Belarus Visa-Free: Now For 30 Days
Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Year of Native Land in Belarus
Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | News | Press releases

Press releases

24 Oct 2017

Belarusian philologist wins CIS award

MOSCOW, 24 October (BelTA) – The Belarusian philologist, Director of the Yanka Kupala Literature Studies Institute of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus, member of the Presidium of the Union of Writers of Belarus, Professor and Doctor of Philology Ivan Saverchenko has become a laureate of the international award Stars of the Commonwealth, the press service of the CIS Intergovernmental Foundation for Educational, Scientific and Cultural Cooperation (IFESCCO) told BelTA.

Ivan Saverchenko has written multiple historical novels and essays about prominent Belarusians of the past. His books are widely used to teach university students in the CIS states. He has written 114 scientific papers on philology, history and philosophy, including eight monographies. He has prepared for publication seven Belarusian literature artifacts dating from the 10th century to the first half of the 20th century. They have been put together and adapted for Russian-speaking readers for the first time.

Laureates of this year’s award Stars of the Commonwealth also include representatives of seven CIS states. The number includes the Azerbaijani painter Farhad Gurban oglu Khalilov, the Armenian composer Tigran Mansuryan, Deputy Director of the Astana Opera and Ballet Theater Toleubek Alpiyev, Chairman of the Physics and Technology Science, Math, Mining and Geology Science Department of the National Academy of Sciences of Kyrgyzstan Altai Borubayev, the Moldovan composer Evgeny Doga, the Russian choreographer Yuri Grigorovich, and the Tajikistan People’s Artist Mashrab Ibodullo Rakhmon.

The award ceremony will take place in Moscow in December 2017 as part of the Forum of Creative and Scientific Intellectuals of the Commonwealth of Independent States.

The Stars of the Commonwealth Award has been instituted by the CIS Humanitarian Cooperation Council and the CIS Intergovernmental Foundation for Educational, Scientific and Cultural Cooperation (IFESCCO). The award is bestowed in recognition of the most significant achievements in humanitarian activities that meet the world level and promote the development of every CIS member state and the Commonwealth of Independent States in general. The award is presented in three nominations: for achievements in science and education, culture and art, and humanitarian activities. Up to three awards are bestowed in each nomination.


Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Partisan Chronicles