Official Website of the Republic of Belarus

Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | Government | Official documents

Official documents

7 Aug 2019

Visa-free travel area, travel time expanded in Brest Oblast, Grodno Oblast

Visa-free travel area, travel time expanded in Brest Oblast, Grodno Oblast

MINSK, 7 August (BelTA) – Belarus President Aleksandr Lukashenko has signed a decree to adjust regulations on visa-free travels of foreign citizens, BelTA has learned.

The existing separate visa-free travel areas around Brest and Grodno have been combined into one visa-free travel area named Brest-Grodno. Five districts in Grodno Oblast have been added to the new area. Those are Berestovitsa District, Volkovysk District, Voronovo District, Lida District, and Shchuchin District.

Citizens of 73 countries will be allowed to stay without visas in the specified area for tourism purposes for up to 15 days. Apart from that, two more border checkpoints – Benyakoni and Berestovitsa – will be opened to visa-free travelers.

Foreigners will be able to travel across the entirety of the western regions, provided they do so as part of organized tourist groups and drop by in the visa-free travel area Brest-Grodno.

The new presidential decree continues the Belarusian government’s concerted efforts meant to encourage transboundary human contacts. It is also a testimony to the open and friendly nature of Belarus’ foreign policy. The document will help enhance the tourism appeal of Belarus and will contribute to economic growth in the areas near the border.

The decree will come into force three months after the official publication.

Meanwhile, foreigners do not need visas to enter Belarus and stay in the country for up to 30 days, provided they arrive in the country via the Minsk National Airport.

Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus