Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | News | Press releases

Press releases

8 Jul 2019

BSPU rector awarded French Order of Academic Palms

BSPU rector awarded French Order of Academic Palms
Aleksandr Zhuk. An archive photo

MINSK, 8 July (BelTA) – Prime Minister of France Edouard Philippe awarded the Order of Academic Palms to Rector of the Belarusian State Pedagogical University (BSPU) Aleksandr Zhuk, BelTA learned from the BSPU press service.

The press release of the press service reads that Aleksandr Zhuk has been awarded in recognition of a big personal contribution to the integration of Belarusian higher education in the European educational space and the development of educational cooperation with French partners.

For several years Aleksandr Zhuk has been Belarus’ coordinator in the Council of Europe’s program on the professional advancement of teachers (1995-1999). In September-October 2003, Aleksandr Zhuk, the then education minister, represented Belarus in the education commission at the 32nd session of the UNESCO General Conference in Paris. In March 2009, he led the delegation of the Education Ministry at the Bologna Process conference in Strasbourg. At present Aleksandr Zhuk is the vice president of the Association of Rectors of Pedagogical Universities in Europe.

The Order of Academic Palms is a French award bestowed upon distinguished figures in the world of science and education. It was instituted by Emperor Napoleon on 19 March 1808 as a decoration to honor eminent members of the University of Paris. At present the Order of Academic Palms is an order of merit conferred on persons in recognition of their big contribution to popular education, promotion of the French culture in other countries. Candidates for the award are considered by the Council of the Order of Academic Palms which is led by the French minister of education. A list of awardees is approved by the prime minister of France.

Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus