Visiting Belarus without a visa: 5 days for citizens of 80 countries
Official Website of the Republic of Belarus
The 27th international festival of arts Slavianski Bazaar of Vitebsk
About Belarus

Belarus Events Calendar
Belarus’ Top Tourist Sites
UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Belarus
Belarusian sanatoria and health resorts
Souvenirs from Belarus
| Home | About Belarus | Natural history and wildlife | Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve

Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve


The Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve is the gem of the Belarusian Poozerye (Lake District), one of the oldest protected areas in Belarus of the highest rank. It has gained international fame as a model of undisturbed wilderness not only of the CIS but also all over Europe.

Today there are only two reserves in Belarus: Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve and the Polesie State Radioecological Reserve. Set up in the wake of the man-made environmental disaster, the Polesie reserve is a place of rehabilitation and research. It is virtually closed to tourists. The Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve is a protected area of untouched diverse wildlife which began to take shape thousands of years ago after the meltdown of the ancient glaciers. And it is open to visitors!

The reserve is home to four types of ecosystems: forests, rivers, meadows and deep bogs. Wetlands cover about 60% of the territory of the reserve and are part of the natural riches of Belarus, thanks to which the country is called "the lungs of Europe". It is not just words: more than 2.5 million hectares of wetlands in Belarus (11.5% of the country’s territory) play a crucial role in maintaining the biosphere and microclimate of the region.

To date, 1,348 bogs or about 863,000 hectares have survived in the country in the natural or near-natural state. It was precisely the Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve that became one of the first conservation areas important for the protection of the wetland ecosystems of Belarus.

Learn more about the nature of Belarus

However, wetlands are not the only treasures of the Berezinsky reserve. For example, today it is the only place, not only in Belarus but also across the continent, that is home to the famous Europe’s Big 5 - European bison, moose, bear, wolf, and lynx. Only here you can see all of them at the same time.

History of Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve

The history of the reserve began with one person. After the First World War an expedition led by BSU Professor Anatoly Fedyushin found around 20 colonies of the beaver, previously thought extinct, in the upper Berezina River.  The animal was heavily hunted due to the expensive fur and virtually disappeared in Belarus. In Berezinsky scientists also found the specimens of bear, elk, wild boar, wood grouse, white grouse.

To preserve the rare ecosystem, the reserve was formally established on 30 January 1925. Hunting, fishing, and logging were banned on its territory. Serious research of flora and fauna was launched.

During the Great Patriotic War, the Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve became the center of the partisan movement in northern Belarus. Dense forests, swamps, numerous rivers, the lack of roads, plenty of game - all this really helped partisan fighters. But the war brought great losses to the reserve: scientific archives and collections were lost, the museum and other buildings were destroyed. So were the beaver farm and the elk nursery.

It was decades later that environmental protection activities resumed in the biosphere reserve along with large-scale research and monitoring…

The status of the Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve has been confirmed at the highest international level. The reserve is part of:

  • UNESCO World Network of Biosphere Reserves "Man and the Biosphere" (since 1979)
  • European Network of Biogenetic Reserves (since 1994)
  • List of Wetlands of International Importance (the Ramsar List) since 2010 
  • Wetland Link International (2011)
  • Berezinsky was awarded the European Diploma of Protected Areas in 1995 and became partner of the European Wilderness Society in 2014.

The emblem of the Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve symbolizes its treasures. The traditional shield features blue rivers, bogs, centuries-old trees, and also a bear, beavers, and a wood grouse.

Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve today

The Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve occupies a huge area of 131,785 hectares in Lepel District and Dokshitsy District (Vitebsk Oblast), and in Borisov District (Minsk Oblast).

Today these pristine areas are inhabited by:

  • 56 mammal species, including Europe’s Big 5 - European bison, moose, bear (one-third of the Belarusian population of bears), wolf, and lynx
  • 234 bird species
  • 34 fish species
  • 16 to 17 species of amphibians and reptiles.

The rich flora of the reserve comprises over 2,000 plant species, 88 of them are included in Belarus’ Red Book of Endangered Species.

The Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve is also a special hydrographic area which marks the watershed between the basins of the Baltic Sea and the Black Sea. The Berezina, the longest river in Belarus, one of the Dnieper River tributaries, originates in local bogs. This is the river after which the biosphere reserve was named.

The hydrographic network of the Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve comprises 69 rivers with a total length of 280 kilometers and numerous streams which unite 7 lakes:

  • Palik (the largest one, 712 hectares)
  • Olshitsa
  • Plavno
  • Manets
  • Domzheritskoye
  • Moskovitsa
  • Postrezhskoye

Thanks to waterways which were used back in the days of the ancient trade route from the Varangians to the Greeks, the main historical landmark of the biosphere reserve - the Berezina Water System - was built in 1791-1805. This is an elaborate hydrotechnical system set up in woods and bogs. It enabled direct connection between the rivers of the Black Sea basin and the Baltic Sea basin. Six canals were built there along with fourteen sluices and six levees.

Merchants used the Berezina Water System to export ship timber, tar, resin, charcoal, fur, bread, and flax from Belarus and to import metals, goods, and food products to the country.

Over the years, the canals have shallowed, and the wooden hydrotechnical constructions got destroyed with time. However, they still attract interest as historical sites and tourist destinations. Apart from that, they have become the domain of local fauna: beavers, ducks, and otters.

Eco-tourism in Berezinsky: Nature Beauty, Adventure Sports and Mythology

A variety of bike, horse, ski and hiking eco paths cross the major local landmarks. Berezinsky provides a variety of opportunities to explore bear trails, climb the viewing tower to savor a picturesque landscape, watch animals and birds, or take a fling in the rope park. Rafting amateurs are invited to try the route from the Varangians to the Greeks  and enjoy a canoe trip along the Berezinsky water system.

The Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve also offers some of the adrenaline-pumping excursions, which will be to the liking of outdoor enthusiasts. Equipped with water boots, binocular glasses and lights, guided groups are taken to observe grouse lekking. It is important to note that traveling around Berezinsky is allowed only as part of a guided tour.

Belarus’ only station of baseline monitoring is located in Berezinsky, where visitors can try their hand in meteorology and weather forecasting.

Belarus’ first mythology tourism center was opened in Berezinsky in 2016. Strolling along the path of myths (a mystical atmosphere is created by a special system of visual and sound effects), meeting the reserve’s traditional hero Bolotnik (the spirit of wetlands) and also other spirits Khapun, Kaduk, Kikimora, and Zyuzya, watching singing mermaids and braving a labyrinth – such mythical excursions will appeal to children and adults alike. Another tourist attraction is the mythological museum that takes you on a journey around the World Tree.

The Museum of Nature can tell a lot about the animals that live in the reserve. The exposition displays different species of mammals, birds and fish in full size.

The forest zoo features a variety of the Belarusian fauna, including bear, bison, deer, elk, roe, wild boar, raccoon dog, fox, wolf and lynx. The local zoo is also home to different species of birds. Storks, viewed as the symbol of happiness in Belarus, make nests there, while the local pond is inhabited with gracious swans.

Travel Guide and Accommodation

The Central Farmstead of the Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve is located 125km away from Minsk, 140km away from Vitebsk and 37km away from Lepel.

It is easy to get to the Berezinsky area by a route taxi van Minsk-Lepel or commuter buses Minsk-Vitebsk, Minsk-Novopolotsk, Minsk-Polotsk, and Minsk-Lepel. The bus stop “Turning to Domzheritsy” (Minsk-Vitebsk motorway) is 3km away from the central farmstead.

There are a number of choices of accommodation in the Berezinsky Biosphere Reserve:

  • Plavno and Serguch hotels;
  • Nivki tourism center;
  • Bereshche eco-tourism center;
  • guest houses Palik, Olshitsa, Zarechnoye, Domzheritskoye Lake;
  • Fisherman and Hunter House

 

Great Patriotic War monuments in Belarus
Visiting Belarus without a visa: 5 days for citizens of 80 countries
Toll roads in Belarus

Березинский биосферный заповедник
В Беларусь без визы на 30 дней
Официальный сайт Республики Беларусь
Год малой родины в Беларуси
О Беларуси

Календарь событий в Беларуси
Достопримечательности Беларуси
Всемирное наследие ЮНЕСКО в Беларуси
Белорусские санатории и курорты
Сувениры из Беларуси

| Главная | О Беларуси | Природа | Березинский биосферный заповедник

Березинский биосферный заповедник


Березинский биосферный заповедник – жемчужина Белорусского Поозерья, одна из старейших природоохранных территорий самого высокого ранга в нашей стране, получившая всемирную известность как эталон нетронутой природы не только СНГ, но и всей Европы.

Сегодня в Беларуси существует всего два заповедникаБерезинский биосферный и Полесский радиационно-экологический. И если Полесский создан после техногенно-экологической катастрофы, является местом реабилитации природной территории, площадкой для научных исследований и практически закрыт для туристов, то Березинский – резерват чистой, редкой по разнообразию, прекрасной дикой природы, которая начала формироваться здесь тысячи лет назад после таяния древних ледников. И увидеть эту красоту может каждый!

Особенность заповедника – соседство сразу 4 типов экосистем: густых лесов, рек, лугов и топких трясин. При этом болота покрывают около 60% территории резервата, являясь частью бесценного природного богатства Беларуси, благодаря которому страну называют "лёгкими Европы". И это не просто образ: более 2,5 млн га болот Беларуси (11,5% от территории страны) играют исключительную роль в поддержании устойчивого состояния биосферы и формировании микроклимата региона.

К настоящему времени в естественном или близком к нему состоянии сохранилось 1348 болот страны – это около 863 тысяч га. И именно Березинский биосферный заповедник стал одной из первых природоохранных территорий, важных для защиты болотных экосистем Беларуси.

Подробнее о природе Беларуси

Впрочем, сокровища Березинского заповедника связаны не только болотными угодьями. Например, сегодня это единственное место не только в Беларуси, но и в масштабах всего континента, где обитает знаменитая Большая европейская пятёрка крупных млекопитающих – зубр, медведь, лось, волк и рысь: только здесь можно увидеть всех их одновременно.

История Березинского биосферного заповедника

А история резервата началась с ещё одного обитателя здешних мест. После Первой мировой войны экспедиция под руководством профессора БГУ Анатолия Федюшина обнаружила в верховьях реки Березины около 20 колоний речного бобра, считавшегося на тот момент исчезнувшим видом. Зверьков так часто истребляли из-за дорогого меха, что они практически исчезли с территории Беларуси. В Березинских местах учёные нашли также особей медведя, лося, кабана, глухаря, белой куропатки.

В заботе о сохранении редкой экосистемы 30 января 1925 года был официально создан заповедник. На его территории запретили охоту, лов рыбы, выруб и сплав леса, начали серьёзные научные исследования флоры и фауны.

Во время Великой Отечественной войны Березинский заповедник стал центром партизанского движения на севере Беларуси. Густые леса, топкие болота, множество рек, отсутствие дорог и просек, большое количество дичи – всё это действительно очень помогало отрядам бойцов. Но война принесла и большие потери заповеднику: были утеряны научные архивы и собранные коллекции, разрушен музей и другие здания, уничтожены бобровая ферма и лосиный питомник.

Только спустя десятилетия в заповеднике вновь началась большая работа по охране территорий, развернулись масштабные исследования и экомониторинг…

Природоохранный статус Березинского биосферного заповедника подтвержден на самом высоком международном уровне:

  • с 1979 г. он состоит во Всемирной сети биосферных резерватов Программы ЮНЕСКО "Человек и биосфера";
  • с 1994 г. входит в Европейскую сеть биогенетических резерватов;
  • в 1995 г. удостоен Европейского диплома природоохранных территорий;
  • с 2010 г. входит в Рамсарский список водно-болотных угодий международного значения;
  • с 2011 г. является членом международной организации Wetland Link International;
  • с 2014 г. – партнер Европейского общества дикой природы European Wilderness Society.

О достоянии Березинского заповедника рассказывает и его эмблема-символ – традиционный щит с изображением главных богатств резервата (голубые реки, болота, вековые деревья) и его обитателей (медведь, бобры, глухарь)…

Березинский биосферный заповедник сегодня

Огромная площадь Березинского заповедника – 131785 га – охватывает территории нескольких административных районов: Лепельского и Докшицкого Витебской области и Борисовского – Минской.

Сегодня эти первозданные места населяют:

  • 56 видов млекопитающих, в том числе Большая европейская пятерка – зубр, лось, медведь (здесь проживает третья часть белорусской популяции косолапых), волк и рысь;
  • 234 вида птиц;
  • 34 вида рыб;
  • 16-17 видов амфибий и рептилий.

Богатая флора заповедника насчитывает более двух тысяч видов растений, в том числе 88 редких, внесенных в Красную книгу Беларуси.

Березинский биосферный заповедник является также особой гидрографической территорией: здесь проходит водораздел бассейнов двух морей – Балтийского и Чёрного, а в местных болотах берёт исток самая длинная река, на всём течении расположенная в Беларуси, один из крупнейших притоков Днепра ­– Березина, которая и дала название заповеднику.
 
Гидрографическая сеть резервата объединяет 69 рек (их общая длина 280 км) и множество ручьев, которые связывают зеркальные глади 7 озер:

  • Палик (самое большое, 712 га)
  • Ольшица
  • Плавно
  • Манец
  • Домжерицкое
  • Московица
  • Пострежское

Благодаря водным артериям, которые служили ещё во времена древнего пути "из варяг в греки", возникла и главная историческая достопримечательность заповедника – построенная в 1797-1805 годах Березинская водная система. Сложный гидротехнический комплекс, созданный среди лесов и болот, позволил наладить прямое сообщение между реками Черноморского и Балтийского бассейнов. Здесь были проложены 6 каналов, возведены 14 шлюзов и 6 плотин.

По Березинской системе в морские порты с белорусских земель вывозили корабельный лес, деготь, смолу и древесный уголь, пушнину, хлеб и лён, привозили металлы и предметы производства, продукты питания.

С годами каналы обмелели, а деревянные гидротехнические сооружения разрушены временем, но как объекты исторического значения и туристические маршруты они действительно интересны. Кроме того, сегодня это ещё и владения представителей местной фауны: бобров, уток, выдр.

Экотуризм в Березинском: красота, экстрим и мифология

Разнообразные виды эко-маршрутов: пешие, велосипедные, конные, лыжные –  пролегают через главные местные достопримечательности. В заповеднике вы можете исследовать медвежьи тропы, взобраться на обзорную вышку, чтобы запечатлеть живописный панорамный вид, понаблюдать за животными и птицами, попробовать свои силы в веревочном парке. Любителям водных сплавов предлагают освоить путь "из варяг в греки" – проплыть на байдарке по Березинской водной системе.

Есть в Березинском заповеднике и экстремальные экскурсии: они подойдут предпочитающим активный отдых туристам. Вооружившись болотными сапогами, биноклем и фонарем, группы посетителей под руководством опытного гида отправляются наблюдать тетеревиный ток. Важно отметить, что нахождение в заповеднике и перемещение по его территории разрешены лишь в сопровождении сотрудников учреждения.
 
Для любителей необычных развлечений заповедник приготовил экскурсию на единственную в Беларуси станцию фонового мониторинга. Здесь посетителям предложат попробовать себя в роли метеорологов: расскажут и покажут, как создается прогноз погоды.

На территории заповедника в 2016 году открыл двери первый в Беларуси центр мифологического туризма. Прогуляться ночью по тропе мифов (особую, мистическую атмосферу создает здесь специальная система визуальных и звуковых эффектов), встретить традиционного персонажа заповедника Болотника и его друзей-духов Хапуна, Кадука, Кикимору, Зюзю, увидеть поющих русалок и пройти настоящий лабиринт – такая мифическая экскурсия увлекает не только детей, но и взрослых. Ещё одним местом притяжения туристов является мифологический музей, где можно совершить "путешествие" по Мировому древу.

Больше узнать об обитающих в заповеднике животных предлагают в Музее природы. В его экспозициях представлены различные виды млекопитающих, птиц и рыб в натуральную величину.

Увидеть вблизи богатство фауны Беларуси можно в лесном зоопарке, где в просторных вольерах разместились обитатели заповедника: медведь, зубр, олень, лось, косуля, кабан, енотовидная собака, лиса, волк и рысь. Облюбовали местный зоопарк и птицы: здесь вьют гнезда аисты, которых в Беларуси называют символами счастья, а в пруду плавают грациозные лебеди.

Как добраться и где остановиться

Центральная усадьба Березинского биосферного заповедника расположена в 125 км от  Минска, 140 км от Витебска и 37 км от районного центра Лепеля.

До заповедника можно добраться на маршрутном такси "Минск–Лепель" или рейсовыми автобусами "Минск–Витебск", "Минск–Новополоцк", "Минск–Полоцк", "Минск–Лепель". Остановка "Поворот на Домжерицы" (шоссе Минск-Витебск) находится в 3 км от центральной усадьбы.

Остановиться в заповеднике на несколько дней не составит проблем. Вариантов размещения множество:

  • гостиничные комплексы "Плавно", "Сергуч";
  • туристический комплекс "Нивки";
  • эколого-туристический комплекс "Береще";
  • гостевые домики "Палик", "Ольшица", "Заречное", "Домжерицкое озеро";
  • "Дом рыбака и охотника"
Памятники Великой Отечественной войны в Беларуси
Как посетить Беларусь без визы
Платные дороги в Беларуси
II Европейские игры в Минске