2nd European Games MINSK 2019
Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Kupala Night Festival Alexandria Gathers Friends
Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | Government | Events


30 Nov 2017

CSTO heads of state in Belarus for summit

MINSK, 30 November (BelTA) – All the CSTO heads of state have arrived in Belarus for the CSTO Collective Security Council summit. The event will take place at the Palace of Independence in the second half of the day, BelTA informs.

Kyrgyzstan President Sooronbay Jeenbekov arrived in Minsk on 29 November. Kazakhstan President Nursultan Nazarbayev is on an official visit to Belarus on 29-30 November.

Tajikistan President Emomali Rahmon and Armenia President Serzh Sargsyan arrived in Minsk early on 30 November.

Russian President Vladimir Putin’s aircraft landed in Minsk National Airport several minutes ago.

The summiteers will take stock of Belarus’ presidency in the CSTO in 2017. Belarus’ presidency goals were to increase the influence of the organization in the international arena, enhance the operational readiness of the Collective Forces, ensure economic security of the member states and implement a set of additional measures to combat international terrorism, the spread of drugs and illegal migration in the CSTO area.

The heads of state are expected to adopt a number of decisions on various areas of the CSTO activity, including the priorities of the Belarusian presidency in the organization.

The participants of the forum will discuss the development trends of the international situation and the measures taken to strengthen the collective security of the CSTO.

According to CSTO spokesman Vladimir Zainetdinov, the CSTO Collective Security Council will consider more than 20 issues during its session in Minsk on 30 November. The Collective Security Council comprises the heads of state of Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Tajikistan. In 2016-2017 Chairman of the Collective Security Council of the Collective Security Treaty Organization is Belarus President Alexander Lukashenko. The Collective Security Council meeting will be held in a restricted format and as a plenary session. Attending the meeting will be CSTO Secretary General Yuri Khachaturov.

The Collective Security Treaty Organization comprises six states: Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, and Tajikistan. The organization’s key tasks is to ensure national and collective security of its member states, strengthen their military and political cooperation and integration, coordination of foreign political positions in international and regional security matters, cooperation against challenges and threats, and also military and technical cooperation.


Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Partisan Chronicles