Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | Government | Events


9 Jun 2020

Belarus puts forward five nominees for Stars of Commonwealth award

Belarus puts forward five nominees for Stars of Commonwealth award
An archive photo

MOSCOW, 9 June (BelTA) - Eight countries have put forward their nominees for the 2020 CIS main humanitarian award Stars of the Commonwealth, BelTA learned from the press service of the CIS Interstate Humanitarian Cooperation Fund.

“The award is presented annually to representatives of the CIS in recognition of the most significant world-level humanitarian achievements which promote the development of every CIS member state and the CIS in general. This time 17 people have been nominated for the high award, among them are writers and artists, scientists and teachers, physicists, historians, chemists and doctors. The longest list of applicants - 5 people – has been submitted by Belarus. The jury, which will include representatives of all CIS countries, will select the laureates from the shortlist, one from each country,” the fund informed.

This year, Belarus has nominated People’s Artist of the USSR, actor of the Yanka Kupala National Academic Theater Gennady Ovsyannikov, Director of the National Center of Cardiology, academician at the National Academy of Sciences Aleksandr Mrochek, a team of Director General of the Joint Institute of Informatics Problems Aleksandr Tuzikov, director of the Geoinformation Systems company Sergei Zolotoy and head of the department of the Institute of Informatics Problems Sergei Korenyako.

The Stars of the Commonwealth Award was established by the CIS Humanitarian Cooperation Council and the CIS Interstate Fund for Humanitarian Cooperation in 2010. The award is presented in three nominations: for achievements in science and education, culture and art, and humanitarian activities. The prize consists of a monetary reward of RUB2 million, a diploma, an honorary badge of the laureate and a certificate to it. Up to three awards are bestowed in each nomination.

The Stars of the Commonwealth award was first presented in 2010. At that time, among its laureates was a team of researchers of the Joint Institute of Informatics Problems of the National Academy of Sciences of Belarus. In 2011, the award was presented to composer Igor Luchenok and employees of the National Children's Education and Health Center Zubrenok. In 2012, the award went to Anatoly Yarmolenko, the artistic director of the Syabry band, in 2013 - to writer Nikolai Cherginets, in 2014 – to the then director general, editor-in-chief of the Zvyazda publishing house Aleksandr Karlyukevich and first deputy director of the Zvyazda publishing house, the editor-in-chief of the Neman magazine Aleksandr Badak, in 2015 - artist Rostislav Yankovsky, in 2016 - the team of the Central Botanical Garden. In 2019, the award was presented to four-time Olympic biathlon champion Daria Domracheva. Last year, the award was given to a team of Belarusian scientists who have made scientific developments in the field of metallurgy.

The new winners will be announced at the forum of the CIS Creative and Scientific Intellectuals due in Uzbekistan this year.

Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus