Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
11th Yuri Bashmet International Music Festival
About Belarus

Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | About Belarus | Sport | National Football Team

Belarusian National Football Team

Belarusian National Football Team in the 2014 World Cup qualifying
Belarusian National Football Team in the 2014 World Cup qualifying

Founded: 1989
FIFA membership since: 1992
UEFA membership since: 1993
Member association: Belarusian Football Federation (BFF)
Best position in FIFA ranking: 36th (February 2011)
Home stadium: Dinamo, Minsk, Belarus (undergoing renovations, expected to be commissioned in 2015)
Maiden official match: Belarus 1-1 Ukraine (friendly in Minsk, Belarus, on 28 October 1992).
Biggest win ever: Belarus 5-0 Lithuania (friendly match in Minsk on 7 June 1998).
Biggest defeat ever: Austria 5-0 Belarus (UEFA Euro 2004 qualifier in Innsbruck, Austria, on 11 June 2003).

Milestones

Belarusian national football teamIn their first major international tournament, which was the 1996 UEFA Euro qualifying, Belarus were narrowly beaten 0-1 by Norway in Oslo in 1994. Further games against such sides as the Czech Republic and Norway did not bring any points either. However, the Belarusian football fans will never forget the day when Belarus registered a historic 1-0 success against the Netherlands at Dinamo in 1995.

Such decent start was marred by the World Cup 1998 and the Euro 2000 qualifications when Belarus collected the wooden spoon on both occasions scoring four and three points respectively. The highlight of the Euro 2000 qualification were Belarus’ two draws against Italy at home (0-0) and away (1-1).

World Cup 2002. Belarus vs Norway (2:1)Belarus showed the best ever result in top tournaments finishing in the third place in the World Cup 2002 qualifiers. Back than, Eduard Malofeyev’s Belarus appeared just behind Poland and Ukraine in their section. Belarus overpowered Wales, Norway and Armenia with the same score of 2-1 and hammered future group winners Poland 4-1 at Dinamo. Ukraine was the only team Belarus failed to defeat (1-1 away and 0-2 at home).

The 2004 UEFA Euro qualification was unlucky for Belarus again as they were pitted in one group with the Czech Republic, the Netherlands, Austria and Moldova. Belarus collected their only three points of this campaign after a 2-1 home victory at Moldova in Minsk.

2006 World Cup. Belarus vs ItalyIn 2004-2005 Belarus’ start at the 2006 World Cup qualification gave hopes for a high group place. Belarus drew the away game against Norway 1-1 and blanked Moldova 5-0 in Minsk, which was followed by the 3-4 defeat at Italy. Despite the loss Belarus proved to the whole Europe that they are worth being respected. However, four consecutive defeats against Moldova, Italy, Scotland and Norway in late 2005 buried Belarus’ hopes for the third spot. Belarus finished that group stage fifth.

Bernd StangeThe qualifying campaign of the UEFA Euro 2008 was one of the most controversial in the history of the Belarusian football. It was the first time when the international specialist, Germany’s Bernd Stange, had taken over the Belarusian national team as a head coach. Starting his work with Belarus in 2007 he remained manager for four years. During the UEFA Euro 2008 qualification Belarus suffered four defeats at the hands of Romania and Bulgaria and, to make matters worse, endured a humiliating 0-1 defeat against semi-professional Luxembourg after a 90+5-minute against-the-run-of-play goal in Gomel, Belarus. However, the Belarusians recorded a solid 4-2 victory against Slovenia at Dinamo and won 4-2 against Albania away for the team’s biggest ever victory in the UEFA competitions.

UEFA Euro 2012. Belarus vs FranceThe most amazing is the fact that during the three qualifying campaigns (UEFA Euro 2008 along with World Cup 2010 and UEFA Euro 2012 qualifiers) Belarus invariably came in 4th scoring the same 13 points on all three occasions. It has become a tradition that Belarus put up a solid performance against the weaker sides but do not manage to overpower top-class opponents. The highlight of the UEFA Euro 2012 campaign was the Belarusian historic 1-0 away triumph against France in Paris followed by the 1-1 home draw in the return.

2014 World Cup. Belarus vs GeorgiaIn the 2014 World Cup qualifying Belarus were drawn against world and European champions Spain along with France, Georgia and Finland. Belarus lost to Georgia in Tbilisi 0-1 and fell to France in Paris 1-3 with the Spain home encounter proving to be a 0-4 dismantling. The Georgia return match brought Belarus the first 2-0 group victory.

Belarus hoped to gain as many points as possible from two matches against Finland on 7 and 11 June. However, Georgy Kondratyev’s Belarus succumbed to a narrow 0-1 defeat in Finland’s capital Helsinki and escaped the loss in the return match in Gomel, Belarus, with a dramatic late 1-1 equalizer which secured one point out of six possible for the Belarusian national team.

In the final two fixtures of the World Cup qualification Belarus were to face the Group I favorites, France and Spain. On 10 September Belarus hosted the French side and put up a great performance being in front two times but eventually lost 2-4. The ultimate qualifier in Spain ended in a 1-2 defeat on 11 October. However, taking into account the difference in class between Belarus and their opponents, the two last meetings left a positive impression. Nevertheless, Belarus finished the qualifying campaign propping up the Group I table with only four points from eight matches.

Belarus played in UEFA Euro 2016 qualifying group C against Spain, Slovakia, Ukraine, FYR Macedonia and Luxemburg. Matches:

  • September 8, 2014 Luxembourg vs Belarus (1-1)
  • October 9, 2014 Belarus vs Ukraine (0-2)
  • October 12, 2014 Belarus vs Slovakia (1-3)
  • November 15, 2014 Spain vs Belarus (3-0)
  • March 27, 2015 Macedonia vs Belarus (1-2)
  • June 14, 2015 Belarus vs Spain (0-1)
  • September 5, 2015 Ukraine vs Belarus (3-1)
  • September 8, 2015 Belarus vs Luxembourg (2-0)
  • October 9, 2015 Slovakia vs Belarus (0-1)
  • October 12, 2015 Belarus vs Macedonia (0-0)

The qualifying tournament concludes in Autumn 2015. As many as 24 teams instead of 16 earlier will enter the Euro 2016 group stage. Table-toppers, second-placed and one best third-placed nation will enter the group stage directly while eight other third-placed teams will encounter each other in the play-off which has been scheduled for 12-14 and 15-17 November 2015. 

5th All-Belarusian People’s Congress
Draft program for Belarus’ social and economic development for 2016-2020
Belarus parliament elections 2016
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Redenomination in Belarus: new money
Toll roads in Belarus

Официальный сайт Республики Беларусь
XI Международный музыкальный фестиваль Юрия Башмета
О Беларуси

Календарь событий в Беларуси
Достопримечательности Беларуси
Всемирное наследие ЮНЕСКО в Беларуси
Белорусские санатории и курорты
Сувениры из Беларуси

| Главная | О Беларуси | Спорт | Cборная Беларуси по футболу

Национальная сборная Беларуси по футболу

Национальная сборная Беларуси по футболу в отборочном турнире чемпионата мира-2014
Национальная сборная Беларуси по футболу в отборочном турнире чемпионата мира-2014
Дата основания: 1989 г.
Вступление в ФИФА: 1992 г.
Вступление в УЕФА: 1993 г.
Ассоциация-член: Белорусская федерация футбола
Самая высокая позиция в рейтинге ФИФА: 36-е место (февраль 2011 г.)
Домашний стадион: «Динамо», Минск (на реконструкции до 2015 г.)
Первый официальный матч: Беларусь - Украина – 1:1 (Минск, 28 октября 1992 г.; товарищеский матч)
Самая крупная победа: Беларусь - Литва – 5:0 (Минск, 7 июня 1998 г.; товарищеский матч)
Самое крупное поражение: Австрия - Беларусь – 5:0 (11 июля 2003 г., Инсбрук, Австрия; квалификация Евро-2004).

Основные достижения

Сборная Беларуси по футболуСборная Беларуси по футболу впервые участвовала в крупном международном соревновании в 1994 году во время квалификации к чемпионату Европы-1996. В дебютном матче в Осло белорусы противостояли норвежским футболистам и уступили со счетом 0:1. Последующие игры  принесли сборной недостаточно очков для выхода из группы, однако любители футбола никогда не забудут легендарный матч против сборной Нидерландов, который состоялся на стадионе «Динамо» в 1995 году. Белорусы выиграли у одной из сильнейших команд мира со счетом 1:0.

Достойный старт сборной в официальных состязаниях был омрачен неудачными выступлениями на квалификациях к чемпионату мира-1998 и чемпионату Европы-2000, когда белорусы заняли последние места в отборочных группах. Позитивным моментом стало неплохое выступление Беларуси против фаворита группы сборной Италии. Во время евроквалификации белорусские футболисты не проиграли итальянцам, дважды добившись ничьей – 0:0 (дома) и 1:1 (в гостях).

Чемпионат мира-2002. Беларусь-Норвегия (2:1)Лучшим в истории выступлением сборной Беларуси в топ-турнирах стало 3-е место в квалификации к чемпионату мира-2002. Тогда подопечные Эдуарда Малофеева финишировали вслед за сборными Польши и Украины. Во время отборочного турнира ЧМ-2002 белорусы обыграли сборные Уэльса, Норвегии и Армении с одинаковым счетом 2:1, а также разгромили победителя группы Польшу 4:1 у себя дома. Не поддалась Беларуси только Украина, которая выиграла на стадионе «Динамо» 2:0 и не позволила белорусам одержать победу в ответном матче – 1:1.

Квалификация к чемпионату Европы-2004 вновь получилась неудачной для Беларуси, которая попала в одну группу с Чехией, Нидерландами, Австрией и Молдовой. Белорусы набрали в группе только 3 очка после победы над сборной Молдовы в Минске.

Отборочный матч чемпионата мира-2006. Беларусь-Италия В 2004-2005 годах Беларусь неплохо стартовала в квалификации к мировому первенству 2006 года, сыграв вничью с Норвегией – 1:1 (в гостях) и разгромив в Минске футболистов Молдовы – 5:0. После этого последовало поражение в гостевом матче против Италии – 3:4. Несмотря на проигрыш, сборная Беларуси завоевала уважение европейского футбольного сообщества. Однако неплохой старт в матчах квалификации сменился спадом: в конце 2005 года Беларусь потерпела три поражения – от Молдовы, Италии и Норвегии, что перечеркнуло шансы на выход из группы. В итоге Беларусь заняла пятое место.

Бернд ШтангеКвалификационная кампания к Евро-2008 стала одной из самых противоречивых в истории отечественного футбола. В 2007 году главным тренером сборной Беларуси впервые стал иностранный специалист – немец Бернд Штанге, который проработал в команде четыре года. В ходе турнира Беларусь потерпела по два поражения от Румынии и Болгарии, а также неожиданно проиграла полупрофессиональной сборной Люксембурга 0:1 в Гомеле, пропустив гол перед самым финальным свистком. Эта встреча – одна из немногих, проходивших не в белорусской столице. Между тем, памятным событием той отборочной кампании стали победы над Словенией на минском стадионе «Динамо», а также в Тиране над Албанией с одинаковым счетом 4:2. Именно успех в албанской столице является самой крупной победой в соревнованиях под эгидой УЕФА за всю историю белорусской сборной.

атч Беларусь-Франция в квалификации Евро-2012Удивительный факт: на протяжении трех квалификаций (к Евро-2008, чемпионату мира-2010 и Евро-2012) сборная Беларуси неизменно приходила в своих группах четвертой, набирая одинаковое количество очков – 13. На квалификационных турнирах Беларусь стабильно хорошо выступала против команд классом ниже, однако в большинстве случаев проигрывала европейским сборным топ-уровня. В числе самых запоминающихся матчей – игры против сборной Франции во время квалификации к Евро-2012, когда белорусы победили в Париже 1:0 и сыграли дома вничью 1:1.

Матч квалификации ЧМ-2014. Беларусь-ГрузияВ квалификационном турнире к чемпионату мира-2014 жребий свел белорусов с Грузией, Финляндией, Испанией и Францией. На старте отбора Беларусь уступила в Тбилиси Грузии 0:1, а также проиграла Франции 1:3 (в гостях) и Испании 0:4 (дома). Первой победой белорусов стал ответный матч против Грузии, в котором белорусы одержали верх 2:0.

Сборная Беларуси была намерена взять как можно больше очков в матчах против сборной Финляндии 7 и 11 июня. Тем не менее, подопечные главного тренера Георгия Кондратьева минимально уступили финнам в Хельсинки (0:1) и ушли от поражения во втором матче, который проходил в Гомеле. Гол за несколько минут до конца встречи принес белорусам ничейный результат 1:1 и одно очко из шести возможных.

В двух последних встречах квалификации чемпионата мира 2014 года сборная Беларуси встречалась с фаворитами группы I – Францией и Испанией. В домашней игре против французов 10 сентября белорусы дважды выходили вперед, однако в итоге потерпели поражение – 2:4. Встреча с испанцами на выезде 11 октября также завершилась не в пользу белорусов – 1:2. Учитывая разницу в классе между соперниками, эти матчи оставили позитивное впечатление об игре сборной. Тем не менее, Беларусь завершила выступление в отборочном цикле к чемпионату мира-2014 в группе I на последнем месте, имея в активе лишь четыре очка после восьми матчей.

Квалификационный турнир к чемпионату Европы-2016 сборная Беларуси проводила в группе C, где ей противостоли сборные Испании, Словакии, Украины, Македонии и Люксембурга.

Матчи:

  • 8 сентября 2014 г. Люксембург – Беларусь (1:1)
  • 9 октября 2014 г. Беларусь – Украина (0:2)
  • 12 октября 2014 г. Беларусь – Словакия (1:3)
  • 15 ноября 2014 г. Испания – Беларусь (3:0)
  • 27 марта 2015 г. Македония – Беларусь (1:2)
  • 14 июня 2015 г. Беларусь – Испания (0:1)
  • 5 сентября 2015 г. Украина – Беларусь (3:1)
  • 8 сентября 2015 г. Беларусь – Люксембург (2:0)
  • 9 октября 2015 г. Словакия – Беларусь (0:1)
  • 12 октября 2015 г. Беларусь – Македония (0:0)

Итоговое положение команд в группе С: Испания – 27 очков (разница мячей – 23-3), Словакия – 22 (17-8), Украина – 19 (14-4), Беларусь – 11 (8-14), Люксембург – 4 (6-27), Македония – 4 (6-18).

Завершится квалификационная компания осенью 2015 года. В финальную часть, в которой впервые примут участие 24 лучшие команды Старого Света (вместо 16), попадут две первые команды из каждой группы, а также лучшие дружины из числа занявших третьи места.

V Всебелорусское народное собрание
Программа социально-экономического развития Республики Беларусь на 2016 — 2020 годы (ПРОЕКТ)
Парламентские выборы 2016 года в Беларуси
Памятники Великой Отечественной войны в Беларуси
Деноминация в Беларуси: новые деньги
Платные дороги в Беларуси