Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | News | Press releases

Press releases

9 Jan 2017

Belarus introduces five-day visa-free regime for citizens of 80 countries

MINSK, 9 January (BelTA) – Belarus President Alexander Lukashenko signed Decree No. 8 “On the introduction of the visa-free entry and departure for foreign citizens” on 9 January, BelTA learned from the press service of the Belarusian leader.

Belarus introduces five-day visa-free regime for citizens of 80 countriesThe document introduces the visa-free entry through the border checkpoint at the Minsk National Airport and the visa-free stay in Belarus for up to 5 days for the citizens of 80 states.

These are 39 countries of Europe, including the entire European Union, Brazil, Indonesia, the USA, Japan, and other countries.

First of all, these are favorable countries in terms of migration, Belarus’ strategic partners which have introduced visa-free regimes for Belarusian citizens on a unilateral basis. New regulations also apply to the non-citizens of Latvia and stateless persons of Estonia.

The document aims to raise the number of business trips, tourism and private visits of people with regular passports and will not apply to foreigners on official trips with diplomatic, service, special and similar passports.

Belarus introduces five-day visa-free regime for citizens of 80 countriesA valid passport or other document permitting foreign travels, money (equivalent to at least two base amounts for each day of stay in the foreign currency or Belarusian rubles), medical insurance in the amount of at least €10,000 operational in Belarus will be needed for the visa-free entry.

The citizens of Vietnam, Haiti, Gambia, Honduras, India, China, Lebanon, Namibia, Samoa should also have a valid multi-visa to the EU states or the Schengen Area with a mark confirming the entry to their territory, plane tickets with a confirmation of the departure from the Minsk National Airport within 5 days after the date of the entry.

The visa-free regime does not apply to people arriving to Belarus by plane from Russia and planning to go to the airports of Russia (these are internal flights with no border control).

The decree will enter into force in a month after its official publication.

Five-day visa-free regime to enter into force in Belarus on 12 February 2017

Belarus introduces five-day visa-free regime for citizens of 80 countriesBelarus introduces five-day visa-free regime for citizens of 80 countriesList of countries whose citizens are exempt from visa requirements for five-day visits to Belarus

1. Albania
2. Andorra
3. Antigua and Barbuda
4. Argentina
5. Australia
6. Austria
7. Bahrain
8. Barbados
9. Belgium
10. Bosnia and Herzegovina
11. Brazil
12. Bulgaria
13. Canada
14. Chile
15. Croatia
16. Cyprus
17. Czech Republic
18. Denmark
19. Dominica
20. El Salvador
21. Estonia****
22. Federated States of Micronesia
23. Finland
24. France
25. Gambia*
26. Germany
27. Greece
28. Haiti*
29. Honduras*
30. Hong Kong - Special Administrative Region of China**
31. Hungary
32. Iceland
33. India*
34. Indonesia
35. Ireland
36. Italy
37. Japan
38. Korea (Republic)
39. Kuwait
40. Latvia***
41. Lebanon*
42. Liechtenstein
43. Lithuania
44. Luxembourg
45. Macao (Macau) - Special Administrative Region of China**
46. Macedonia
47. Malaysia
48. Malta
49. Monaco
50. Namibia*
51. Netherlands
52. New Zealand
53. Nicaragua
54. Norway
55. Oman
56. Order of Malta**
57. Panama
58. People's Republic of China*
59. Peru
60. Poland
61. Portugal
62. Romania
63. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
64. Samoa*
65. San Marino
66. Saudi Arabia
67. Seychelles
68. Singapore
69. Slovakia
70. Slovenia
71. Spain
72. Sweden
73. Switzerland
74. United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
75. United Mexican States
76. United States of America
77. Uruguay
78. Vanuatu
79. Vatican
80. Vietnam*

* A traveler must have a valid document for traveling abroad with a valid multiple-entry visa of one of the European Union member states or the Schengen Area member states bearing a European Union or Schengen Area entry stamp, and also tickets with a return date from Minsk National Airport.
*** Including persons who have "non-citizen" status in the Republic of Latvia.
**** Including stateless persons permanently residing in the Republic of Estonia.

How to visit Belarus without a visa

Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus