Belarus Visa-Free: Now For 30 Days
Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | News | Press releases

Press releases

25 Jul 2018

Belarus to welcome record number of countries at 2018 Junior Eurovision

MINSK, 25 July (BelTA) – A record-breaking number of countries will take part in the 2018 Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Belarus. Nineteen states have officially confirmed their participation, BelTA learned from the press service of the Belarusian Television and Radio Company.

“Today the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) presented to the Belarusian Television and Radio Company, the organizer of the 2018 Junior Eurovision, the list of countries that intend to take part in this year’s edition. The participation in the 2018 Junior Eurovision was officially confirmed by 19 countries: Albania, Armenia, Australia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, France, Macedonia, Georgia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Kazakhstan, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Serbia, the Netherlands, Wales (the UK),” the press service said.

Sixteen countries took part in the first contest in 2003. The song contest held in Minsk in 2010 featured 14 participants. Last year’s edition in Georgia saw 16 young talents participating in the contest.

According to the rules, 18 countries can take part in the contest. This year, however, EBU and the Belarusian Television and Radio Company included Israel, the winner of the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in the list of this year’s children’s song forum.

The 2018 Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Belarus in November 2018. The organizer and coordinator of the contest is the Belarusian Television and Radio Company as the country’s only EBU member.

Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Partisan Chronicles