Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | News | Press releases

Press releases

10 Dec 2015

Belarus sets up organizing committee for 2016 EuroHockey Indoor Championships

MINSK, 10 December (BelTA) – The organizing committee for the 2016 EuroHockey Indoor Championships (Women) was set up with resolution of the Prime Minister of Belarus No.421p of 10 December 2015, BelTA has learned.

The organizing committee for the forthcoming championships will be headed by Belarus’ Sport and Tourism Minister Alexander Shamko. The document also named the members of the committee that are instructed to confirm the corresponding action plan.

As was earlier informed, the 2016 EuroHockey Indoor Championships (Women) will be held in Minsk on 22-24 January 2016. The Palace of Sports will be the main venue for the games. Minsk was given the right to host the tournament by the European Hockey Federation (EHF) that makes part of the International Hockey Federation (FIH).

Partaking in the 2016 EuroHockey Indoor Championships (Women) will be the Netherlands (European and world current champions; tops the FIH standings), Germany (many-time European and world champions; 2nd in the FIH standings), Austria (3rd in the FIH standings), the Czech Republic (4th), Poland (5th), Belarus (6th), Ukraine (2010 European champion; 7th in the FIH standings) and Belgium (11th in the FIH standings). The teams will be divided into two groups. Group A will consist of the Netherlands, the Czech Republic, Poland and Belgium. Group B will comprise Germany, Austria, Belarus and Ukraine. Two best teams from each group will advance into the playoffs. Medal games will take place on 24 January.

Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus