Belarus Visa-Free: Now For 30 Days
Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Year of Native Land in Belarus
Press centre
Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | Press centre | Press releases

Press releases

11 Jan 2014

Teo chosen as Eurovision Belarus’ entry

Belarus’ representative at the 2014 Eurovision Song ContestMINSK, 11 January (BelTA) – Yuri Vashchuk whose stage name is Teo has been confirmed as Belarus’ representative at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest in Denmark. The composer, arranger, soloist of the National Academic Concert Orchestra of Belarus conducted by Mikhail Finberg won the national final selection round of the international song competition on 10 January, BelTA has learnt.

This year the final show produced some kind of an intrigue. The name of the winner should have been announced following the vote of the professional jury and TV viewers. It turned out that Teo and Max Lorens and DiDuLa duet scored 20 points each. The panel of judges decided to have another vote, between the two contestants. The jury were unanimous in supporting Teo.

At the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest Teo will be performing the song, Cheesecake. A video clip for the song has been already released.

Yuri Vashchuk Yuri Vashchuk was born in 1983. As a child he took accordion classes in the music school and was a prize-holder of the international competition Proleski. He received a musical degree in Grodno College of Arts and Belarusian State University of Culture and Arts. In 2000 Yuri Vashchuk was invited to join the National Academic Concert Orchestra of Belarus conducted by Mikhail Finberg. Yuri Vashchuk cooperates with many Belarusian and foreign performers both as an arranger and composer. He is a music co-author of two Russian films. Yuri Vashchuk is the National Music Award holder.

The 2014 Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Copenhagen, Denmark, with the semifinals scheduled for 6 and 8 May and the final show due on 10 May 2014. The slogan of this year’s contest is Join Us. Denmark hosted the song contest twice, in 1964 and 2001. Emmelie de Forest won the contest for Denmark in 2013.

Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Partisan Chronicles