Visiting Belarus without a visa: 5 days for citizens of 80 countries
Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Year of Science in Belarus
About Belarus

Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | About Belarus | Culture | Slutsk Belts

Slutsk Belts


The famous Slutsk belts are among Belarus’ national treasures, a fine example of decorative and applied art. They have become not only a historic and cultural symbol but also a modern brand of Belarus.

Slutsk BeltsOnly noblemen could afford wearing these exceptionally beautiful, symbolic and expensive belts. They were woven in Belarus since the 18th century. Amazing events and family secrets, mysterious and sometimes mystical stories are connected with them.

Today the original Slutsk belts are a rarity: Belarus has very few of these belts. A large part of them is kept in museum and private collections around the world.

However, Belarus has revived the unique traditions of making the Slutsk belts. Modern artists make their exact copies, analogues and artistic stylized designs, which can make an exclusive souvenir from Belarus.

Slutsk Belts: History of the National Symbol

Long, wide belts with beautiful patterns and complex weave-work from precious yarns became popular in the Belarusian lands in the 16th and 17th centuries. Their popularity was helped by the legends about the origin of the nobility of the Rzeczpospolita from the ancient bellicose tribes of the Sarmatians.

Slutsk BeltsThe belt in the attire of a noble man symbolized the belonging to the elite, the centuries-old family traditions and, of course, wealth. Expensive belts for the gentry were brought from Oriental countries. The unique artistic phenomenon "Slutsk belt" took shape in the Belarusian lands the 18th century.

Belarusian weavers created their unique patterns and symbolic motifs, and devised their exclusive technology. The Slutsk Manufactory of the Radziwills, the richest and influential dynasty of Europe, became world famous.

The first belt-making manufactory was set up in Nesvizh, but in the 1750s Michal Kazimierz "Rybenko" Radziwill ordered to move it to Slutsk which was long famous for its skilful weavers.

The Radziwills invited the well-known master Jan Madjarski of Armenian descent who had worked in Istanbul, and Stanislawow. In 1777-1807, the manufactory was run by his son Leon.

In its heyday the Slutsk manufactory employed up to 55 weavers (only men!), 55 apprentices and spinners. Using 20-25 machines the manufactory annually produced around 200 belts of fine work.

Very soon other factories started to copy the Slutsk belts: in Belarusian Grodno, Slonim, Ruzhany, Postavy, Korelichi, Shklov, Polish Kobylka, Lipkowie, Krakow, Gdansk, French Lyon, and in Austria...

However, despite the sign "I was made in Slutsk", they were not genuine Slutsk belts. The production of authentic belts at the Radziwill’s manufactory continued into the mid 19th century.

It is believed that nearly 1,000 Slutsk belts have survived till the present day. Almost all of them are kept outside Belarus: in the museum collections of Poland (Warsaw, Krakow, Poznan, Gdansk), Ukraine (Kyiv, Lviv), Russia (Moscow, Saint Petersburg), Lithuania (Vilnius, Kaunas), in private collections.

Belarusian museums have 11 Slutsk belts of different years of manufacture and in different conditions, as well as numerous fragments.

Slutsk Belts: Features and Secrets

Slutsk BeltA classical Slutsk belt is a luxurious sash, 3.5-4m long and 35-40cm wide, which was worn folded or rolled up above the outer garment of the nobility (kuntush).

This classy accessory could be one-, two-, three- and four-facial. Each side was used depending on the colors of the outfit and the situation. For instance, the belt was put on with its golden, red side out on a holiday; the black side was used in mourning; green and grey parts were worn in everyday life.

The Slutsk belt can be divided into three parts: two rectangular endings ("heads") and the main part ("medium").

The "heads" contained floral patterns, intertangled stems with leaves, tree branches, medallions of different form. The main part consisted of lateral sole-colored or ornamented stripes. The belt sometimes had a fish scale or spotted patterns.

The belt had a narrow trimming with a floral ornament. The endings of the belt also had an ornamented stripe and strings.

The Slutsk belt was made of natural silk threads – ordinary threads and threads wrapped into a superfine golden and silver wire. Such a precious accessory was called "cast". The belt acquired unusual smoothness and magnificent glitter after it went through a special roller.

Slutsk masters put special marks on every belt they made. During the times of Rzeczpospolita these marks were in Latin. Later they were made in the Cyrillic alphabet: "SLUCK", "SLUCIAE", "SLUCIAE FECIT", "MEFECIT SLUCIAE" (I was made in Slutsk), "ВЪ ГРАДЪ СЛУЦКЪ"…

Modern Slutsk Belts

Modern Slutsk BeltsThe Belarusian President adopted the Slutsk Belts Program for 2012-2015, which is aimed at reviving the Slutsk belts manufacturing technologies and promoting Slutsk belts souvenirs.

The program provides for the study of the history of Slutsk belts and their artistic qualities, the technologies that the Slutsk manufactory used for the production of authentic masterpieces, and the restoration of the belts under the modern conditions…

In 2012-2013 one of the largest Belarusian arts and crafts enterprises Slutsk Belts in the ancient city of Slutsk started to produce copies, replicas of Slutsk belts and souvenirs (panel paintings, accessories for books, telephones, and keys).

The first belt, a complete copy of the original historical masterpiece, was presented to Belarusian President  Alexander Lukashenko The enterprise studied the secrets of the weavers, qualities of the belts and the materials used for their production in the 18th century and recreated the unique technology.

The first Slutsk belt – the exact copy of the original masterpiece – was presented to Alexander Lukashenko, and now it is kept at the Palace of Independence.

Today Slutsk weavers use natural silk, gold and silver threads, metallic embroidery threads, and metallic polyester threads. The belts have no analogues in the world.

The Slutsk Belts enterprise runs a unique museum where visitors can see modern belts, learn about the production process, and purchase souvenirs.

Slutsk manufactures a number of other traditional Belarusian products. For example, professional crafters weave beautiful tablecloths, napkins, Belarusian rushniks (towels) using hand-operated wooden looms.

Interesting Facts about Slutsk Belts

The famous Belarusian poem "Slutsk Women Weavers" by Maxim Bogdanovich is about bondmaids who weaved “the native cornflower bloom” instead of the Persian pattern. However, the story is nothing but a fiction, since only men, well-paid experienced professionals, had the right to weave the belts.

The founder of the famous Belarusian vocal and instrumental ensemble Pesniary, composer and singer Vladimir Mulyavin used the poem to create one of the most popular songs of the repertoire of the band.

Listen to the song

The portrait of Wojciech PuslowskiThe authentic Slutsk belt could contain up to 200 grams of gold: in the old times such an expensive accessory cost as much as a couple of thoroughbred horses or a small estate.

In 1939 the unique collection of Slutsk belts from the Nesvizh Palace was transferred to the State Art Gallery of Belarus. But at the beginning of the war all the masterpieces created by special order of the Radziwill family disappeared.

A nobleman wearing a Slutsk belt is depicted in the portrait of Wojciech Puslowski, the owner of the Kosava Castle. The painting was created by the talented artist Walenty Wankowicz.

The Slutsk belts patterns were used in the design of the lamp posts along the famous Independence Avenue of Minsk. The lamp posts were designed by the pre-war Director of the State Art Gallery Nikolai Mikholap.

Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Visiting Belarus without a visa: 5 days for citizens of 80 countries
Toll roads in Belarus

Слуцкие пояса - национальное достояние Беларуси | Belarus.by
В Беларусь без визы: на 5 дней для граждан 80 стран
Официальный сайт Республики Беларусь
Год науки в Беларуси
О Беларуси

Календарь событий в Беларуси
Достопримечательности Беларуси
500 лет истории белорусского книгопечатания
Всемирное наследие ЮНЕСКО в Беларуси
Белорусские санатории и курорты
Сувениры из Беларуси

| Главная | О Беларуси | Культура | Слуцкие пояса

Слуцкие пояса


Знаменитые слуцкие пояса – одна из национальных реликвий белорусов, прекрасный образец декоративно-прикладного искусства, ставший не только историческим культурным символом, но и современным брендом Беларуси.

Слуцкие поясаНеобычайно красивый, символичный и дорогой предмет мужского гардероба, доступный только выходцам из высших сословий – слуцкие поясаткали в Беларуси еще в XVIII веке. С ними связаны удивительные события и семейные тайны, загадочные и порой мистические истории.

Сегодня старинные слуцкие пояса – раритет: в Беларуси хранятся единичные экземпляры и фрагменты, а большая часть произведений национального декоративно-прикладного искусства находится в музейных и частных коллекциях мира.

Тем не менее, в нашей стране возрождены уникальные традиции изготовления слуцких поясов. Современные мастера делают их точные копии, аналоги и художественные стилизации, которые могут стать эксклюзивным сувениром из Беларуси.

Слуцкие пояса: история национального символа

Длинные широкие пояса с красивым рисунком и сложным плетением из драгоценных нитей получили распространение на белорусских землях еще в XVI–XVII веках, чему способствовали предания о происхождении аристократии Речи Посполитой от древних воинственных племен сарматов.

Слуцкие поясаВ наряде магнатов пояс был символом принадлежности к элите, многовековых семейных традиций и, конечно, богатства. Дорогие пояса для шляхты привозили из восточных стран, но в ХVIII веке на белорусских землях сформировалось уникальное художественное явление – "слуцкий пояс".

Белорусские ткачи создали свои неповторимые узоры и символичные мотивы, эксклюзивную технологию. Мировую известность приобрели пояса Слуцкой персиарни – мануфактуры богатейшей и влиятельной династии Европы Радзивиллов.

Первая персиарня возникла в Несвиже, но по распоряжению Михаила Казимира Радзивилла Рыбаньки в 1750-е годы ее перенесли в Слуцк, который издавна славился искусными ткачами.

Для руководства был приглашен известный мастер Ян Маджарский (Аванес Маджарянц армянского происхождения, работавший в Стамбуле, Станиславе). В 1777-1807 годах мануфактурой руководил его сын Леон.

Во времена расцвета в Слуцке работало до 55 ткачей (только мужчины!), столько же подмастерьев и прядильщиц. На 20-25 станках ежегодно выпускали около 200 поясов тончайшей работы.

Экспозиция в музее истории слуцких поясовОчень скоро слуцкие пояса стали копировать на других мануфактурах: в белорусских Гродно, Слониме, Ружанах, Поставах, Кореличах, Шклове, польских Кобылках, Липкове, Кракове, Гданьске, французском Лионе, в Австрии…

Но даже несмотря на знак "Меня сделал Слуцк", это не были настоящие слуцкие пояса. Производство оригиналов на самой мануфактуре Радзивиллов продолжалось до середины ХІХ века.

Полагают, что сегодня в мире сохранилось около тысячи слуцких поясов. И почти все они находятся за пределами Беларуси: в музейных собраниях Польши (Варшава, Краков, Познань, Гданьск), Украины (Киев, Львов), России (Москва, Санкт-Петербург), Литвы (Вильнюс, Каунас), в частных коллекциях.

Белорусские музеи хранят 11 слуцких поясов разных лет изготовления и разного состояния, а также многочисленные фрагменты.

Слуцкий пояс: особенности и секреты

Слуцкий поясКлассический слуцкий пояс – это роскошная длинная (до 3,5-4 м) ткань шириной 35-40 см, которую, складывая вдвое или скручивая, повязывали поверх шляхетского костюма (кунтуша).

Шикарный аксессуар мог быть одно-, двух-, трех-, четырехлицевым. Каждая из сторон использовалась в зависимости от колорита наряда и ситуации. Например, на праздник пояс повязывали наружу золотой, красной частью; в траур использовалась черная сторона; в повседневной жизни – зеленая и серая.

По композиции слуцкий пояс разделен на три части: два прямоугольных завершения ("головы") и основная часть ("середник").

На "головах" ткали узоры цветов, переплетенных стеблей с листьями, веток дерева, медальоны разнообразной формы. Основная часть состояла из поперечных однотонных полос или полос с орнаментом. Иногда здесь появлялся "лусковой" (похожий на рыбью чешую) рисунок или узор "в горошек".

Вдоль сторон пояса – узкий бордюр с растительным орнаментом. Концы также завершает полоса с орнаментом и кисти.

Слуцкий пояс ткали из натуральных шелковых нитей: обычных и обкрученных тончайшей золотой или серебряной проволокой. Такой драгоценный аксессуар назывался "литым", ведь после прокатывания чуть шершавого пояса через специальный вал появлялись необычайная гладкость и роскошный блеск.

На каждом поясе слуцкие мастера ставили особые метки: во времена Речи Посполитой – на латинице, позже на кириллице: "SLUCK", "SLUCIAE", "SLUCIAE FECIT", "MEFECIT SLUCIAE" ("Меня сделал Слуцк"), "ВЪ ГРАДЪ СЛУЦКЪ"…

Современные слуцкие пояса

Современные слуцкие поясаПо поручению Президента в Беларуси была утверждена Государственная программа возрождения технологий и традиций производства Слуцких поясов и развития производства национальной сувенирной продукции "Слуцкие пояса" на 2012-2015 годы.

Она предполагает исследование истории, художественных особенностей слуцких поясов, изучение технологии производства аутентичных шедевров на Слуцкой мануфактуре, возрождение их в современных условиях…

И в 2012-2013 гг. в старинном городе Слуцке, на одном из крупнейших предприятий художественных промыслов Беларуси "Слуцкие пояса", было организовано производство копий, аналогов слуцких поясов, сувениров с их мотивами (художественные панно, аксессуары для книг, телефонов, ключей).

Первый пояс – полная копия исторического шедевра – вручен ПрезидентуИзучив секреты ткачей, художественные особенности поясов и материалы, из которых они изготавливались в ХVIII веке, на предприятии воссоздали уникальную технологию.

Первый слуцкий пояс – полная копия оригинального исторического шедевра – вручен Александру Лукашенко и хранится во Дворце Независимости.

При создании копий современные слуцкие ткачи используют натуральный шелк, нити с содержанием золота и серебра, нить "изамет" и полиэстер металлик. Аналогов этим изделиям в мире нет.

На предприятии "Слуцкие пояса" работает уникальный музей, где можно увидеть современные пояса, понаблюдать, как ткачи создают эти шедевры, приобрести сувениры.

Ведь кроме поясов, в Слуцке делают и другие оригинальные изделия в белорусских традициях. Например, на ручных деревянных станках здесь ткут красивые скатерти, салфетки, белорусские рушники.

Интересные факты о слуцких поясах

Знаменитое стихотворение "Слуцкие ткачихи" классика белорусской литературы Максима Богдановича рассказывает о крепостных девушках, которые вместо персидского узора ткали "цвяток радзімы васілька". Однако лирическая история – художественный вымысел, ведь ткать пояса имели право только мужчины – искусные мастера, труд которых хорошо оплачивался.

Создатель знаменитого белорусского ансамбля "Песняры", композитор и исполнитель Владимир Мулявин написал песню на слова Максима Богдановича, ставшую одной из самых популярных в репертуаре "Песняров".

Портрет Войцеха ПусловскогоНастоящий слуцкий пояс мог содержать до 200 грамм золота: за один такой дорогой аксессуар в давние времена можно было купить несколько породистых лошадей или даже небольшое имение.
 
В 1939 г. уникальная коллекция слуцких поясов из Несвижского замка была передана в Государственную картинную галерею Беларуси. Но в начале войны эти шедевры, созданные по специальному заказу Радзивиллов, исчезли.
 
Увидеть шляхтича в слуцком поясе можно на портрете Войцеха Пусловского, который был владельцем дворца в Коссово. Автор картины – талантливый художник Валентий Ванькович.
 
Мотивы слуцкого пояса запечатлены на фонарных столбах вдоль знаменитого проспекта Независимости в Минске. Они созданы по проекту довоенного директора Государственной картинной галереи Николая Михолапа.
МИНСК и МИНЧАНЕ: спецпроект БЕЛТА
Беларусь и Китай: топ-50 кадров за четверть века
Памятники Великой Отечественной войны в Беларуси
В Беларусь без визы: на 5 дней для граждан 80 стран
Платные дороги в Беларуси