Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | News | Presidential election 2015

Presidential election 2015 in Belarus

20 Jul 2015

Belarus’ CEC completes registration of initiative groups

Belarus’ CEC completes registration of initiative groupsMINSK, 20 July (BelTA) – The Central Election Commission (CEC) of Belarus completed the registration of initiative groups to nominate candidates for the post of the President of Belarus on 20 July, BelTA informs.

The Central Election Commission has registered eight initiative groups. Among them are the initiative groups to nominate Viktor Tereshchenko, Nikolai Ulakhovich, Zhanna Romanovskaya, Tatiana Korotkevich and Anatoly Lebedko for the post of the President of Belarus. The initiative group of Viktor Tereshchenko has comprised 946 people, that of Nikolai Ulakhovich – 1,426 people. The initiative group of Zhanna Romanovskaya has made up 110 voters, that of Tatiana Korotkevich – 1,993, Anatoly Lebedko – 977 citizens.

The CEC denied Andrei Konovets in the registration of his initiative group. The nominee has not met one of the rules for the nomination of candidates for the post of the President i.e. to live 10 years in Belarus ahead of the election. Apart from it, the documents on the registration of his initiative group were not filled properly. They lacked names of its members, their passport data, places of residence, had other mistakes. The Central Election Commission also denied the registration of the initiative groups of Nikolai Statkevich (the man’s conviction has not been removed from official records), Irina Pershina (the initiative group has comprised only 39 citizens, the rest of information is not full or false), Sergei Zablotsky (the application to register his initiative group with a lot of mistakes has been received by mail), Tamara Biryukova (the initiative group has comprised 53 people, there were no information on its head and coordinators), Alexander Yudayev (94 members of the initiative group).

On 17 July the CEC registered the initiative groups of Alexander Lukashenko, Sergei Kalyakin and Sergei Gaidukevich. The initiative group to nominate Alexander Lukashenko has included 10,577 people. The initiative group to nominate Sergei Kalyakin was to comprise 1,511 people. However, one stateless person was excluded from the group. The group to nominate Sergei Gaidukevich has comprised 2,484 citizens. However, a decision was taken to exclude three persons from it as two of them were under 18 and one person had the Russian citizenship.

As was earlier informed, on 14-17 July the Central Election Commission received documents to the registration of 14 initiative groups. One more application from veteran Viktor Tolmachev was received on 20 July. The CEC considered the application and decided on denying the registration of his initiative group.

Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa
Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus