Belarus Visa-Free: Now For 30 Days
Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Travel

Belarus Events Calendar: OCTOBER 2020
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | Travel | Ethno-Tourism | Alexandria Gathers Friends

Kupala Night Festival Alexandria Gathers Friends


Shrouded in myths and legends, the ancient Kupala Night feast has been celebrated in Belarus for many centuries. Every year, in late June - early July, Belarusians gather for the festival to weave Kupala wreaths, make wishes, light bonfires, sing songs and look for the mysterious paparats-kvetka (fern flower)...

The country’s biggest venue where the Kupala Night festival is celebrated in style is the town of Alexandria. Thousands of visitors come to Shklov District, Mogilev Oblast, to spend one of the shortest summer nights enjoying a colorful action on the picturesque bank of the Dnieper River, which is also called the river of friendship.

Alexandria gathers friends not only from all over Belarus but also from the neighboring Russia and Ukraine. The three East Slavic peoples have celebrated the Kupala Night Festival for almost 10 years already: the first large-scale festival took place in 2010, and already in 2011 it welcomed participants from Russia’s Smolensk Oblast and Ukraine’s Kiev Oblast. The tradition has caught on. Every year the host nations - Belarusians, Russians and Ukrainians – welcome more and more friends from other countries.

The venue is iconic too. Since ancient times the Dnieper River has united the three East Slavic peoples. It has been the artery of the famous trade route from the the Varangians to the Greeks linking people, cities and states.

Today the bridge, near which the festival is held, connects two districts of Belarus - Shklov District in Mogilev Oblast and Orsha District in Vitebsk Oblast. It connects the town of Kopys and the town of Alexandria, the hometown of the country’s president. Aleksandr Lukashenko supported the holiday of the sister nations that share common traditions, historical and cultural events.

Kupala Night Festival in Alexandria has become a true brand of Belarus. When it was held for the first time, it gathered 3,000 people, while in 2018 the number of participants exceeded 110,000. Those were not only Belarusians, but also guests from Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Poland and Germany.

The venue of the festival is expanding. So is the festival’s program that now features folk games, round dances, fire jumping, wreath weaving, search for the miraculous fern flower, arts and crafts, fairs, amusement rides, master classes and competitions.

The festival usually culminates with a gala concert. Many Belarusian and foreign performers have taken to the stage of Alexandria over this time. Among them were Aleksandr Buinov, Nina Sharubina, Vera Brezhneva, Taisia Povaliy, Tina Karol, Igor Kornelyuk, Alyona Lanskaya, Aleksandr Solodukha, Sergei Trofimov, Isuyi Abalyan, Inna Afanasieva and many more.

Festival’s History

The festival turned into a large-scale event in 2010. Back then the festival was attended by Belarus President Aleksandr Lukashenko. He walked through the festival venues and was pleasantly surprised to see many people there: the festival drew visitors from the neighboring villages and towns, including Orsha, Shklov, Mogilev and Minsk.

The Dnieper River is an important part of the festival’s concept. It was the major theme of the festival in 2011. Back then foreign artists performed at the festival for the first time. The Kupala Night over the Dnieper River festival featured artists from Russia and Ukraine.

In 2012, the City of Artisans spread out along the Dnieper River. Expositions of artisans from three countries were set up along the City streets that radiated from the center like the rays of the sun, the main symbol of the Kupala Night. The festival included a business program for the first time. The program featured a session of the Pridneprovie Chambers of Commerce and Industry Association, a meeting of businessmen from Belarus, Russia and Ukraine, and an exhibition.

In 2013, the Kupala Night Festival in Alexandria showcased new projects, hosted flax, kvass and beer-themed events, master classes by the participants of the international ceramics plain air Art Zhyzhal, and the exhibition “Archeological Findings of Upper Podneprovie”.

In 2014, the festival united three large-scale fairs of Russia, Ukraine and Belarus. The event featured a stylized Belarusian house where visitors were entertained and treated to dozens of national potato dishes.   

In 2015, Maksim Sokol’s musical Paparats Kvetka made its debut at the festival. After the premiere the play went on a tour around Belarusian cities. Theatrical performances became another good tradition of the Kupala Night Festival in Alexandria.

In 2016, the “Kupala Town of Friendship” hosted guests from the neighboring countries who came to showcase their culture and cuisine. The first excursion around the festival’s landmarks took place in Alexandria that year.

In 2017, the Alexandria festival, already international, presented a circus and musical show Kupalski Son (Kupala Dream) featuring performers from Russia, Ukraine, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, and Poland.

A musical show Native Land was the central event of the festival last year. The 2018 festival also featured the Days of Ukrainian Culture with its Sorochyntsi Fair, a tasting of the national cuisine, and a performance of the equestrian theater Kievan Rus.

Kupala Night Festival (Alexandria Gathers Friends 2019)

The three Years of Native Land was the major theme of the Kupala Night Festival in Alexandria. The festival, which was celebrated on 6-7 July, welcomed numerous guests on the picturesque bank of the Dnieper River. Participants from seven countries (Belarus, Russia, Ukraine, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia and Poland) performed on stage and displayed their crafts at the fair.

The Kupala Night Festival featured the art project Creativity of Youth with a show program Fairytale About a Wonder Flower, concerts of young and aspiring musicians, circus acts, a workout zone, and entertainments for children.


The program also featured the Festival of Kvass with a presentation of a branded beverage which was brewed using a unique recipe, a book fair and a book printing corner, concerts and discos.

The line-up of the Made in Belarus gala concert included Belarusian and foreign singers: Yuulia Bikova, Tina Karol, Aleksandr Solodukha, Alyona Lanskaya, Lev Leshchenko, Anatoly Yarmolenko.

By tradition, the president came to attend the Kupala Night festival in his hometown. “Here in Belarus we offer our greatest treasures – cultural, spiritual, handmade and culinary ones – to each and every guest with open hearts. And we are doing it with world-famous Belarusian hospitality. I am saying all this not because I am here and this is my native land. I have travelled the world throughout these years, and I believe that Belarusians are the most hospitable people. This is our brand, our distinctive feature,” Aleksandr Lukashenko emphasized. “I am convinced that our meetings should be continued!”

Alexandria Gathers Friends 2020 to be held under UNESCO’s patronage

The annual Kupala Night Festival (Alexandria Gathers Friends) on the bank of the Dnieper River in the agro-town of Alexandria, Shklov District will take place on 11-12 July. This year, the festival will be running under the patronage of UNESCO.

Founded ten years ago, the festival in Alexandria has turned into the country’s signature event. It draws visitors not only from Belarus, but also from Russia, Ukraine, Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, and other countries. Last year’s festival brought together over 65,000 people.

This year, all districts of Belarus and the city of Minsk will put up pavilions that will host festivals, art contests, plein air and other events, reflecting the unique image of every part of Belarus.

On the first day of the festival, visitors of the event will be offered a tour of the pavilions. The festival will feature an exhibition of Minsk Tractor Works, a fair of baked goods, a kvass fest, the youth exposition “Corridor of Epochs”, and Alexandria’s Market. Alexandria will also welcome the finalists of the nationwide agricultural family contest Lord of the Village.

The Book Fest will introduce visitors to the national literary heritage. The festival will also feature a presentation of the program of Belarusian Written Language Day that will be celebrated in Belynichi on 6 September.

A tent circus will offer a variety of circus performances.

The Vesyalukha company of the Mogilev Regional Philharmonic will demonstrate their vocal skills while Belarusian manufacturers will show their new linen collections. The line-up of the children's disco will feature arts groups, participants of the TV show "Voice. Children” from Mogilev Oblast, clowns and animators.

