Visiting Belarus without a visa: 5 days for citizens of 80 countries
Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Year of Science in Belarus
About Belarus

Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
500 Years of Belarusian Book Printing
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | About Belarus | Famous Belarusians | Francysk Skaryna

Francysk Skaryna

Francysk Skaryna
Francysk Skaryna

Eminent philosopher, enlightener, humanist, writer, and Renaissance scholar from the ancient Belarusian city of Polotsk, Francysk Skaryna left his footprint in the history as the “father” of Eastern European book printing. He was the first to print the Bible in the Old Belarusian language in 1517.

Francysk Skaryna, “a son of the glorious city of Polotsk”

Francysk Skaryna was born into the family of wealthy merchant Luka in Polotsk around 1490. In those times, Polotsk was one of the major political and cultural centers of the Grand Duchy of Lithuania.

Francysk learned to read and write at home, and later studied Latin at a school run by the Polotsk Bernardine Monastery founded on the initiative of Alexander I Jagiellon in 1498

In 1504, Francysk Skaryna began his studies in Krakow at one of the best European university of those times. He graduated two years later with a Bachelor of Arts degree.

In his student years, Francysk Skaryna also showed interest in medicine. His biographers note that he received a Master’s degree in Medicine from his alma mater, and graduated as a Doctor of Medicine from the University of Padua in 1512.

Francysk Skaryna’s natural talents and diligence were admired by many. The records of those times read that “the performance of the son of Luka Skaryna from Polotsk is commendable and excellent.” Today Francysk Skaryna’s portrait can be found at the university gallery among the portraits of other famous alumni from different countries of Europe.

Some researchers say that in 1512-1516, Francysk Skaryna was the private physician and secretary of John of the Lithuanian Dukes, a son of King Sigismund I the Old of Poland. Francysk met John when the latter studied at the University of Bologna.

Roots of book printing: first Bible in the Old Belarusian language

Francysk Skaryna ventured into printing business in Prague, where he founded a printing house with the support of merchants and art patrons from Polotsk and Vilnya. In 1517, he published The Psalter translated into the Old Belarusian language.

In the course of two years, the printing house in Prague issued 23 Bible books with illustrations (xylographic engravings, initials, and headpieces). The books also had forewords and comments by Francysk Skaryna who shared his enlightening ideas and views with readers.

In the early 1520s, Francysk Skaryna moved to Vilnya and opened the first printing house in the Grand Duchy of Lithuania. It was there that he printed his Malaya Padarozhnaya Knizhytsa (The Little Travel Book) with acrostics and a calendar of solar and lunar eclipses, and Apostol (Apostle), a book about the acts and epistles of the apostles.

Malaya Padarozhnaya Knizhytsa was a collection of 18 small religious books for travelers, including The Psalter, Chasoslovets (Book of Hours), acathistos and canons. The book was decorated with unique engravings, headpieces, and initials. Nine of the 18 books had an afterword by Francysk Skaryna.

Francysk Skaryna’s Book Legacy

Thanks to enlightener and first book printer Francysk Skaryna, the Belarusian national book industry has enriched both the European and world culture. The Renaissance books of the famous Polotsk resident were well-known for high-quality printing, artistic features, engravings and ornamental decorations, prints and other elements.

One of the main features of Skaryna’s books were the author’s comments that helped people better understand the content and encouraged them to reflect on the meaning of the events described in the books of the Holy Scripture.

The eloquent forewords exhibiting the humanistic ideals and the world view of Francysk Skaryna included elements of other literary forms that later received further development in the Belarusian literature and written language.

Francysk Skaryna’s books were distributed in numerous handwritten copies. They influenced the evolution of the spiritual culture not only in the Belarusian lands, but also in the entire Grand Duchy of Lithuania, other Slavic countries, and contributed to the development of book printing in Russia.

Francysk Skaryna’s later life: traveling and medical practice

Francysk Skaryna dedicated the later years of his life to medical practice. In the 1520–1530s, he worked as a doctor and secretary of Bishop John of Vilnya. In 1529, at the invitation of Duke Albert of Prussia, Francysk Skaryna traveled to Konigsberg which was hit by an epidemic of a deadly disease.

In the 1530s Francysk Skaryna, already well-known for his participation in the diplomatic mission of Sigizmund I, accepted the invitation of King Ferdinand I to work as a royal doctor and a gardener of the gorgeous botanic garden that surrounded the magnificent Castle of Hradcany.

Francysk Skaryna died in around 1551. However, the precise date of his death and his burial place are unknown. In 1552 his son Simeon got the royal privilege certificate from King Ferdinand I, according to which he was given all the property of his father, the doctor Francysk Rus of Polotsk.

Francysk Skaryna and present days

Francysk Skaryna’s name, which ranges among the outstanding figures of the Renaissance epoch such as Leonardo da Vinci, Raphael, and John Amos Comenius, has been given to streets in many Belarusian cities, and also to the university in Gomel. Numerous monuments, including a bronze sculpture near the National Library of Belarus, also perpetuate the memory of the first book printer.

The country’s state awards, Francysk Skaryna Order and Francysk Skaryna Medal, are presented in recognition of the contribution to the development and augmentation of spiritual and intellectual potential, the cultural heritage of the nation, and also achievements in humanitarian and charitable activity, national and state revival efforts…

Today Francysk Skaryna’s legacy includes 520 books, many of which are kept in Russia, Poland, the Czech Republic, Germany. All in all, the publications of the Belarusian first book printer are kept in nearly 50 countries, with some 28 copies in Belarus.

In 2017, the year marking the 500 years of the Belarusian book printing, the country managed to return a unique monument of the national culture – Malaya Padarozhnaya Knizhytsa (The Little Travel Book), which is believed to be the first book published on the territory of the present-day Belarus.

The major events of 2017 will include the presentation of the 20-volume facsimile edition Francysk Skaryna’s Book Legacy, the Grand Prix winner of the Art of the Book contest, a big exhibition project Francysk Skaryna and His Epoch, the international TV project Francysk Skaryna in Foreign Languages and the documentary Pershadruk that will be screened during the Belarusian Literature Day celebrations in Polotsk

MINSK and  MINSKERS: BELTA special project
Belarus and China: Top 50 pictures over 25 years
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Visiting Belarus without a visa: 5 days for citizens of 80 countries
Toll roads in Belarus

Франциск Скорина, Беларусь | Belarus.by
В Беларусь без визы: на 5 дней для граждан 80 стран
Официальный сайт Республики Беларусь
Год науки в Беларуси
О Беларуси

Календарь событий в Беларуси
Достопримечательности Беларуси
Всемирное наследие ЮНЕСКО в Беларуси
Белорусские санатории и курорты
Сувениры из Беларуси

| Главная | О Беларуси | Известные белорусы | Франциск Скорина

Франциск Скорина

Франциск Скорина
Франциск Скорина

Уроженец древнего Полоцка, выдающийся философ, просветитель, гуманист, писатель, учёный эпохи Возрождения Франциск Скорина вошёл в историю как "отец" восточноевропейского книгоиздания: именно он в 1517 году впервые издал Библию на старобелорусском языке для "людей посполитых к доброму научению".

Франциск Скорина – "сын из славного града Полацка"

Родился Франциск Скорина около 1490 года в семье купца Луки (Лукиана) в городе Полоцке, который в то время являлся одним из крупнейших политических и культурных центров Великого княжества Литовского.

Начальное образование юный Франциск получил в родительском доме, где постигал азы чтения и письма, а затем изучал латинский язык в школе при Полоцком бернардинском монастыре, основанном в 1498 году по инициативе великого князя Александра Ягеллона.

В 1504 году "сын из славного града Полацка" поступил в один из лучших европейских университетов того времени – Краковский – на факультет "вольных искусств" и спустя два года получил свою первую ученую степень – бакалавра философии.

В студенческие годы среди увлечений Франциска была и медицина: согласно данным биографов, спустя несколько лет в стенах alma mater он получил степень магистра, а в 1512 году – блестяще сдал экстерном экзамен доктора медицины в Падуанском университете.

О природном даровании и усердии молодого учёного ходили легенды, а в актовых записях отмечается, что "сын господина Луки Скорины из Полоцка проявил себя похвально и превосходно". И сегодня портрет белорусского доктора можно найти в университетской галерее среди других выпускников, именитых учёных из разных европейских стран.

Согласно одной из версий, в 1512 – 1516 годах Франциск Скорина служил личным лекарем и секретарём сына литовского короля Сигизмунда І Старого – княжича Яна, с которым познакомился ещё во время обучения в Болонском университете.

Истоки книгопечатания: первая Библия на старобелорусском языке

Издательскую деятельность Франциск Скорина начал в Праге, где при поддержке купцов-меценатов из Полоцка и Вильно основал типографию, а уже в 1517 году опубликовал "Псалтырь" в переводе на старобелорусский язык, которая стал первым изданием в истории национального и восточнославянского книгопечатания.

Всего же на протяжении двух лет в пражской типографии увидели свет 23 книги Библии, которые сопровождались иллюстрациями (ксилографическими гравюрами, инициалами и заставками), а также авторскими предисловиями и комментариями, в которых Франциск Скорина делился с читателями своими просветительскими идеями и воззрениями.

В начале 1520-х годов Франциск Скорина переехал в Вильно и открыл первую типографию на территории Великого княжества Литовского. Именно здесь вышла "Малая подорожная книжица", дополненная акростихами и календарем солнечных и лунных затмений, и "Апостол", рассказывающий о деяниях и посланиях ближайших учеников Христа.

"Малая подорожная книжица" предназначалась для путешественников и включала 18 церковных книг, в число которых вошли "Псалтырь", "Часословец", "Шестидневич" и "Соборник", а также акафисты и каноны… Уникальные издания небольшого формата были украшены гравюрами, заставками и инициалами, а девять из них сопровождали послесловия.

Книжное наследие Франциска Скорины

Благодаря просветителю и первопечатнику Франциску Скорине белорусское национальное книгоиздание обогатило не только европейскую, но и общемировую культуру. Ренессансные издания знаменитого полочанина выделяли высокое качество печати, характерные художественные, гравюрные и орнаментальные украшения, шрифты и другие компоненты издательской эстетики и мастерства.

Одной из главных особенностей всех книг Скорины стали авторские комментарии, которые помогали "посполитым" людям лучше понять содержание, осмыслить значение событий, запечатленных в книгах Священного Писания.

В красноречивых предисловиях, отражающих гуманистические идеалы и мировоззрение Франциска Скорины, прослеживаются приметы других литературных жанров, которые позже получили продолжение в белорусской литературе и письменности.

Книги Франциска Скорины распространялись в многочисленных рукописных копиях, и в действительности не только повлияли на развитие духовной культуры белорусских земель, но и всего Великого княжества Литовского, других восточнославянских странах, стимулировали возникновение книгопечатания в Московском государстве.

Последние годы жизни Франциска Скорины: путешествия и врачебная практика

Последние годы жизни Франциск Скорина посвятил медицинской практике. В 1520 – 30-х годах он выполнял обязанности лекаря и секретаря у виленского епископа Иоанна, а уже в 1529-м по приглашению прусского герцога Альбрехта Гогенцоллерна посетил Кенигсберг, где вспыхнула эпидемия.

В середине 1530-х уже известный при чешском дворе по участию в дипломатической миссии Жигимонта I Франциск Скорина принял заманчивое предложение от короля Фердинанда I и стал придворным лекарем и садовником в роскошном ботаническом саду, обрамляющем величественный замок Градчаны.

Умер Франциск Скорина около 1551 года, однако точная дата смерти и место захоронения неизвестны. Его сын Симеон в 1552 году получил привилей от чешского короля Фердинанда I на право наследования имущества покойного доктора "Франциска Руса" из Полоцка.

Франциск Скорина и современность

Память Франциска Скорины, имя которого стоит в одном ряду с такими выдающимися деятелями мировой культуры эпохи Возрождения как Леонардо да Винчи, Рафаэль и Ян Амос Каменский, увековечена в названиях улиц многих белорусских городов, университета в Гомеле, а также памятниках, одним из которых является бронзовая скульптура первопечатника у Национальной библиотеки Беларуси.

В стране учреждены государственные награды – орден и медаль Франциска Скорины, которые вручаются за вклад в развитие и приумножение духовного и интеллектуального потенциала, культурного наследия народа; особые заслуги в гуманитарной и благотворительной деятельности, успехи на почве национально-государственного возрождения…

Сегодня наследие Франциска Скорины насчитывает 520 книг, многие из которых находятся в России, Польше, Чехии, Германии. Всего же изданиями белорусского первопечатника обладают около 50 стран, в том числе и его родина – Беларусь – 28 экземпляров.

В 2017-м году, который посвящён 500-летию белорусского книгопечатания, стране удалось вернуть уникальный памятник национальной культуры – "Малую подорожную книжку", которая считается первой книгой, изданной на территории современной Беларуси.

Среди главных событий 2017-го года – презентация 20-томного факсимильного издания "Книжное наследие Франциска Скорины", призёра Гран-при конкурса "Искусство книги", масштабная выставка "Франциск Скорина и его эпоха", международный телепроект "Францыск Скарына на мовах народаў свету" и документальный фильм "Першадрук", который покажут в рамках Дня белорусской письменности в Полоцке

Беларусь и Китай: топ-50 кадров за четверть века
Памятники Великой Отечественной войны в Беларуси
В Беларусь без визы: на 5 дней для граждан 80 стран
Платные дороги в Беларуси