свадебная феерия "Влюбленные над городом", а возле дома-музея прошла символичная церемония иудейского бракосочетания.

На сцену Национального академического драматического театра имени Якуба Коласа в Витебске вернулся спектакль "Шагал… Шагал…", который в 2000 году завоевал главную награду международного фестиваля в Эдинбурге.

Выставки Марка Шагала в Беларуси

Первая выставка произведений Марка Шагала состоялась в 1997 году по инициативе его внучек Беллы Мейер и Мерет Мейер-Грабер, которые предложили каждый год отмечать день рождения художника новыми интересными проектами.

В 1997–2005 годах в стране прошли выставки, посвященные разным периодам творчества мастера: "Марк Шагал. Работы средиземноморского периода", "Марк Шагал. Посвящение Парижу", "Марк Шагал. Пейзажи", "Марк Шагал и сцена", "Марк Шагал. Цвет в чёрно-белом".

В 2012–2013 годах в Национальном художественном музее Беларуси состоялась выставка "Марк Шагал: жизнь и любовь" из коллекции Музея Израиля в Иерусалиме.

Международный проект позволил увидеть работы художника, связанные с мировой литературой: графика, иллюстрации к пасторальному роману "Дафнис и Хлоя", поэме Гоголя "Мертвые души", "Басням" Лафонтена, а также автобиографии "Моя жизнь" и книгам его музы Беллы Розенфельд "Горящие огни", "Первая встреча" и "Мои тетради". 

Семья Марка Шагала

Единственная дочь Марка Шагала и его первой жены Беллы Розенфельд – Ида – на протяжении всей жизни была ангелом-хранителем для отца, который и запечатлевал ее в образе ангела на своих полотнах.

После смерти жены именно Ида возвратила Шагала к творчеству и помогла в издании книг Беллы "Первая встреча" и "Горящие огни". Ей же принадлежит авторство первых переводов произведений на французский язык.

Дочь стала биографом и исследователем творчества Шагала, организатором его выставок и самым искренним помощником.

Родословную Мастера продолжили трое детей Иды и ее мужа Франца Мейера – внуки Марка Шагала Пит, Мерет и Белла.

Долгое время в тени оставался внебрачный сын Шагала и Вирджинии Хаггард-Макнил – музыкант и писатель Дэвид Макнил.

Интересные факты

В 2015 году в Музее шоколада в Витебске была создана первая шоколадная копия картины "Влюбленные", посвященная 100-летию свадьбы Марка Шагала.

В основе логотипа международного фестиваля "Славянский базар в Витебске" – знаменитый шагаловский василёк, который со временем стал узнаваемым брендом, символом не только родного города художника, но и всей страны.

V Всебелорусское народное собрание
Программа социально-экономического развития Республики Беларусь на 2016 — 2020 годы (ПРОЕКТ)
Парламентские выборы 2016 года в Беларуси
Памятники Великой Отечественной войны в Беларуси
Деноминация в Беларуси: новые деньги
Платные дороги в Беларуси