The national festival will officially open at 17h00 with an entertainment program featuring artists of the Mogilev Regional Philharmonic. A ceremony to honor the winners and participants of the Lord of the Village project will be held in the evening and will be followed by a concert by the folk instruments orchestra named after Belarus People's Artist Leonid Ivanov and The Feedback band. The Kulagin Mogilev DOSAAF Aeroclub will perform demonstration flights of planes and parachutists.

The gala concert will begin on the main stage at 21h30 and will wrap up with a colorful fireworks display. The festivities will continue with the youth disco featuring Ivan Vabishchevich, artists of the Mogilev Regional Philharmonic and the country's leading DJs.

The best agricultural workers of Mogilev Oblast will be honored in an official ceremony on the second day of the festival that will also feature the folk instruments orchestra named after Belarus People's Artist Leonid Ivanov and the Pesnyary band. The program of the second day also includes a circus festival and a concert by Belarusian song and dance company Medunitsa.

Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Partisan Chronicles

Праздник Купалье "Александрия собирает друзей" | Belarus.by
В Беларусь без визы на 30 дней
Официальный сайт Республики Беларусь
Туризм

Календарь событий в Беларуси
Достопримечательности Беларуси
Всемирное наследие ЮНЕСКО в Беларуси
Белорусские санатории и курорты
Сувениры из Беларуси

| Главная | Туризм | Этнотуризм | Александрия собирает друзей

Праздник Купалье "Александрия собирает друзей"


Окутанный мифами и легендами, древний праздник Купалье белорусы любят и бережно сохраняют уже многие века. Каждый год в конце июня и начале июля по всей стране его отмечают красивыми гуляниями – плетут купальские венки и загадывают желания, зажигают костры, поют песни и ищут таинственную папараць-кветку

А самой большой праздничной площадкой, где Купалье проходит с международным размахом, в современной Беларуси стал агрогородок Александрия. В Шкловский район Могилёвской области съезжаются тысячи гостей, чтобы в одну из самых коротких летних ночей насладиться ярким действом на живописном берегу "реки дружбы" – Днепра.

Александрия "собирает друзей" не только со всей Беларуси, но и стран-соседок – России и Украины. Три восточнославянских народа вместе празднуют Купалье вот уже почти 10 лет: первый масштабный фестиваль состоялся в 2010 году, а в 2011-м на нём побывали участники из Смоленской и Киевской областей. Традиция закрепилась, и с каждым годом к хозяевам-белорусам, россиянам и украинцам присоединяется всё больше друзей и из других стран.

Место проведения тоже знаковое. С древних времён река Днепр объединяла три восточнославянских народа, была артерией знаменитого пути "из варяг в греки", связывавшего судьбы людей, города и государства.

Сегодня мост, рядом с которым проходит фестиваль, соединяет два района и две области Беларуси – Шкловский на Могилёвщине и Оршанский на Витебщине. Он связывает городской посёлок Копысь и Александрию – малую родину Президента страны. Александр Лукашенко поддержал идею проведения праздника братских народов, которых объединяют общие традиции, исторические и культурные события.

Купалье в Александрии стало настоящим культурным брендом Беларуси. И если первый праздник на Могилёвщине собрал 3 тысячи человек, то в 2018 году на фестивале побывало более 110 тысяч гостей, в том числе из Литвы, Латвии, Эстонии, Польши и Германии.

Растёт и территория праздника, а вместе  с ней – калейдоскоп купальских событий. Это и народные забавы – хороводы, прыжки через костёр, плетение венков, поиск папараць-кветкi, и "город мастеров", и масштабные выставки-ярмарки, аттракционы, мастер-классы, конкурсы.

Кульминацией праздника неизменно становится гала-концерт. На сцене в Александрии побывали такие зарубежные и белорусские звёзды, как Александр Буйнов, Нина Шарубина, Вера Брежнева, Таисия Повалий, Тина Кароль, Игорь Корнелюк, Алёна Ланская, Александр Солодуха, Сергей Трофимов, Искуи Абалян, Инна Афанасьева и многие другие.

История фестиваля

Свою историю Купалье в Александрии как масштабный фест начинает с 2010 года. Праздник посетил глава государства Александр Лукашенко и, после знакомства с фестивальными подворьями, отметил, что приятно удивлён вниманию к празднику – на мероприятие съехались гости из окрестных сёл, деревень, а также из Орши, Шклова, Могилёва и Минска.

Одному из полноправных "героев" Купалья в Александрии – Днепру, был посвящён праздник 2011 года. На гала-концерте впервые выступили зарубежные артисты: в "Купалье над Днепром" принимали участие гости из России и Украины.

На празднике-2012 экспозиция "Города мастеров" развернулась на берегу Днепра в виде знаменитого купальского символа – солнца, лучами которого стали улицы ремесленников из трёх стран. Также впервые была проведена обширная деловая программа – заседание Ассоциации торгово-промышленных палат стран Приднепровья, встречи бизнес-кругов Беларуси, Российской Федерации и Украины, работа выставочного павильона.

В 2013 году на Купалье в Александрии были презентованы новые проекты, прошли фестивали льна, кваса, пива, мастер-классы участников международного пленэра по керамике "Арт-жыжаль", выставка "Археологические находки Верхнего Поднепровья"…

Первый юбилей праздника – в 2014 году – объединил три масштабные ярмарки: Нижегородскую (Россия), Сорочинскую (Украина) и Александрийскую (Беларусь). Основное действо развернулось на театрализованной площадке "Гасцёўня бульбаша" в стилизованной белорусской хате, где гостей удивляли необычными развлечениями и угощали десятками национальных блюд из картофеля.

В 2015 году на фестивальной сцене впервые представили мюзикл Максима Сокола "Папараць-кветка". После яркого дебюта постановка отправилась покорять города Беларуси. Устраивать театрализованные представления стало ещё одной доброй традицией Купалья в Александрии.

В купальский "Город дружбы" в 2016 году на Минскую, Московскую и Киевскую "улицы" прибыли гости из стран-соседок, чтобы представить свою культуру, угостить блюдами национальной кухни,  создать колоритную атмосферу весёлой славянской ярмарки. Кроме того, впервые была организована экскурсия по главным локациям Купалья. А после "Александрыйскай вандроўкi" гости с удовольствием наблюдали, как сбывается "Купальская казка".

В 2017 году праздник в Александрии уже в статусе международного фестиваля представил зрителям эстрадно-цирковую постановку "Купальскі сон" с участием коллективов из России, Украины, Литвы, Латвии, Эстонии и Польши.

Кульминацией праздника в 2018 году стал мюзикл "Малая родина", вторая же часть фестиваля была посвящёна Дням культуры Украины в Беларуси. Гостей развлекали на Сорочинской ярмарке, угощали борщом и галушками, удивляли конным театрализованным шоу "Киевская Русь".

Купальский фестиваль "Александрия собирает друзей"-2019

Главной темой юбилейного праздника Купалье в Александрии стало трёхлетие малой родины. В течение двух дней – 6 и 7 июля – на берегу Днепра проходили народные гуляния. Участники из 7 стран – Беларуси, России, Украины, Эстонии, Литвы, Латвии и Польши – выступали на сцене и показывали мастерство на выставке-ярмарке.

Для гостей праздника были оборудованы развлекательные площадки: "Творчасць маладых" с музыкально-игровой программой "Казка пра чароўную кветку", концертами молодёжных коллективов и квестами; зона цирковых выступлений; воркаут-локация; аттракционы для самых юных посетителей Купалья.

В насыщенной программе фестиваля был и "Праздник кваса" с презентацией брендового напитка праздника, приготовленного по уникальному рецепту, и "Кніжны кірмаш", "Друкарскі двор, концерты, дискотеки.

