Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
3rd Minsk International Christmas Singing Competition
About Belarus

Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | About Belarus | Sport | National Ice Hockey Team

Belarusian National Ice Hockey Team


Member of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF) since: 1992
Member association: Belarusian Ice Hockey Federation
Head coach: Dave Lewis 
Highest IIHF ranking: 8th (2009)
First international game: Belarus 1-4 Ukraine (1993 IIHF World Championship qualifier on 7 November 1992)
Biggest win: Belarus 21-1 Lithuania (1998 Nagano Olympics qualifier on 30 August 1996)
First biggest defeat: Finland 11-2 Belarus (Friendly match on 7 April 1997)

Milestones

World championships

Due to the break-up of the Soviet Union there was a tough competition in the lower divisions of the IIHF World Championships in early 1990s as a number of new states such as Belarus, Kazakhstan, Ukraine, Latvia and others, except Russia, competed for promotion.

Belarus’ maiden match was the 1993 IIHF World Championship qualifier against Ukraine, which took place in the Palace of Sports, Minsk, Belarus, in 1992 and proved to be a 1-4 defeat.

In 1995 Belarus earned a promotion from IIHF World Champions Group C1 to Group B where two years later took the first place achieving a historical promotion to the IIHF World Championship Group A. Belarus’ maiden season in the highest division at the 1998 IIHF World Championship proved to be quite a success, manager Anatoly Varivonchik’s team making it into the best eight ice hockey teams of the world. 

In 1999 and 2000 Belarus took the 9th spot on both other occasions. Following the 2001 World Championship in Germany Belarus were relegated to the IIHF World Championship Division IA, which is the second most important division of the IIHF World Championship. Belarus took the 14th place in the overall standings and had to play in the Relegation Round. Japan took the last fourth place in the relegation tournament but received a 5-year relegation protection in line with a special IIHF decision, which meant that second-placed Belarus and third-placed Norway were relegated instead.

At the 2003 IIHF World Championship in Finland the history repeated itself. Belarus took the 14th place and were again relegated instead of Japan, who used their relegation protection.

At the end of the 2004 season Mikhail Zakharov’s side came back to the IIHF World Championship Top Division where they have been playing every year since 2005.

Prior to the 2005 IIHF World Championship the first foreign manager, Canada’s Glen Hanlon, was assigned to coach the Belarusian national ice hockey team. Following the 2005 World Championship Belarus remained in the Highest Division with the 10th place. Belarus’ goaltender Andrei Mezin was second only to Tomas Vokoun of the Czech Republic with the 97.14 save percentage at the tournament. Young forward Mikhail Grabovsky netted four times in what turned out to be a key 5-0 victory over Austria.

Belarus made it to the play-off stage for the first time in their history at the IIHF World Championship in 2006. The quarterfinal match against Finland ended in a 0-3 defeat for Belarus. The team got the sixth overall place, goaltender Andrei Mezin being included in the symbolic team of the World Championship.

Being 11th in 2007 and 9th in 2008 under American head coach Curt Fraser, Belarus improved their performance with Glen Hanlon’s return to the manager post. At the 2009 IIHF World Championship in Switzerland Belarus advanced to the quarterfinals where they were outclassed by the Russian team in a 3-4 drama. Goaltender Andrei Mezin got the Best Goalkeeper award and was included in the Media All-Star Team of the tournament.

From 2010 to 2012, Belarus did not achieve such high results at IIHF World Championships as before and had to labor hard not to be relegated in 2011 and 2012. Vitaly Koval made it into the best five goaltenders at the 2012 IIHF World Championship. He boasted the save percentage of 92.02.

The Belarusian national ice hockey team lost all but one game in the Preliminary Round of the 2013 IIHF World Championship in Stockholm. Apart from overpowering Slovenia 4-3 they lost against Czechia (0-2), Sweden (1-2), Canada (1-4), Norway (1-3), Denmark (2-3) and Switzerland (1-4). However, Belarus could not be knocked out of the Highest Division as it is the host nation of the IIHF World Championship that is due in Minsk in May 2014. All games will be played in Minsk at two venues, the 15,000-seat Minsk Arena and the 9,600-seat Chizhovka Arena.

Team Belarus at 2014 IIHF World Championship

At the 79th IIHF World Championship in the Czech Republic the Belarusian national team reached the quarterfinal for the fourth time in the history of its performance in the top division. In the preliminary round Dave Lewis’ men scored 14 points, the team’s best achievement at this stage of the tournament. Team Belarus beat the United States (5-2), Denmark (5-1), Slovenia (4-2), Norway (3-2), lost to Slovakia in overtime (1-2) and to Finland in shootout (3-4). Belarus also lost 0-7 to Russia. In the first playoff round Belarus suffered a 0-9 defeat from Canada to finish 7th in the IIHF World Championship standings.

Olympic Games

The Belarusian national ice hockey team partook in three Winter Olympic Games in 1998, 2002 and 2010.

During the 1998 Nagano Winter Olympics qualification in 1996 Belarus registered their biggest ever 21-1 victory in the Lithuania encounter. At the Nagano Olympics head coach Anatoly Varivonchik led the team to the seventh place.

The Belarusian national team reached the 2002 Salt Lake City Winter Olympics semifinals under Vladimir Krikunov, which is the team’s best result ever. Back then, Belarus took the fourth place beating Sweden 4-3 in a historic match. In the semifinal Belarus were hammered by Canada 1-7, while the bronze medal match saw Belarus falling to Russia 2-7. With the fourth place at the competition the hockey players also recorded the best team sport result in the history of Belarus’ participation in the Olympic Games.

The 2006 Turin Olympic Games qualification was a sheer drama for the Belarusian team. Mikhail Zakharov’s side were playing their ultimate Olympic qualifying match against the Latvian national ice hockey team in Riga. Leading 4-2 with five minutes remaining in the game Belarus somehow conceded three goals in 2:20 to hand the tickets for the Turin Olympic Games to the Latvians.

At the 2010 Vancouver Olympic Games Belarus led by manager Mikhail Zakharov showed the worst result ever finishing in the 9th position.

In February 2013 Belarus took part in the 2014 Sochi Olympics qualification. The first group F match in Vojens, Denmark, turned out to be a shocking 2-4 defeat at Slovenia. Belarus then whitewashed Ukraine 6-0 but the parallel match saw Slovenia outclassing Denmark 2-1 and depriving Belarus of the chance to participate in the Sochi Olympics. On matchday three Belarus snatched a 3-2 victory against Denmark. The Belarusian national ice hockey team wrapped up the second place in their Sochi Olympics qualifying section.

5th All-Belarusian People’s Congress
Draft program for Belarus’ social and economic development for 2016-2020
Belarus parliament elections 2016
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Redenomination in Belarus: new money
Toll roads in Belarus

Официальный сайт Республики Беларусь
XI Международный музыкальный фестиваль Юрия Башмета
О Беларуси

Календарь событий в Беларуси
Достопримечательности Беларуси
Всемирное наследие ЮНЕСКО в Беларуси
Белорусские санатории и курорты
Сувениры из Беларуси

| Главная | О Беларуси | Спорт | Cборная Беларуси по хоккею

Национальная сборная Беларуси по хоккею


Вступление в ИИХФ: 1992 г.
Ассоциация-член: Федерация хоккея Республики Беларусь (ФХРБ)
Главный тренер: Дэйв Льюис
Самая высокая позиция в рейтинге ИИХФ: 8-е место (2009 г.)
Первый официальный матч: Беларусь - Украина – 1:4 (7 ноября 1992 г., квалификация к чемпионату мира-1993)
Самая крупная победа: Беларусь - Литва – 21:1 (30 августа 1996 г., квалификация к Олимпийским играм в Нагано-1998)
Самые крупные поражения: Финляндия - Беларусь – 11:2 (7 апреля 1997 г., товарищеский матч), Канада - Беларусь – 11:2 (19 марта 1998 г., товарищеский матч)

Основные достижения

Чемпионаты мира

После распада Советского Союза ставшие независимыми страны оперативно формировали свои национальные хоккейные сборные. Однако все они – Беларусь, Казахстан, Украина, Латвия и другие – за исключением России, получили право начать выступления на чемпионатах мира только с низшего дивизиона.

Первый матч в истории национальной хоккейной сборной в квалификационном турнире чемпионата мира прошел в минском Дворце спорта 7 ноября 1992 года. Сборная Беларуси уступила сборной Украины со счетом 1:4.

В 1995 году из дивизиона С1 белорусы пробились в группу В, барьер которой преодолели спустя 2 года, завоевав путевку в элитный дивизион. И в первый же год в классе сильнейших, на ЧМ-1998 в Швейцарии, команда под руководством Анатолия Варивончика попала в восьмерку лучших сборных планеты.

В 1999 и 2000 годах белорусская дружина финишировала на мировых форумах на 9-й позиции, а в 2001-м в Германии, заняв 14-е место, покинула высший дивизион. Специальным решением ИИФХ сборная Японии получила 5-летнюю бронь от вылета из элитного дивизиона, поэтому белорусы и норвежцы опустились ниже.

На ЧМ-2003 в Финляндии белорусы снова заняли 14-е место, но не закрепились в классе сильнейших команд мира из-за привилегии Японии.

В 2004-м в Норвегии сборная Беларуси под руководством Михаила Захарова уверенно вернулась в высший дивизион, где постоянно выступает с 2005 года.

Накануне ЧМ-2005 в Австрии сборную Беларуси впервые возглавил иностранный специалист – канадец Глен Хэнлон. Под его руководством команда сохранила прописку в элите (10-е место). Голкипер сборной Беларуси Андрей Мезин был назван вторым лучшим вратарем турнира после чеха Томаша Вокоуна (процент отраженных бросков 97,14%). Молодой форвард Михаил Грабовский забросил 4 шайбы в ключевом поединке со сборной Австрии (5:0).

В 2006 году в Риге сборная Беларуси впервые в истории вышла в плей-офф чемпионата мира, где уступила в четвертьфинале команде Финляндии (0:3). Заняв итоговое 6-е место, белорусы показали пока лучший в своей истории результат на чемпионатах мира, а голкипер Андрей Мезин вошел в символическую сборную первенства планеты.

На чемпионатах мира в 2007 и 2008 годах сборной Беларуси руководил американский специалист Курт Фрэйзер, под началом которого команда занимала 11-е и 9-е места. Затем национальную сборную опять возглавил Глен Хэнлон, и на ЧМ-2009 в Швейцарии белорусы вышли в четвертьфинал, где в драматичном поединке уступили России (3:4). Белорусский вратарь Андрей Мезин стал лучшим голкипером чемпионата и вошел в символическую сборную по версии журналистов.

На ЧМ-2010 сборная Беларуси под руководством Эдуарда Занковца заняла 10-е место, а на следующих первенствах планеты (2011, 2012) белорусы, занимая 14-е место, с трудом сохраняли прописку в элитном дивизионе. На чемпионате мира 2012 года голкипер сборной Беларуси Виталий Коваль вошел в пятерку лучших вратарей турнира (92,02% отраженных бросков).

На чемпионате мира-2013 в столице Швеции сборная Беларуси в семи матчах одержала лишь одну победу – над Словенией (4:3), и третий год подряд заняла на первенстве планеты 14-е место. В остальных встречах белорусы проиграли сборным Чехии (0:2), Швеции (1:2), Канады (1:4), Норвегии (1:3), Дании (2:3) и Швейцарии (1:4). На ЧМ-2013 у Беларуси была бронь от вылета в низший дивизион, так как страна принимала следующий чемпионат мира по хоккею, который состоялся в Минске в мае 2014 года.

Матчи ЧМ-2014 проходили на двух хоккейных площадках: "Минск-Арена" (вместимость 15 000 зрителей) и "Чижовка-Арена" (вместимость 9 600 зрителей).

Сборная Беларуси на чемпионате мира по хоккею-2014

На 79-м чемпионате мира по хоккею в Чехии сборная Беларуси пробилась в 1/4 финала – в четвертый раз за историю выступления в сильнейшем дивизионе планеты. В предварительном раунде команда под руководством Дэйва Льюиса набрала 14 очков, что стало лучшим результатом сборной на этой стадии турнира. Белорусы обыграли команды США (5:2), Дании (5:1), Словении (4:2), Норвегии (3:2), уступили в овертайме словакам (1:2) и по буллитам финнам (3:4), а также потерпели поражение в основное время от России (7:0). В раунде плей-офф сборная Беларуси проиграла команде Канады (0:9), заняв 7-е место в итоговом рейтинге чемпионата мира.

Сборная Беларуси начнет выступление на ЧМ мира по хоккею в 2016-м году в Санкт-Петербурге.

Сборная Беларуси по хоккею на Олимпийских играх

Сборная Беларуси по хоккею трижды участвовала в зимних Олимпийских играх – в 1998, 2002 и 2010 годах.

В ходе квалификации на Игры в Нагано в 1996 году Беларусь одержала крупнейшую в своей истории победу – над сборной Литвы (21:1). А на дебютной Олимпиаде-1998 белорусы под руководством Анатолия Варивончика заняли 7-е место.

Олимпиада-2002 принесла Беларуси небывалый успех. В Солт-Лейк-Сити подопечные Владимира Крикунова произвели настоящий фурор, обыграв в четвертьфинале едва ли не главного фаворита турнира сборную Швеции – 4:3. В полуфинале белорусы проиграли Канаде (1:7), а в поединке за бронзу – России (2:7). Заняв итоговое 4-е место, хоккеисты показали лучший для белорусских командных игровых видов спорта результат на Олимпиадах.

Попасть на Олимпийские Игры в Турине-2006 белорусам не удалось. В решающем матче квалификации в феврале 2005-го в Риге сборная Беларуси драматично проиграла сборной Латвии (4:5). Подопечные Михаила Захарова вели в счете 4:2, но в конце встречи, пропустив в течение 2 минут 20 секунд три шайбы, уступили путевку в Турин хоккеистам Латвии.

На Олимпиаде-2010 в Ванкувере сборная под руководством Михаила Захарова заняла 9-е место, что стало худшим результатом в истории выступлений белорусской хоккейной сборной на Олимпийских играх.

За путевку на сочинскую Олимпиаду-2014 сборная Беларуси сражалась в феврале 2013 года в датском Войенсе. Уступив сборной Словении (2:4) в стартовом матче, команда Андрея Скабелки затем разгромила украинскую сборную (6:0). Однако тем же вечером словенцы одолели датчан (2:1) и досрочно обеспечили себе пропуск на Игры. Беларусь за тур до финиша квалификационного соревнования лишилась шансов на поездку в Сочи. В заключительном матче, не имевшем турнирного значения, белорусы выиграли у датчан со счетом 3:2.

В олимпийской квалификации к Играм-2018 сборная Беларуси по хоккею сыграет с Данией и Словенией.

V Всебелорусское народное собрание
Программа социально-экономического развития Республики Беларусь на 2016 — 2020 годы (ПРОЕКТ)
Парламентские выборы 2016 года в Беларуси
Памятники Великой Отечественной войны в Беларуси
Деноминация в Беларуси: новые деньги
Платные дороги в Беларуси