Кульминацией "Купалья" в Александрии-2019 стал гала-концерт "Зроблена ў Беларусі", в котором приняли участие звёзды белорусской и зарубежной эстрады – Юлия Быкова, Тина Кароль, Александр Солодуха, Алёна Ланская, Лев Лещенко, Анатолий Ярмоленко…

По традиции на Купалье в свои родные места приехал и Президент Беларуси. "Мы здесь с чистым сердцем предлагаем каждому гостю свои самые ценные сокровища – культурные, духовные, ремесленные и кулинарные. И дополняем их знаменитым белорусским гостеприимством, которого нигде в мире не найдёшь. Я это говорю не потому, что я здесь и это моя малая родина. Я посетил все уголки мира за эти годы, и нет такого гостеприимного народа, как белорусы. Это наш бренд, наша особенность, – сказал Александр Лукашенко. – Убеждён: наши встречи должны продолжаться!"

"Александрия собирает друзей"-2020: впервые под патронатом ЮНЕСКО

Ежегодный праздник "Купалье" ("Александрия собирает друзей") на берегу Днепра в агрогородке Александрия Шкловского района состоится 11-12 июля. В этом году он впервые пройдёт под патронатом ЮНЕСКО.

За 10 лет фестиваль в Александрии стал брендом страны. Он привлекает многочисленных гостей не только из Беларуси, но и России, Украины, Польши, Литвы, Латвии, Эстонии и других стран мира. В прошлом году праздник посетили более 65 тысяч человек.

В этом году на празднике в Александрии все районы Беларуси и город Минск представят свои экспозиционно-тематические подворья, где гости смогут насладиться брендовыми фестивалями, творческими конкурсами и пленэрами, другими мероприятиями, которые отражают уникальный образ каждой области в стране.

В первый день фестиваля будет работать экскурсионный маршрут по тематическим площадкам. Гости смогут посетить выставку продукции Минского тракторного завода, выставку-продажу хлебобулочных изделий и праздник кваса, молодёжную экспозицию "Коридор эпох", "Александрийский кирмаш" с купальскими подворьями. Приедут в Александрию и финалисты республиканского семейного сельскохозяйственного конкурса "Властелин села".

Во время "Праздника книги" можно будет познакомиться с национальным литературным наследием. Будет презентована программа, посвящённая Дню белорусской письменности, который в этом году пройдёт в Белыничах 6 сентября.

Развернётся на площадке фестиваля цирк-шапито. Неподалеку от шатра гостям предложат посмотреть разнообразные шоу и эстрадно-цирковые представления.

Продемонстрирует своё мастерство вокальный ансамбль "Весялуха" Могилёвской областной филармонии. Состоится показ новых льняных коллекций одежды белорусских производителей. Маленькие гости "Купалья" смогут посетить детскую дискотеку, где выступят творческие коллективы, участники телешоу "Голос. Дети" из Могилёевской области, клоуны и аниматоры.

Торжественная церемония открытия республиканского праздника пройдёт в 17.00. Вслед за ней – эстрадно-развлекательная программа с участием артистов Могилёвской областной филармонии. Вечером наградят победителей и участников проекта "Властелин села". Выступит с концертом заслуженный коллектив Беларуси – оркестр народных инструментов имени Л.Л.Иванова с участием белорусской группы The Feedback. Одновременно пройдут демонстрационные полёты самолётов и парашютистов Могилёвского аэроклуба ДОСААФ имени А.М.Кулагина.

Гала-концерт "Моя Александрия" начнётся на главной площадке в 21.30. По его завершении гостей ждёт красочный фейерверк. Продолжатся гулянья молодёжной дискотекой с участием Ивана Вабищевича, артистов Могилёвской областной филармонии и ведущих диджеев страны.

Во второй день фестиваля пройдёт торжественная церемония награждения передовиков агропромышленного комплекса Могилёвщины в сопровождении оркестра народных инструментов имени Л.Л.Иванова, выступит ансамбль "Песняры". В это же время начнётся праздник цирка. Запланирован концерт заслуженного коллектива Беларуси ансамбля песни и танца "Медуница".

Памятники Великой Отечественной войны в Беларуси
Проект